We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST HOTEL IN SRINAGAR - CLOSE TO WORLD FAMOUS DAL LAKE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brown Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Brown Palace
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN SRINAGAR - CLOSE TO WORLD FAMOUS DAL LAKE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were group of 21, all family members. We had stayed in this hotel from 26th Nov to 29th Nov 2013. I had booked this hotel after reading review on Tripadvisor and it was really a best choice we made.

From this hotel you will not get view of Dal Lake but its just 2 minute walk from hotel. Its entrance is at Dal Gate No 13, next to CRPF camp. Hotel has total 3 wings, we were accomodated in Wing A which is the old wing but gives you awsome view of hotel's own lawn and garden plus Shankaracharya Hills.

We had booked 6 doubl sharing rooms and 3 triple sharing rooms. Rooms are specious with wooden flooring and thick carpet on it. Carpet is lead down in staricases and passgaes also.
Every room had electronic heater as we were really concerned about cold temperature. Heater helps to keep room warm. Apart from heater we were provided electronic blanket which helps to keep your bed warm. No need to worry about cold or winter.

Hotel has its own restaurant, since it was off-season we used to give our dinner order 1 hour in advance. Food was sumptuous. All staff are well mannered and helpful.

I must mention hotel owner and manager - Mr. Imtiyaz Ahmed. I was talking to him since July 2013 for my booking process. He used to listen all my queries and answer them peacfully.

Taking inot account its proximity with Dal Lake and famous Boulevard Road of Srinagar which is dotted with various shop, is the best place to stay in Srinagar.

All major attractions of Srinagar such as all Moghul Gardens are also closeby.

In my next visit to Kashmir and Leh, i will definately stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor of A wing has best view of Shankaraycharya Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harsh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    45
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
69
20
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We( group of 2 couples) stayed for 3 nights in brown palace during 6-10 Dec in our kashmir trip. The property is decent with great service by the staff.
+ ve
1. Location: On Dal Lake, shikara ride, houseboats, market etc all are nearby.
2. Rooms : Are very well maintained, neat, clean, equiped with electric blankets, heaters etc. The size is big which you rarely see in hill stations.
3. Staff was very courteous and helpful: specific mention to Mr Naseer (manager) and Ahmed BHai ( waiter), they really helped us n making our trip memorable.
4. Food: Good options for Non Veg, Limited veg options. but you can always try options in dal market like kareems, Nathu sweets and couple of pure veg restaurants.
5. They guided us to plan our trip on 1st day and also hired us a cab, which was very economical.
5. dine in: They have a reastaurant on the ground floor and unbelievably they served us hot food (including hot chappatis) at lighting speed considering the temp was -2/-3 degrees.

-Ve
1. early morning room services: little slow for morning cuppa of tea, they should provide Tea/coffee maker machines in the hotel.

overall good and satisfying stay. recommed for location, value and guidance by the staff.

Room Tip: All Rooms are same in size and moreover in view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tejinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

this is a 3 star hotel but facilities wise does not qualify it, budget rooms are pathatic. Superior room are still better if you are planning to stay in this hotel.
Food choice is very limited. Staff is good but not professional.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajivkeerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

After spending our first night of Kashmir trip on a house boat, stayed at BP Srinagar for 2 nights on 28 to 30 oct 2013. We had booked a double deluxe room. Room was spacious and comfortable. We prefer having large rooms and this was suited as just fine. Didn't feel claustrophobic. Primarily 2 staff took care of our needs- they served well and with a smile. We were alone for dinner on first night. But next morning there were few other families for breakfast and dinner. One such family did create a lot of fuss and kept demanding from the service staff every moment-- but the staff still served them with a smile.

Location is great- opposite dal lake and some nearby restaurants to move around and explore. We were on MAP plan- food was ok and extremely spicy. On our second night we requested less spicy food- but not much changed. Service was prompt. The hotel has a nice lawn, okish garden and couple of swings. Weather permitting the lawns are a good sit out area.

Things which could improve- while the rooms were big and spacious, they were not cleaned regularly or so it seemed. There was dust on the side tables, on the window sill and few other places.

All said and done, would certainly recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the ground floor. It gets too noisy with hotel staff running about their bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is very nicely located on Dal Gate. A small lane on the Dal Gate Road takes you inside the campus of Brown Palace. It doesn't have any lake facing rooms yet you can come down in 2mins to enjoy the views of the lake. The rooms are spacious not very well lit though. There is lot of outside noise that will come into your room. Infact you can very well hear the people in the other room snoring. The room services are poor. Nobody will even come to ask you for water or take the pain of replacing the drinking water. We had complementary breakfast and dinner included in our package so had both these meals in the hotel itself. The food tasted awful with little or no salt at times. If you complain, they are not ready to digest your feedback. The parathas we had in the breakfast were fried papads in the true sense and they were something new to us. The time taken to serve each course is like ages. And of all when you will finally leave the place and offer tips to the attendants for the sake of courtesy and for their pathetic service, they will demand you for more tip which was shocking. This hotel can be recommended only because of the location and nothing else.

Room Tip: Irrespective of whether you stay in deluxe or standard rooms, they have the same to offer. Deluxe ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ipshita_boruah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed in Hotel Brown Palace in Srinagar for 2 nights 3 days during our family vacation in July-Aug. The hotel is not a 5 star property but I give it a 5-Star on the all the comfort, hospitality and experience it provided us.
Location - great!!! surrounded by beautiful Shankracharya hills, along with views of its well maintained little garden. Right on the Dal lake boulevard still away from the loud noises and hustle bustle of traffic as it is tucked away in a quiet corner with a well paved road connecting it to boulevard just in 2 min walk..
Hotel Rooms and interiors - too good!!well lit, clean and spacious rooms. In fact even the bathrooms are quite spacious quite contrary to what we generally see in other similar hotels in this range
Hotel staff - quite courteous, well spoken and well mannered. prompt service (both room service and restaurant)
Food - very good food, good menu choices and value for money. quick service Decent restaurant ambience
Highlight - Of course their hospitality!! Most memorable was that night when we came back to the hotel around 10:30 after a full day sightseeing in Srinagar and long stroll by the boulevard and needed dinner. Even though the restaurant has just closed they specially opened the kitchen for us and cooked a proper meal as per our choice. the food was amazing.. especially a plus for a vegetarian family to get homestyle food that too with hot chapatis in a hotel. Special Kudos to the hotel and kitchen staff.

I would totally recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a good accommodation in a decent budget!!!

thank you Brown Palace team for a memorable experience!!!

Room Tip: rooms facing the hill and garden. If you are travelling with elders then prefer the rooms on ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chhavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Its a good hotel no doubt. The rooms are spacious unlike many other hotels. There is a good lawn to play for the kids and also to sit and relax. But no view of Dal Lake. We were provided rooms in the ground floor though I am not sure if they were standard rooms or deluxe rooms. Also we were not given rooms in the main block. We were charged for deluxe rooms anyways. Those who wish to book in this hotel should make this clear which rooms are standard and which are deluxe. Also there were no extra bed provided for my 12 yr old daughter but they charged for extra bed according to the rate mentioned in their website where it is mentioned clearly as "extra bed in deluxe/super deluxe rooms" . We gave the cahrge but no extra bed provided.
another point I would like to make is that they did refuse to provide breakfast for my 3 year old kid though before booking I clearly mentioned about him. In all other hotels in Kashmir breakfast was complimentary for him . In all other hotels where we stayed at Kashmir, morning tea was included under breakfast and no separate charge made for that. This hotel was an exception in this regard.
The facility was good, good dining hall. But still I would say the management was not broadminded. Had to argue with them to get a 15 rupee worth mango juice for my kid.
Better to choose a different hotel having view of Dal lake. There are plenty of them around.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms in the upper floor and in the main block. Please be careful to find out which ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gargi1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
4.7 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#20 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
#51 of 129 in Srinagar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Akbar Inn
Hotel Akbar Inn
#21 of 129 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
4.5 mi away
Hotel The Grand Mamta
Hotel The Grand Mamta
#42 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.6 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#27 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brown Palace

Property: Hotel Brown Palace
Address: Boulevard Road, | Next to Passport Office, Opp Ghat No: 12, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brown Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Brown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brown Palace Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing