We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantabulous experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonel's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jammu City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colonel's Retreat
Ranked #1 of 71 Jammu City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
“fantabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our stay with Colonel Parmar was fantastic. I was here with my friends in the first week of July'14. The place was beautifully done - elegant and very comfortable with decent sized rooms and very clean bathrooms.We thoroughly enjoyed the food and the company. Best part of the stay was the hospitatily offered by colonel and his staff.The home made food is to die for and the hosts do everything they can to make sure you get 100% out of your stay. We couldn't have been better looked after.Colonel was a very informative and sociable host without being overbearing.

As experienced tourists in India we cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navdeep_Bajwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    35
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
11
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights this week. Colonel Parmar, Raju and Bhawani were really hospitable. Colonel Parmar went out of his way to help us during a health emergency, even organising a special diet for my mother. We are really grateful to him and his staff for helping us though it. The food was homely, the rooms comfortable and the location very convenient, just a short trip from the airport. They were also efficient in helping us organize local trips in Jammu.
We had some hassles about there being no water in the room for a few hours but it was minor compared to the warmth extended to us. A great choice for female travellers and everyone really!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randevsinghparmar, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks a lot for a lovely review Yamini. It was our duty to make you all feel comfortable and most importantly make you feel at home, I agree there was some water crisis during your stay we are sorry for that and assure you that next time when you visit the retreat there will be no such problem. Thanks for adjusting with that really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Bhawani singh
Colonels retreat
Jammu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was there with my family and in laws in 3rd week of May'14 for one night. I must say Colonel Parmar and Bhawani are among the best in the class when it comes to customer satisfaction, amenities, perfection in every minute details. You will not get a better lunch and dinner than this anywhere in Jammu :)

Though they are on a higher side price wise but that is worth for a family stay specially with kids when your priority is a safe, clean place to stay and eat.

Very close to Jammu station. Not far away from Bus stand or Airport.

Best in class in one word !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaurav1980us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here on the way to Srinagar.It was very good stay.
1. Rooms are decent sized and well appointed. Bathrooms are also well decorated.
2. Property is well maintained and clean.
3. Staff is attentive and polite.
4. Exceptional thing about this hotel is food. We reached here around 3 and we asked for lunch. They served us such a delicious lunch that everyone had almost double lunch. Amazing testy food.

I would recommend this hotel for all kind of stays. Its safe, staff is very good. Colonel Randev (the owner)was very helping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhatkantiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was there for one night with my family members( group of 14) and we had an amazing experience of home away from home. Rooms were quite spacious, bathrooms were neat and clean and top of that food was awesome. Whatever we wanted to eat, we told them in advance and it was served in a proper manner. It's a proper house and very well maintained by the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manoj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We (group of 14) have recently stayed in Colonel's Retreat, Jammu for a night on 19th July 2014 and we couldn't have asked for a better place.
- The property is extremely well maintained and reasonably priced.
- Very well appointed rooms especially the Commander Room 1 with a huge bathroom and walk-in closet.
- Courteous & Polite staff at your service.
- Delicious Home cooked food as per your choice served with fresh hot chappatis.
- Colonel Randev (the owner), himself will ensure that everything is at its best for his guests.
- 3 very friendly Labrador Dogs - Rambo, Blacky & Bunker.
- Truely "A Home Away From Home".
I suggest that you speak with Col. Randev directly to book your stay instead of going through web portals.
For more information, visit http://colonelsretreat.blogspot.in/

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well appointed. If you are lookign for luxury, go for the Commandar Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssoni76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

People with warm hearts and smiles.. We landed here after our long tiring journey from leh and got our selves a treat indeed.. The staff actually takes care of you and the owners keep no stone unturned to make ya feel at home. The place to be in jammu

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shamindra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randevsinghparmar, Manager at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We would love to host you all again!
Regards
Bhawani singh
Colonels retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jammu City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Asia Jammu Tawi
Hotel Asia Jammu Tawi
#5 of 26 in Jammu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lords Inn Jammu
Lords Inn Jammu
#2 of 26 in Jammu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fortune Inn Riviera
Fortune Inn Riviera
#1 of 26 in Jammu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Raghunath
Hotel Raghunath
#5 of 71 in Jammu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jammu Ashok
Hotel Jammu Ashok
#19 of 26 in Jammu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.5 mi away
K.C. Residency
K.C. Residency
#6 of 26 in Jammu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat

Property: Colonel's Retreat
Address: 3C / C Gandhi Nagar, Jammu City 180004, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Jammu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Jammu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonel's Retreat is a home stay facility located in posh Gandhi Nagar locality. 2 and 3 kms from railway station and airport respectively. It has 8 rooms all fitted with AC, LCD, attached toilets, free WiFi, 24 x 7 generator based power backup and specially cooked home food which is less oily. The idea of the retreat is to make our esteemed guests feel at home even when they are away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colonel's Retreat Jammu, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing