We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shahenshah Palace Hotel
Ranked #115 of 143 Hotels in Srinagar
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

As part of heena tours & travels I stayed at this hotel for one night stay At first they kept us in waiting for room for one hour The service of hotel is very poor I asked the house keeping to replace my towel as it was dirty no one came they are not interested in us because we were part of heena tours & travels however service from heena was execellent.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Parth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

located very close to Dal lake and market, Reception area is good other than this nothing good to say about this hotel.Bathroom are small, bedsheets where dirty. no view from the rooms so request for the rooms facing dal lake which are very few.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CAMITESHKOTHARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Since we had not made advance reservations for Srinagar, were thankful that we were accommodated at Shahenshah hotel. The location is very good, @ Dal Gate 3, right on Boulevard Road, with lots of restaurants and shops all around. also its just a Rs. 50 auto ride from markets like Lal Chowk, Polo View, Residency Road, etc. the taxi stand is nearby. The building looks grand from the outside and they have a lovely lobby too.
But the rooms : not maintained well, stains on the walls, worn out furnishings, the shower area has fabricated aluminium doors (instead of a cubicle). No toiletries, yellowing towels. also the service is bad - both housekeeping, front desk. I understand that they have a lot of assured business from a few tour operators - so they are not concerned about serving other guests.

Room Tip: get a lake facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank unni_menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As part of heena tours JK3 family package, I stayed at Shahenshah Palace hotel. We checked-in on 15-May (Thursday) and checked-out on 17-May (Sat).

It's located right opposite to Dal Lake, great view!

Shahenshah is decent 3 star hotel. Food provided by heena tours inside hotel is great. They organized DJ as well.

Room Tip: Look for room facing Dal Lake, higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chetan_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just left from this hotel yesterday. It was very poor. Room service very bad. No one turns around. Bathrooms are very small and doesn't have hot water. Not clean at all. The food is also average. Reception people are nice and co-operative. Reception area is also good. No view from the majority of the rooms. When you are in Srinagar, it's all about view. Go for other better options. The only USP is its location which is the best..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alapdaskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice. The location is the USP of this hotel as this is just opposite to Dal lake. The view is pretty good. The rooms are nice and cozy. They are comfortable. Staff is pleasant and helpful. Food is delicious. The room tariff is little on higher side.

Room Tip: Take a room near to the road with Dal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvadhBihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is opp Dal Lake.It is a very nice and clean hotel.It is like a boutique hotel.It has its own restaurant called TOPS.One gets rooms at 4500.Everything is at walking distance from this hotel.It does nt provide any heaters.It has small cottages behind the main bldg. which r pretty good to stay in. You see more of Heena travels ppl here. There is CCD just next to it if one wants to relax and hve a cup of coffee in cold there

Room Tip: rooms facing the Dal Lake r very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehashah70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Brown Palace
Hotel Brown Palace
#43 of 143 in Srinagar
115 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Zabarvan
Hotel Zabarvan
#107 of 143 in Srinagar
28 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Zamrud
Hotel Zamrud
#65 of 143 in Srinagar
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar - Member ITC's Hotel Group
1.9 mi away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 143 in Srinagar
1,173 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahenshah Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahenshah Palace Hotel

Address: Boulevard, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 143 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range: £31 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shahenshah Palace Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Shahenshah Palace Hotel Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing