We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$107
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier Resorts(Manali)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Satkar Residency(Manali)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Park Resort Manali(Manali)(Great Value!)
US$58
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chichoga Holiday Inn(Manali)(Great Value!)
US$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Snow Park(Manali)(Great Value!)
US$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
358
173
23
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
173
23
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutwalking distanceplace to stayfamily suitevisit manalirooms are bigthe ground floorhigher sidenice gardenthe cottagesexcellent locationwooden flooringoff seasonbeautiful propertyfront officean awesome experiencelast month
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Overall the Johnson Lodge was poor value compared to other places we stayed in Northern India. We had a two room lodge apartment which was expensive for what it was. It could have been a lot cleaner and a little more effort in furnishings etc would not have gone amiss. There was a water leak in one of the bathroom water heaters which caused a noisy pump to work constantly. To be fair maintenance staff were responsive to our call out but they didn't fix the problem. Some of the staff, especially in the restaurant could do with a little more customer service training - breakfast service was particularly poor. Reception staff on the other hand were excellent. We visited during peak season (June) when the town was particularly busy, especially the roads. The lodge is too close to one of the main roads through town which can get rather noisy and annoying due to the Indian obsession with their car horns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the road as possible. Try to avoid those over the bar if staying at the weekend, including Friday nights.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr_MYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for leaving your feedback from your most recent visit to the Johnson Lodge. We are unhappy to see that you were disappointed with your experience. We highly appreciate your suggestions because our customer's opinions matter greatly to us. We hope that another visit will surely change your opinion about Johnson Lodge.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Its a perfect place for staying. We stayed in this hotel for 2D3N from 26-28th July 2014 and I must say it was a memorable one. Everything about this place is best, whether its locality, food, well curated garden or the service.
PS: If you want the good view of the mountain from your window then choose room at second floor.

Room Tip: choose second floor for staying for a good mountain view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muks4uChandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful feedback. We are glad to read that you found Johnson Lodge the best in every way. Your recommendation of our hotel is much appreciated and we hope you will have far better experience next time.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had gone there in the month of Jan 2014 ( last week) with my wife and my brother in law. We had taken the family suite (two rooms attached, with separate bathrooms), which was excelent and fab. The manager and the staff were very good and polite.

Would definately stay again whenever planed for Manali

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chndnjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We are proud to have such a nice staff working with us. We'll surely pass on your nice comments to our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Dream come true..
I was a bit apprehensive when ankita emailed me photos of the cottage havin bathrooms with old buildup.. (No doubt hotel rooms had modern fitting).. But my my...
What a beautiful cottage.
I had earlier opted for homestay private luxurious cottages but they were far from city and my trip was only 2 days... So cancelled that
And i m glad that i did
This is the best location to stay.. Awesome maintenance with right from garden to kitchen and bathrooms.
People were awesome
Staff so courteous.
Two little dogs.. The aroma of the place and their ambience

Make sure u visit the right place
Johnsons lodge got split up in two..
Jimmy johnsons cafe and bar is next door. They are famous for their trout fish (and it was heaven..) Especially the crowd on fifa final night made me feel like m in goa again.. But thats not the lodge.
This cottage comes one step before the bar and both have different management
Spa magnolia was ok-ok (the girls said)
So do stay at the right place.

Five stars.. Would love to stay again and Again.. In that beautiful dream of heavenly cottage..

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review!

Thank you for such a detailed feedback. . We remember how uncertain you were regarding your cottage booking. We're more than happy that you liked our cottage. Your appreciation of our efforts means a lot to us. We hope to have you again as our guest on your next visit to Manali.

Thanks and Regards!
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful property,well manicured garden,breathtaking view.Rooms are spacious and comfortable-good for family stay.Bathrooms are big and very clean.Centrally located. All the tourist spots are very close.
Enjoyed our stay would love to go back one day

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank padminiraydasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for leaving your feedback from your recent stay at Johnson Lodge. Reading over your comments made us so happy. We're glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you again on your future visits to Manali.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Lodge Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews