We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, First Rate Hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, First Rate Hospitality!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a lovely 7 day/night stay here in February.  The staff were all very friendly, especially Sarwar who assured that our every need was met, starting with a welcome of delicious Kashmiri tea.  He was enormously helpful in arranging excursions and answering our questions and providing information about Kashmir.  Best efforts are made to provide comfort in the winter cold: electric blankets, piping hot water, space heaters.   Its still pretty chilly though, be sure to have warm socks!  The room service was prompt and the food was satisfying. Everything is very clean. We stayed in two different rooms and found the room in the main building to be much warmer (as opposed to the second, smaller building). A stones throw from Dal lake, you can walk to restaurants, shops and attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnnvntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    146
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
288
109
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was my 3rd visit to Srinagar and this time it was my honeymoon trip. It was perhaps my one of best decisions ever to choose Hotel JH Bazaz this time. We stayed for four days between 5th and 11th February 2014. 1st two days at cottage which is separate from the main building and last two days at 2nd floor of the main building. Both the properties are very good. Rooms are clean, fully equipped with heater, electric blankets, lcd tv with cable connections and above all separate geyser in every bathroom for 24 hrs running hot water. It was almost freezing cold at outside but we never felt any problem inside. Breakfast and dinner served were also very good and price was also reasonable. Hotel is just a 3/4 mins walking distance from the Dal Lake, Shikara Stand No 2.
May be one can get all these in some other hotel also but Mr. Sarwar Hussain, the owner of this hotel would be the difference. If any one wants to feel actual Kashmiri Hospitality, please meet this person and stay here once. For our entire 7 days trip, I only booked this hotel through email and 50% payment transfer 15/20 days earlier. The rest was taken care by Mr. Hussain. He guided us not like a hotel owner but just like a good friend and well wisher. This man is a perfect gentleman having proper knowledge and without his guidance and advise we could have faced some difficulties. But it was only because of him our trip to Gulmarg and Pahalgam was so exciting and memorable. I should mention the name of the Cab Driver Abdul Bhai also. He is also a nice person and we enjoyed our journey with him.
I will surely recommend this property to any body who doesn't want the tag of so called Star Category. This is not star hotel but I felt the warmth and true hospitality from every persons attached with this property. Waiting for the next time to meet Mr. Hussain again.....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subhrajit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed 23-12 to 27-12, occupying two rooms in far corner away from the main building. We usually go for 3* and up, but our daughters recommended to try a Home Stay this time.

I tried to make an advance for reservation, it was past 12 noon, the cut off for NEFT transfers on a Saturday. The Owner cum CEO - Sarwaz Javed, without a moments hesitation, confirmed our reservation without an advance.

As most reviews speak, it's truly a home stay with high quality hospitality, clean property.

Worth a recommendation, wish they add more heating during winters and have continuous power back up (wish list of Sarwaz already) even with an increase in room rates.

Hotel Outsourced Abdul Bhai and one of his CYLO from his fleet of vehicles, a very comfortable vehicle kept clean and very reasonable price, recommended for anyone going there.

All the best JH Bazaz, Happy Cottage.

Room Tip: Family of 4 may ask for Corner Cottage (Room Numbers 101-102) which are twin deck rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DirectorCCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Initially only planned to stay here for 2 nights here but thanks to the incredibly gracious hospitality of Sarwar Bhai and Uncle Javid ended up staying for 6 nights instead!Rooms are immaculately clean and cosy, fully equipped with heater, electric blanket, cable and have access to wifi. Hotel is just a stone's throw away from the famous Dal boulevard and have easy access to other points of interests. Sarwar Bhai's a great help when it comes to arranging your local sight-seeing and out of city trips. Food served was of top quality and Bashir Bhai(house-help) is always on his toes to take care of all your needs. I cant recommend this place enough, hospitality I experienced here is second to none. They treat you not as a guest but as if you're part of their family. I definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krish7994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews @TA by the people who stayed at this hotel and their experiences. I gave it a try and transferred the 50% payment in Advance.

I still had second thoughts and doubts as It was just my 2nd visit to srinagar but to my surprise it was my best stay in Srinagar during 7th to 11th December with my wife. Hotel owner (sarwar) took very good care of us throught the stay. hotel owner Sarwar was in constant touch with us during Katra to srinagar journey. Even at 11:00 PM @night, hotel owner assisted us in finding the hotel, made ourselves comfortable in the room.

Sarwar also gave us very good advice during the Gulmarg trip to find the Gondola due and adviced us not to hire Horses. Sarwar's Assistant (sorry don't remember his name) also gave us very good advice and his suggestions. Me and my wife was very overwhelmed by the hospitality of Sarwar that we will be staying in the same hotel next time we visit Srinagar. Sarwar took care of us like his own family and gave very honest advice and suggestions.

Room was equipped with cable tv, room heater, electric blanket and a big plus for 24 hrs hot water. Breakfast was included in the package and it was served hot throughout the stay. Hotel also provides free wifi.

Sarwar also assisted us in buying dress material with Kashmiri handwork from one of his friend's shop nearby. Overall, it was a pleasant and a wonderful stay at JH BAZAZ. Will recommend this hotel to all visiting Srinagar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank udayjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The level of service from Sarwar and his staff is second to none. Friendly and helpful advice is only a question away,they will try and accommodate any request you have. The rooms are very clean,well equipped with good cable tv,24 hour HOT water,many charging points and great electric blankets for those visits in the cold months in Srinagar. They also have a good selection of quality Indian and Kashmiri food at affordable prices,the pots of tea being my favourite as an Englishman. Although the room was out of my budget it was worth paying a few hundred rupees extra for the level of service and quality of room compared to any of the houseboats or other guesthouses. If you come to Srinagar make sure you stay at JH BAZAZ!

Room Tip: Maybe if visiting in the winter months ask for a sun facing room like I had and it will help warm yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andersmark2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

As my Heading Goes.. U dont have to really look out for any other Hotel in Srinagar, As the Service, Food and Friendly Nature of the Management which Includes Sarwar Hussain and Bashir gives fulfilled Justice to your stay...!
We had been to srinagar on 7th Dec- 14th Dec.. and we had a wonderful experience staying there..! Right from guiding you to watch out the beautiful places to making you feel comfortable in the unknown state this cottage has its all..!! I had got tonsils due to cold wheather and cold water so they served me with Nice hot Ginger water to recover from the bad throat ..! The food Specially Rajma Chawal and Chicken is awesome Here..! and Feels more awesome when served with a happy Face..! This is a fulltooo a Home away from Home in Srinagar..!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PriyankaMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.8 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#32 of 135 in Srinagar
142 reviews
2.7 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
1.9 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

Property: Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
Address: 1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More of a "HOME STAY" with amidst a lush green garden, cozy rooms with posh baths. Exotic food served with great hospitality.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing