We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rats”

Hotel Surya Excellence
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jammu City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Surya Excellence
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Jammu City
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“rats”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we arrived to a clean looking reception area, the porter showed us up stairs to our room and hung around untll we tipped both of them, the bathroom was dirty, the sink hardly washed..

we had breakfast which was ok but hot milk on cornflakes!? then came dinner.....we where eating our food which to be fair was ok, then i saw something out of the corner of my eye.. i dismissed it and went to the toilet, upon opening the door, a small rodent shot down the driain,i went back to the dining room only to find 5 more rats of various sizes running about our feet, i was now unable to keep this secret from my girlfriend...
i told the waiter who laughed out loud and said rats are a big problem!!
i vacated the room straight away and told th management, who insisted that the rats did not get into the kitchen.....the waiter then hounded me to pay for the uneaten food!
i realise this is India, but i dont expect rats when i eat in a "nice" hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paultheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Was greeted well, however, the treatment from this hotel went downhill to 'strange.' We just wanted to crash for a night between buses. Long and demanding check-in process with many forms. Room service knocked on the door at 10 pm and asked for dishes. All room service bills are due right away. Service is slow despite many staff hanging out downstairs.

Rooms were kinda clean. The AC was kinda cold. Not sure really what to expect. Frankly, Jammu is a terrible, shady city prompting my imaginary city slogan "F-you Jammu".

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ahenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jammu City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Purulia. W.B.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I am from travel Company of west Bengal of Purulia Tour and travels.This hotel I have been visiting since last 7 years with My Group. the hotel is nearly the best in Raghunath Temple for a comfortable stay, room Service, and neatness is above average as per local standards. It is the Crowded locality but withen a kilometer of the Raghunath temple & jammu Market, Has not ample prking space for cars = The only drawback is that warm water in bathrooms is available for a few hours in the morning and other times just normal water. my First Choice of jammu Stay This Hotel.

Room Tip: Raghunath temple is a short walk from this hotel which is a plus point. The main shopping district o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopalpurulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I am from travel Industry and had traveled to Jammu City from Patnitop on 1 Feb 2013. we got this hotel booked thru Mr. Sunil Kachroo who is the Managing director of this hotel.
We had to catch a flight back to Mumbai from Jammu hence we had a night to spend in Jammu and also see few tourist attractions in and around so we stayed in this property.
As luxury was not out priority so we chose this hotel which was good for our stay.
The Hotel is located on a busy street in Jammu so you can expect lot of traffic and vehicles during the day time.
Reception is handled by young staff which is a plus for them as they interact well with the Guest and make them comfortable.
Rooms are majorly Studio rooms which are small as it more frequented by businessmen for their short stay.
They also have 2 Big Family rooms which are inter connected to accommodate a Big family.
Raghunath temple is a short walk from this hotel which is a plus point.
The main shopping district of Jammu is also on a short walk from the hotel where all Big Brand shops and good restaurants are located.
Bathrooms are very small so it is a problem for Taller person to adjust and also to have shower
it is purely a Budget hotel where there are many things to ignore as you cant expect for luxury or major comfort here. but if you are on a Budget trip this is a good hotel as per its Location.

Room Tip: As the hotel has only 3 floors go for the backside rooms only as the front rooms get lot of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHMEDABAD
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel I have been visiting since last 5 years. I find it very near to Market place, Shri Raghunathji Mandir, central bus stand from where you can have buses for Katra, and other cities. The rent is bit higher, negotiate well . Rooms are specious , neat and clean. Staff is courteous. Need not to take food in Hotel there are many places out side v near to Hotel . Its comfortable, safe and good.

Room Tip: Negotiate well !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgpurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A worst experience with this hotel...we've stayed for 1 night from 2 JAN 13 - 3 JAN 13...1. Rooms were not clean, cockroaches are normal and free of charge
2. Food and room service is ridiculous.
3. staff is just there for being there and most of the staff were kids. surprising to me after i heard that child labor is abolished.
4. No value for money
5. do not stay there if you are with your family

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I stayed in the hotel with my family just for a night. The hotel is big and clean. though the room was AC, but the AC air was coming only to the corner of the room. Room service was not so good. Staff is always looking for tip. Food was cheap and ok. Overall a budget hotel and nice stay, if you are not looking for service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuhelSheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jammu City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Swagat
Hotel Swagat
#18 of 27 in Jammu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lords Inn Jammu
Lords Inn Jammu
#4 of 27 in Jammu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le ROI Jammu
Le ROI Jammu
#2 of 27 in Jammu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Asia Jammu Tawi
Hotel Asia Jammu Tawi
#5 of 27 in Jammu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jewels Hotel
Jewels Hotel
#14 of 27 in Jammu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vivek
Hotel Vivek
#17 of 27 in Jammu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya Excellence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya Excellence

Property: Hotel Surya Excellence
Address: Below gumath, Jammu City 180001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Jammu District > Jammu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Jammu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotel Surya Excellence Jammu, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing