We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect home stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Independent Cottage. Conveniently located. Overlooks river.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Independent Cottage. Conveniently located. Overlooks river.
The Garden to the Cottage (Summer) The Outdoors Main House (Summer)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Independent Cottage. Conveniently located. Overlooks river.
The Garden to the Cottage (Summer)
The Outdoors Main House (Summer)
Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Cheer All Around: Blooming Flowers. Lush Trees. Convenient Location. Overlooks River (April)
Views from the Pine Walk
Day Trip to Shoja
Views from Orchard Cabin
Dusk at the Cottage (Winter)
Snowing Outside. Snug Inside.
Snow  at The Secret Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Manali, Manali Tehsil, Kullu District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karan K
1 review
“A perfect home stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This house is amazing, beautiful and everything you want on a vacation. It's a home away from home. Huge bedroom, nice dining area, massive CD/DVD/Book/Video Game collection. The surrounding area is also beautiful and the river is a few metres away. The house is big, tidy and superb. It's an hour+ drive from Kasol but if you want to live in good place, look no further.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Dear Karan,
It was a pleasure to host you and your wife. We are happy that we lived up to your expectations.Thank you for your review and hope to see you back soon. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anjanab05
New Delhi, India
1 review
“My lovely home away from home”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A hot meal on arrival lovingly prepared by Suman and warm happy welcome by the host Deepak certainly set the tone for what was in store during my stay at The Secret Cottage. An introductory house tour revealed well appointed rooms with mountain views, and a great collection of DVDs, music and games for children. Sip tea in the sun room as the sun rises, sundowners in the garden under the plum tree, walks by the Beas gushing downhill and night caps watching good cinema.
Add to that the warmth, geniality and depth of knowledge of the host who will point you in the right direction in about everything including angling spots, mountain treks etc......Do Visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Dear Anjana, Glad that you enjoyed our unique way of hosting and we were able to live up to your expectations. It was a pleasure having you at The Secret Cottage and hope you come back to your "home" sooner than later. Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SN1999
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a very pleasant stay with river flowing nearby. One can just walk for 500 mtrs to reach and have a lovely river side walk and enjoy the surroundings. Small plantation within the Cottage is a must for nature lovers. You will find Pomegranate, Peach, Pears etc trees. The cottage provides you with essential amenities which Deepak has ensured.
Manikaran is 90 minutes from here. There is also a Vaishno devi Temple at the Hill Top in Kullu which one can visit.
Also it was very nice have a brief chat with Deepak's mother who sent us lovely juicy fruits (local fruit - not recalling the name) since we were fasting that day. On the whole a neat and nice place which is well maintained and furnished.
Just one suggestion - if Deepak can ensure that someone is available to carry the luggage up into the cottage. The caretaker is a middle aged lady and obviously we carried our luggage upstairs. Senior citizen visitors to the cottage ideally should inform him this requirement and am sure he would take care of this. Did not have lunch or dinner so cannot comment. But am sure it would be good considering all other things are well taken care off.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
"Dear Sharad, It was a pleasure to host you and your family. Thanks for the constructive feedback which we will take on board. We are glad that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed our unique way of hosting. We hope to see you back soon. Regards"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunilG906
2 reviews
“Amazing experience near Manali .. a Home away from Home”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I was looking for a place to stay where I could have all the freedom and comforts of a home, was clean, well maintained, yet away from the noise and distractions of a regular city. And my standards on all these are reasonably demanding.

I couldn't have found a better place than the "Secret Cottage" at Bandrol .. about 11 km ahead of Kullu, and 25 km before Manali. The cottage has easy access from the Highway, yet its completely hidden away with complete privacy, thanks to the surrounding trees of the orchards. The Beas flows just across the road, its energetic sound so refreshing and relaxing, with glimpses of it between the trees, from the glass large windows ... and just a short 2-3 minute walks from the cottage.

The cottage is an ideal choice for one to relax on his/her own ... with family .. or with few close friends. Its two bedrooms at the upper level and the reasonably sized living room can easily accommodate a group of upto 6 ... or maybe 8, if one has two small children. Its well equipped and stocked kitchen with adjoining dining room, and the spacious living area with all the forms of modern day entertainment included gives all the comforts of a home, and private space to individuals if they so desire.

The staff at the place was very friendly and helpful. They are there to attend to any of your needs, and cook some of the most delicious vegetarian meals I've had. I'd opted for dinner to be cooked for me , and every meal made per my choice and to my timing comfort was a real treat.

The location is also super .. a few minutes away from some enjoyable river side walks that can extend to walks within the interiors of villages, or trek into the Pine forests. There are also options to have a day trip / trek to nearby orchards and see the beautiful trees, and if its the right time of the year, enjoy some of their delicious fruits.

There's an ATV adventure park with Trails about 10 km away ( called the Alternate Terrain ) and a must visit. Even if its just to experience the drive to that park and the amazing settings and delicious foods they serve at the cafe there. During the summers, while out of the highway you will come across plenty of people offering varying experiences of River Rafting, starting from/ ending at different locations.

Then, you also have the option of a half day trip to Manikaran, a pilgrimage centre for Hindus and Sikhs known for its Gurudwara, The Shiva temple, the hot water springs and the Ramchandra Temple. While these places are a great experience, so is the drive to them.

And finally you have all the other locations that Kullu and Manali are know for .. including the Rohtang pass and Solang valley including their adventure sport offering.

I could just go and on, and this was a very amazing experience, though only for two nights. I really wish I could have spent a few more days. I will be back there agin, hopefully very soon,.

But before I end, I would be failing if I did not make a special mention of the owner of the property. While his attention to detailing made the stay most enjoyable and comfortable, his proactive outreach/ communications with relevant and necessary information, his willingness to offer advice and help to make the trip trouble-free and enjoyable ... before the trip, during the trip, and even after the trip was the icing on the cake. I could connect with him on email. WhatsApp or even call him almost any time of the day, and he would give me the best tips on what to do, where to go etc etc. Thanks Deepak, you are one of the best host I have experienced, and the stay at the "Secret Cottage" was one of the most memorable ones I've had. I wish you all the best, and look forward to meeting you one day, soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Dear Sunil, Thanks for the detailed and wonderful review. Much appreciated. We are glad that we lived up to your high expectations. It is guests like you who appreciate and enjoy our unique way of hosting. We hope to see you back soon with your family for a longer time. It was our pleasure to host you. Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksuruchi
Pune, India
2 reviews
“Must visit cottage!!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you want to feel at home, this is the place. This place is located middle of Kullu-Manali road, beside the river Beas. As this place is away from city
, its peaceful. The cottage is very well maintained and has good garden as you can see from the pics. The big roses are breathtaking. The staff is very sweet and co-operative. There staff has a lady named Suman, who can provide you homemade food. You can even cook for yourself, if you feel.
This is place to relax. You can even carry CDs(audio / vedio) of your choice and play it here, they too have there own collection. There is a book library too. The master bedroom has an amazing view, I loved the single bed beside the window, it gives a feel as if you are sleeping under the moon. The WIFI is good.

if you feel like going out, here are options
1. You can sit by river Beas 200 mtrs aways
2. Paragliding - 2-3 Kms
3. River rafting - 1-2 Kms
4. Manali too is 45 mins away from here...

We also explored a little far options like (These are an hour closer from here than Manali)
1. Tosh, Kasol, Manikaran(Hot Springs)
2. Parashar Lake
LAST BUT NOT THE LEAST
I had an amazing experience interacting with Mr. Deepak Suri. He was always ready to help and guide. I had a 5 hours waiting time in Delhi for my bus to Manali and was alone with my 3 year old son, He helped us with options to wait.
I would say, looking at the things we get, its cheaper on pocket too. They actually treat us like their own guests.
Thanks a ton Deepak for making our stay a memorable one!!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Dear Suruchi,
It was a pleasure to host you and your family. We are glad that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed our unique way of hosting. Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you back soon. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnubhavK8...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazingly Beautiful. Exotic, Earthy and Un-corrupted”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was without doubt the best in hill station-themed vacations I have undertaken in the last decade. For starters, the Secret Cottage is strategically, unintentionally though, located. It is on the way to Old Manali, New Manali, Kasol, Kullu valley giveaways and rafting points. Secret Cottage owners have orchards of their own and you get a wonderful day-trip exploring these. We sought the help of a seasoned orchard-carer and he took us to a hilly point that provided unbiased view of the entire valley. The Secret Cottage itself is hands-down much better placed than any other star-rated hotel property in any of Manali’s mainstream locations. Please understand that all of Manali, the old and new part, is densely trafficked by tourists. The number of vehicles are multiplying and you can almost whiff the diesel in the air. What point does it make to spend thousands every day to live in a star-rated property, within city-like environments and be taken for a ride by the local transit providers? Instead, you set camp at Secret Cottage where you have a river flowing near the house, where you can listen to the screaming river throughout the day, where you don't have room service but actual, homely caretakers who treat you like one of an extended family. My advice is to be booked at the Secret Cottage for at least a week. Through the early part of the day you can set a day-trip or hike or raft to any nearby location. As the evening sets in, you get insatiable views which you can absorb seated in the balcony, amid dimly-lit lights of the Cottage itself, watch the snow-capped peaks and lush green terrains. Perhaps the last piece of this wonderful valley which is yet to be overwhelmed with blind commercialization. ME AND MY WIFE, MOHA, RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY AND EVERY COUPLE!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Dear Anubhav,
It was a pleasure to host your wife and you. We are glad that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed our unique way of hosting. Your review and kind words are overwhelming! Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist62...
1 review
“Fantastic Stay at Secret Cottage.”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I booked the cottage in August 2016. Me and my family enjoyed the stay at the cottage. Good location easy to access. The Host and the service staff were very help full. The food served at the cottage was very good. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely like to visit once again. The host arranged a cab for the local sight seeing and was always eager to help during our stay in the Valley.

Very Good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homemade food served.
Liked least: All good, nothing to complain.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Thanks Sandeep, it was a pleasure hosting you and we are glad to hear that we were able to live up to your expectations. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Regards, Deepak Suri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing