We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Samrat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jammu City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Samrat
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Jammu City
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed at this hotel on our way to Srinagar. Nice hotel with very helpful staff. Rooms are nicely specious. i think it is very good option for short stay. food is average. hotel is centrally located.

Room Tip: No lift is available so prefer first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketul21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
2
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are big and comfortable. Food is delicious. The hotel does not have a restaurant but they serve in room. The service is good and quick. Staff is helpful. The only problem we faced was absence of electricity and they do not switch on AC on generator. The hotel is located just next to Jammu General bus stand from where you can get buses for any location and autos for local travel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvadhBihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharamsala, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After an exhausting journey from Srinagar to Jammu, all we wanted was a smart room, a hot shower and a good nights rest before continuing back to Dharamshala early the next morning. We arrived, prepared to pay 2,500 rupees but expecting some quality to warrant that rate. At first glance we were impressed, a relatively nice room literally just yards away from the bus stand from which we would leave after a bit of sleep. We took the room, and shortly after the problems began. First it was unnecessary knocking at our door. Having forgotten to carry out a few steps at check-in, we were disturbed numerous times continuously asking for additional information, or merely to ask tedious questions. Next it was the shower. You would expect a room costing 2,500 rupees plus taxes and additional charges to have a functional shower, but that would be a mistake when it comes to the Samrat Hotel in Jammu. Here, the prospect of that seems to be a joke to the proprietor of the establishment who- knowing we were leaving first thing in the morning- promised to rectify the problem the next day, which of course would do us little good. When we reminded him that we would not be there the next day, he did nothing still to rectify the situation. Again, the whole point of this stop-over in a pricy establishment was to get a nice hot shower after ten days of frigid weather in Srinagar. The staff literally just watched and laughed as we became increasingly frustrated and began to play a game where they would just insist that in fact the shower was working. Eventually, thoroughly exhausted, we decided to scrap the idea of a warm shower and just get to bed. In the morning we again expressed our disappointment and this seemed to be to the delight of the man at the reception who seemed not the least bit surprised by this. We then asked for a slight discount considering the dysfunctional shower, and this was even more amusing to him. We suspect this problem is something they were well aware of and that each night they put on the same act of trying to fix it. How on earth this hotel is recommended by Lonely Planet is beyond me. Accommodation of the same standard can be found under 600 rupees per night elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay far away from the room that is down the stairs and just on the left. The shower temperature is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PemaDolkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jammu City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Old decor... ancient air conditioner....easy to break your head on the sink from the comode...sand paper towels...no lift to climb up or go down... horrible location..old tv sets with snowy cable inspite of a set top box.. over priced...below average food with service tax of 10% included. ..but the room rent has another 10% service tax! !..polite staff...they did get a taxi for us to go to the airport. At the end of the day. . Waste of money

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_abbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of this hotel. I was under the impression that since it is near the busy Bus Stand area in Jammu, it would be adequate for a short stay. As it turned out, I had three very pleasant days in the hotel. The room was clean, spacious. The decor could have been more inspired but then for the very reasonable amount I was charged, it was not something that mattered too much. Essentially, it is the friendliness of the staff that made this place special - from the reception personnel to the room-service boys, everyone was kind and caring. Well-done!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the back are best, no traffic sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at Samrat Hotel for only one night but have to say it was excellent service and a very large and comfortable room for 2 adults and 2 children. The staff were efficient and prompt. Shame they had no restaurant but the food was not bad and quick service. The room was very clean including the bathroom. Even though we used the shower I was surprised to find the bucket and jug spotless. Usually in this type of hotel these things can be quite grubby.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor which was very large and spacious for our needs. The rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SadhanaPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalandhar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Its very great to stay in hotel samrat and value for money with neat and clean environment and unmatched stay but only difficulty is they do not provide stay for your drivers. It is one of best hotels I have checked in Jammu and after so many workout find only this the very best and if you want any stay for your driver then they will arrange nearby at nominal charges of rs200/- more

Room Tip: unmatched rooms but do not provide stay for drivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoopreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jammu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Lords Inn Jammu
Lords Inn Jammu
#4 of 28 in Jammu City
149 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mango Hotels Jammu
Mango Hotels Jammu
#8 of 28 in Jammu City
5 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le ROI Jammu
Le ROI Jammu
#5 of 28 in Jammu City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cygnett Park Asia
Cygnett Park Asia
#2 of 28 in Jammu City
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fortune Inn Riviera
Fortune Inn Riviera
#3 of 28 in Jammu City
253 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Jammu
Radisson Blu Jammu
#1 of 28 in Jammu City
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samrat

Property: Hotel Samrat
Address: Near General Bus Stand, Jammu City 180001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Jammu District > Jammu City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Jammu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hotel Samrat Jammu, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing