We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing great overhyped”

Johnson Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 134 Restaurants in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Now you can have some quality time with your family and friends at the Johnson Bar and Restaurant, Manali. Whether you want to gather around the fire places on chilly winter evenings or soak up the sun in the garden on warm days, you will always have great time. The cozy ambiance at the Johnson Bar will set you at ease. Choose your favorite drink from the extensive list of wines, liquors, exotic cocktails and mind blowing shooters and have a blast with your friends or spend some quality time with your near and dear ones. The multi-cuisine restaurant, boasting our new Italian chef, serves some mouthwatering Italian, continental, Indian and Asian cuisine. Thanks to the great food, lovely ambiance with the garden setting and friendly staff, every meal here will be memorable. We have Live Music Events regularly where some of the most famous musician plying live music giving guests a first hand experience. At Johnson the party never ends.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing great overhyped”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner in June. Lovely ambiance but the food was served cold. Service was average portions were small and the cold food dampened the spirits. Overpriced and over hyped.

Helpful?
2 Thank ishet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We’re glad that you liked our ambiance. But we are disappointed to know that our services could not meet your expectations. We have made a note of all the comments and suggestions you had written. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We hope you will give us another try in your future visits.

Bon Appetit!

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Bar and Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    195
    40
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing ambience and food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had lunch at this place in June alongwith my family....The ambience, crowd and hospitality is too good. The food is fab and staff courteous...Must visit this place next time your visit Manali.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rivneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience with Johnson Bar and Restaurant. We're glad to read that you had an overall fantastic experience at our restaurant. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we hope to serve you again in near future.

Bon Appetit!

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Bar and Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nasik
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An Average Place, much hyped”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is just an average place. Read a lot about the place. All too hyped. There is nothing unique about the trout fish. Yes the pizza tasted quite good. The Indian dishes were just ordinary and too less a quantity. Can easily be avoided.

The hotel we stayed in, provided much tastier food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mahendrachauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with regards to your experience at Johnson Bar and Restaurant. Although we are disappointed that you did not had a happy experience dining with us. We are a little surprise to read that you did not liked one of our specialty, the Trout. We have guest who only visit us to taste the trout fish and goes back quenched. Perhaps, we hope that you will give us another opportunity to satisfy your taste buds on your future visits to Manali. Till then....Bon Appetit.

Thanks and Regards,
Johnson Bar and Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Its an amazing restaurant near the Hadimba Temple.. We had Lasagne, Hawaiian Pizza, Chilli Chicken... all of them were prepared very well.. service is a little slow but efficient..
Alcohol is tax free so keep the bill light..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank K Savio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a great review. We're glad you liked our food. We take great pride in the food we serve. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Manali. Till then...

Bon Appetit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
295 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“WORST STAFF EVER CAME ACROSS !”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I went to Johnsons Bar for dinner with friends this month. Firstly the watchman shouted at us - " where are you going, get out " By the way we were all dressed in good semi casuals with jackets, shoes. We still avoided and didnt wanted to spoil our mood so walked in. We called the manager (Ranjeet) who was even rude and said - stags are not allowed. We saw on 2 other tables few boys were sitting. But then i told the manager that there is certain way to say, your watchman should have some manners. We are not locals, so how do we know whether there is no entry for stags ? We are not desperate to come here and we can leave right away. Then he finally agreed and gave us a table. We placed our order and our food came 45 mins after our order and people seated net to us who came later than we arrived got their food and were done with their food. They charge 10 % service charge in the bill !!!! for insulting visiting guests and for a very bad service ? What my experience is with this place is that i will never ever go here again and i tell all my friends who visit Manali not to go here. Let their attitude serve their watchman and staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sidbajaj_foodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnson Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 

Been to Johnson Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing