We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing People, excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats
Ranked #37 of 575 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing People, excellent place”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is one of the best houseboats to stay in view of its excellent location. Owner of the houseboat Mr Naseer is a gem of a person and was more than helpful for anything that we required including our onward trip arrangements to Pahalgam. Service is commendable with Mr Basheer so great in understanding the needs of the guests. Food served was mouthwatering and was made as per your palate of taste.
Place was so wonderful that after Pahalgam, we cancelled our trip to Gulmarg and revisited the hotel and stayed their again on our last day. Experience in total is memorable and I would highly recommend this place. Staff is well behaved and are truly trained for making your visit memorable.
I wish the team at Royal Dandoo all the best and I shall definitely return there in future.

Room Tip: If you are going for 2 nights, try both house boat and resort. resort is located just at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saurabhbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    59
    19
    9
    30
See reviews for
90
54
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable peaceful and friendly stay. Not so costly.Mr.nazir the owner is a man of zen.the location of house boat is also good.The catering staff is co operative.breakfast is good and of different variety.Credit card also accepted .but stay in houseboat not in the hotel which is also at the back of houseboat with the name of dandoo palace resorts.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkhilVyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Clean, safe environment. Amazing(though costly ) food. Good service. Kind staff.

Tips: Shikara cost for commute between house boat & city is not included. Its just 50 bucks per one way but good to know beforehand. Dinner buffet is 400 for non-veg and 200 for veg. Food tastes good but ensure you know that you are charged per person per meal. Prefer a room away from lake(unlike what you would otherwise think) to avoid smell of water, early morning shikara noises as well as too much sunlight. In either case, you can go to the common houseboat deck and relax whenever you want, irrespective of what room you chose.

Room Tip: Prefer a room away from lake(unlike what you would otherwise think) to avoid smell of water, early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puneet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We 4 friends went to Kashmir booking a package online. It was pleasant indeed. I liked the hotel stay more than houseboat. Hotel room was pleasant, nice and it was nice to stay. Homely food is served. Touseef bhaiyya was our travel guide. Very Co-operative, friendly and we'll behaved. Overall a nice experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MANJUSHREE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The wi-fi was working but the hotel staff were clueless about password. I asked them multiple times but they refused to provide me the password. Food was really terrible but highly overpriced. Chicken curry they served in their buffet was pathetic. The tub inside the room was not in a proper condition. There was no intercomm. Room numbers were not written on the doors.

There are some positives about this hotel too. The hotel staff are cordial and helpful. The rooms were clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Satheesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazirDandoo, Owner at Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are sorry about the guest have write wrong review ,the guest was using wrong sights and downloading wrong things that's why we have not given him WiFi password ,that is the reason he write wrong about us.too much drink they did every night ,they have spoil all the room and bed sheets and pillows .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a very good time on the houseboat. The owner and staff were very helpful and ensured that our stay was comfortable. I would recommend this place to my family and friends too. The shikara ride around Dal Lake was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ramachandran I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

worst kind of experience I had at the house boat. I will never advise any person to chose this. I was there for one night on 10th June 2014. The room was dirty. We were given worst kind of Dinner. Even dinner was disasterous. Pls. avoid this booking.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
5 Thank Anurag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.2 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
0.3 mi away
Mughal Palace Houseboats
Mughal Palace Houseboats
#37 of 135 in Srinagar
50 reviews
2.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jigar Palace Group of Houseboat
0.0 mi away
Dal View Resort
Dal View Resort
#112 of 349 in Srinagar
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sukoon Houseboat
Sukoon Houseboat
#3 of 349 in Srinagar
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats

Property: Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats
Address: Nehru Park | Dal Lake, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 575 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DANDOO GROUP OF HOUSEBOATS is one of the Kashmir's leading and largest hospitality enterprises founded in 1960. The group owns and manages 5 luxury super deluxe houseboats. Prompt service is one of the main norm. From three generations, the Dandoo Group of Houseboats is in houseboat business. Well liked and respected by the department of tourism of this earthly paradise, they have enjoyed continue success in this highly competitive field. Your needs and will go out of their way to make your stay with them a time to remember. Dandoo has worked all his life for promotion of tourism in the valley. He is a very keen trekker, angler, bird watcher, environmentalist and a conservationist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Dandoo Palace Group of House Boats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dandoo Palace Group Of House Boats Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing