We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Chage”
Review of Hotel Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mirage
Ranked #21 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for a Chage”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Hotel is located in Raj Bag area, away from noisy streets and traffic. The is set up is to give you a feeling of being home.

The large family rooms have been tastefully designed with modern amenities such as floor heated bathroom floor, large individual geyser, well lit, carpet, wooden wall panelling, comfortable bed, free wifi and DTH TV set up, power backup etc.

Since the Hotel is still being completed/ renovated there were several irritants such as frequent tripping due to short circuit, No cushions on Bamboo furniture inside the room and unfinished carpet work. There were safety hazards observed due to sharp corners of stone flooring which was above carpet level.

The raised levels of bathroom and floor from corridor to room pose threat of tripping. The carpet design also gives you an illusion of uneven surface confusing you in well lit room.

Few major shortcomings in the large family room is, small and ill designed cupboard, too many unmarked piano switches and no writing desk.

Food quality is average and portions are very large. Staff lacked in advising the guest which would save them from large F&B bills and avoiding wastage of food.

Room Tip: Take upper floor room if you would like better outside view and can take stairs since there is no el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omer s, Owner at Hotel Mirage, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are pleased to know you felt at home during your stay at Mirage. The location of Mirage was carefully chosen so as to provide a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere.
We would like to point out the power cuts were not caused due to the renovations but because it seems you were using the Electric Kettle in the low load power socket. The electric kettle should always be used in the high load power socket to avoid tripping.
The bathrooms are usually always at a higher level than the room to ensure a good drainage system. We have actually built a mini ramp at the bathroom entrance to avoid tripping and also for easier access for wheelchairs.
The switches for the lights are not labeled but we have labeled the "Do not disturb" and "Housekeeping" switch.
There is a writing desk in the room. If you refer to the picture of your room uploaded by yourself you will notice to the left of your bed there is a writing desk and a chair.
We are very sorry you found our food quality average. We take feedback from our customers very seriously and we will look into this matter.
Our staff has learnt from experience that no two guests like the same kind of food, therefore they avoid recommending specific dishes. We apologize if this has caused you inconvenience.
We would like to thank you for choosing Mirage and would like to assure you we will take the feedback provided by you on board if any issues are found.

Best wishes,

Omer Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    44
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
86
22
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a great time in the hotel. It is definitely recommended. We were greeted very well with each and every staff. I have never seen so humble and helping staff in any hotel ever! And do have food here. Its delicious!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anushrut08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omer s, General Manager at Hotel Mirage, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank for the compliments regarding our Staff and Hotel. We will make sure to pass on your compliments to our Staff. It is thanks to the compliments we receive from our Guests that our Staff goes the extra mile to please them. They feel very encouraged and rewarded by the compliments they receive.

Once again thank you for choosing Mirage. We hope to see you soon in the near future for another opportunity to serve you.

Best wishes,
H Mirza
GM Hotel Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Mirage was an excellent find for Srinagar. Large, well endowed rooms, a nice garden, fair cuisine, but above all warm hospitality defines the hotel. Zulfi, my friend, is an asset to the organisation, always helpful and a definite problem solver.

Room Tip: Try rooms that look onto the garden.The suites especially are adorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivineDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omer s, General Manager at Hotel Mirage, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the compliments regarding the hospitality at Mirage. Our Staff is very carefully chosen based on their desire to please our Guests. Our Staff enjoy the feedback we receive from our Guests and feel encouraged by their kind words. We will make sure to pass on your compliments to all those involved.

Once again thank you for choosing Mirage. We hope to see you soon in the near future for another opportunity to serve you.

Best wishes,
H Mirza
GM Hotel Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent place to stay. Cooperative staff. We stayed at this place from June 30, 2014 for three nights. Hotel manager Mr. Zulfi is a very nice and cooperative person. Hotel owners take full interest in the property and are very warm and cooperative people. Recommend highly to anybody visiting with family to stay at this place. Toilet was neat and clean. My best wishes to Mr. Omar (owner) and wish to stay at the same place for my future visits.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room facing lawn at ground floor.Very nice and comfortable stay. Away from hustle and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omer s, General Manager at Hotel Mirage, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are extremely grateful for all your praises and encouraging words. It is an honour for us to know that we were able to live up to your expectations and make your holiday experience a pleasant one.

We strive to provide an experience that differs from the usual commercial Hotels where the whole experience feels a bit clinical. We are extremely pleased to know you felt at Home during your stay at Mirage.

I speak on behalf of all the Staff and Management at Mirage when I say it was a pleasure and an honour to serve you and we sincerely hope to get an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
H Mirza
GM Hotel Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Pro
We recently visited Srinagar and stayed at Mirage Hotel super deluxe room. We liked the room which comes with one extra single bed..... the room and bathroom was clean. The place is more like a big house converted into hotel. It has three gardens. We booked taxi through hotel and were provided with Zarak (driver). He is very good and took us to authentic places to buy pashmina, kesar.....etc.......

Con
1.) The hotel does not gives proper bill. The bill does not have sales tax no./ VAT no. So remember this while negotiating rates with the hotel.
2.) We booked taxi for local sight seeing and even for our Leh trip through hotel. Zulfi is the manager who takes care of taxi booking. Avoid Mr. Zulfi. He asked for full day charges for a taxi, which was used only for half day. Though the owner intervene and I paid for half day. Secondly, He misguided us for the Leh trip.
3.) The day we were leaving, I paid Rs.100 tip to their main waiter and he had the audacity to say...'this is very less'.....
The three incidents on the last day, left a slight bad taste. I still give the hotel a good rating because the place is worth staying (serene and quite), decent food and Zarak (very hospitable and perfect guide and good driver).

Room Tip: We stayed facing garden on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssuruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omer s, General Manager at Hotel Mirage, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Mirage as your preferred accommodation in Kashmir. We would also like to thank you for the compliments regarding our Hotel and our lawns. We are delighted to know you found the accommodation to be up to your expectations.

Regarding the concerns you raised, I would like to say, we take the feedback from our customers very seriously and always take prompt corrective action. I would like to go through the points you raised one by one:

1. Hotels and restaurants differ in terms of billing, where restaurants are required by law to provide sales tax no and VAT no but hotels are under no such obligation. It is not the norm here and generally it would be the same had you stayed at a different Hotel. However, we would like to apologize to you if this has given you cause for concern or inconvenienced you in anyway.

2. Regarding the Taxi, We were under the impression the Taxi was required for the entire day and arrangements were made accordingly. We were not informed in advance that the Taxi was only required for half a day. This was probably down to a communication problem but we did waive the charges as per your request.

Also regarding the Leh trip, it was not a case of misguidance rather a case of unforeseen circumstances arising which are beyond our control. It was unfortunate you were made to wait by the authorities on route to Leh but there are no fixed timings for such occurrences. The authorities are making efforts and preparations for the Shri Amarnath Yatra which can cause delays unfortunately. We do apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

3. Regarding the tips, we have already taken strict action regarding this matter and corrective action has been taken to ensure this is not repeated in the future. We sincerely apologize for this incident but would like to assure you we have taken your feedback very seriously and dealt with the issue in the strictest manner.

Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Mirage and we hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Hamayun Mirza
GM Hotel Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponda, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had been to srinagar from 24 may 2014 to 30 may 2014 with my family ( 2 adults and child 15 yrs).Actually had planned for only upto 28 may. Extended my stay from 28 to 30 and booked Hotel Mirage through Cleartrip. fantastic property worth every penny. The hotel block which i was allotted a accommodation was still under renovation any it did not make me any difference the staff is very caring and room service was excellent. The food specially veg was too good, of course with a limited menu as the restaurant was under renovation. Buffet breakfast was good with limited menu but ok.The rooms are very much spacious.The bathrooms have the been fitted with good quality fittings, as mentioned 24 hours hot water was available.Location wise around 2.5 km from Dal lake but away from the hustle n bustle of the town. Will recommend this hotel to all and will definitely book the same for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRAJESHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omer s, General Manager at Hotel Mirage, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are extremely to pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mirage and also the food our Chefs had prepared.

We have recently made some major upgrades to our Hotel which have been completed. We are doing this so that we are able to make our Guests more comfortable and give them luxuries beyond their expectations.

Whenever Guests ask us how far we are from Dal Lake our response is "Just the right distance". Too close to the Lake and you end up in a congested area with crowds and noise, too far and it would become inconvenient. Our location is one of our greatest assets and we are glad you agree with us.

On behalf of the Management and all our Staff we would like to thank you for choosing Mirage and we hope to get the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

H Mirza
GM Hotel Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The wooden rooms are spacious and clean. Very friendly staff and excellent food. The hotel is somewhat hidden in a residential area. There is quite a big garden where breakfast and lunch/dinner can be enjoyed in a calm environment. Currently some construction or rennovation work going on, but nevertheless a very good option for your stay in Srinagar.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Zi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omer s, General Manager at Hotel Mirage, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

We are extremely pleased to know your stay at Mirage was comfortable. We are very grateful for all your positive feedback. We will make sure to pass on your compliments to our Staff and our Chefs.

Recently we have made some major changes and improvements to our Hotel for your comfort and to provide luxury only to be expected from certain 5 Star properties. The work has now been completed with finishing touches being applied at the moment.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing Mirage.

Best wishes,

H Mirza
GM Hotel Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
5.6 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 135 in Srinagar
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#30 of 135 in Srinagar
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#20 of 135 in Srinagar
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#23 of 135 in Srinagar
355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#108 of 135 in Srinagar
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirage

Property: Hotel Mirage
Address: Raj Bagh New Era Road, Srinagar 190008, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mirage Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing