We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous stay at Colonel's Retreat, Jammu”
Review of Colonel's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonel's Retreat
Ranked #1 of 71 Jammu City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed for two days at Colonel's Retreat, Jammu. an out-of-the-world experience! I found the Retreat a home away from home with typical Cavalry warmth and hospitality. The Colonel is a gentleman of the old chivalric mould and personally ensured that we reached the right destination. The rooms at the Retreat are aesthetically designed, equipped with modern amenities and are airy and spacious. The Retreat is strategically located...right in the heart of Jammu, with all major attractions and markets at a stone's throw away. The icing on the cake is the staff...sincere, cheerful and available throughout the clock without any hassle or complaint. They cater for a wide variety of cuisines, ranging from simple home-made food to oil free recipes...A well managed outfit. Overall an excellent and memorable stay! I strongly recommend the Colonel's Retreat for a stay with your family the next time you visit Jammu.

Room Tip: The Commander Hut is really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlmm20022002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great place, maintained with an eye for detail. Everything speaks taste at this B&B. Personal interaction with Colonel Parmar was refreshing too.

Absolutely loved my one night stay here.

Tips: If you need wifi, choose a room closest to the router as the coverage is rather unreliable away from it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Vinod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our stay with Colonel Parmar was fantastic. I was here with my friends in the first week of July'14. The place was beautifully done - elegant and very comfortable with decent sized rooms and very clean bathrooms.We thoroughly enjoyed the food and the company. Best part of the stay was the hospitatily offered by colonel and his staff.The home made food is to die for and the hosts do everything they can to make sure you get 100% out of your stay. We couldn't have been better looked after.Colonel was a very informative and sociable host without being overbearing.

As experienced tourists in India we cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Navdeep_Bajwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights this week. Colonel Parmar, Raju and Bhawani were really hospitable. Colonel Parmar went out of his way to help us during a health emergency, even organising a special diet for my mother. We are really grateful to him and his staff for helping us though it. The food was homely, the rooms comfortable and the location very convenient, just a short trip from the airport. They were also efficient in helping us organize local trips in Jammu.
We had some hassles about there being no water in the room for a few hours but it was minor compared to the warmth extended to us. A great choice for female travellers and everyone really!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randevsinghparmar, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thanks a lot for a lovely review Yamini. It was our duty to make you all feel comfortable and most importantly make you feel at home, I agree there was some water crisis during your stay we are sorry for that and assure you that next time when you visit the retreat there will be no such problem. Thanks for adjusting with that really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Bhawani singh
Colonels retreat
Jammu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was there with my family and in laws in 3rd week of May'14 for one night. I must say Colonel Parmar and Bhawani are among the best in the class when it comes to customer satisfaction, amenities, perfection in every minute details. You will not get a better lunch and dinner than this anywhere in Jammu :)

Though they are on a higher side price wise but that is worth for a family stay specially with kids when your priority is a safe, clean place to stay and eat.

Very close to Jammu station. Not far away from Bus stand or Airport.

Best in class in one word !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaurav1980us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here on the way to Srinagar.It was very good stay.
1. Rooms are decent sized and well appointed. Bathrooms are also well decorated.
2. Property is well maintained and clean.
3. Staff is attentive and polite.
4. Exceptional thing about this hotel is food. We reached here around 3 and we asked for lunch. They served us such a delicious lunch that everyone had almost double lunch. Amazing testy food.

I would recommend this hotel for all kind of stays. Its safe, staff is very good. Colonel Randev (the owner)was very helping.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bhatkantiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was there for one night with my family members( group of 14) and we had an amazing experience of home away from home. Rooms were quite spacious, bathrooms were neat and clean and top of that food was awesome. Whatever we wanted to eat, we told them in advance and it was served in a proper manner. It's a proper house and very well maintained by the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manoj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jammu City hotels
0.4 mi away
Cygnett Park Asia
Cygnett Park Asia
#2 of 30 in Jammu City
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fortune Inn Riviera
Fortune Inn Riviera
#3 of 30 in Jammu City
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le ROI Jammu
Le ROI Jammu
#5 of 30 in Jammu City
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Jammu
Radisson Blu Jammu
#1 of 30 in Jammu City
94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lords Inn Jammu
Lords Inn Jammu
#4 of 30 in Jammu City
164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jammu Ashok
Hotel Jammu Ashok
#23 of 30 in Jammu City
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat

Address: 3C / C Gandhi Nagar, Jammu City 180004, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Jammu District > Jammu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Jammu City
Price Range: £32 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonel's Retreat is a home stay facility located in posh Gandhi Nagar locality. 2 and 3 kms from railway station and airport respectively. It has 8 rooms all fitted with AC, LCD, attached toilets, free WiFi, 24 x 7 generator based power backup and specially cooked home food which is less oily. The idea of the retreat is to make our esteemed guests feel at home even when they are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Colonel's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel's Retreat Jammu, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing