We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality @Hotel J H Bazaz”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
Ranked #2 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality @Hotel J H Bazaz”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel J H Bazaz for 3 nights with my family (3 adults). Right from the checking-in Mr. Sarwar, the owner, was extra courteous and always had given his helpful guidance/tips about the site visits - be it Sonamarg, Gulmarg, and Pahalgam. His friendly behavior and service felt like as if we were staying with a close friend. Overall his hospitality was unmatched. I am ready to stay again when I visit Kashmir.

Room Tip: Choose the corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amitabha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarwarjavidbazaz, Owner at Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage), responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hotel jh bazaz!!!!!!

Thanks for choosing your stay in Kashmir with us at hotel JH Bazaz and giving us a chance to serve you.
It is a pleasure to read your high recommendation following your stay with us. We do present best possible packages to choose from and appreciate your kind understanding. We really appreciate such comments which give us satisfaction in what we do. I have noted your observation & fully understand your comment and will certainly take this into consideration.
We try to give a friendly and warm stay to our guests so that they can feel the home away from home feeling. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
On behalf of our entire staff here at “JH Bazaz” we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again..

With Kindest Regards

Sarwar Hussain

Hotel JH Bazaz Kashmir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    146
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
288
109
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here between 29th March2014 to 1st April 2014. We indeed are very happy with the hospitality. The rooms are cozy if for a couple. If you are more than two adults, it becomes crowded. Our toddler had healthy food to eat, hot milk served on demand and hygienic lunch and dinner served.We loved the coconut biscuits and kawa that was served to welcome us.
The owners are very warm people.Indeed a value for money place

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank manali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at Happy cottage for 2 nights at the start and end of our trip in Kashmir.. the owner Mr Sarwar is very helpful and as requested had a car waiting for us at the airport to take us straight to Gulmarg for the gondola ride. the driver was experienced and mr Sarwar also called us and gave us good tips to ensure that we could get to Phase 2 etc. .. returned back to srinagar to a easy checkin with some tea / kahwa and lovely ( to die for) coconut biscuits ( we found the local bakery where he gets them and got some back) ... and after a quick dinner ( nice simple ao paranthas) - we retired to a small yet clean and comfortable room.. left next morning for Pahalgam using the same car.. on way back also stayed for a night and day again.. the place is just off the lake - although the approach road could be better .. but is centrally located with a lovely rose garden and caring folks.. would recommend to all

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yga2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were 2 families (4 adults and 3 kids) and we stayed here in the month of May 2014.

Location and accommodation : The cottage is located at 2-3 minutes walk from the famous Dal lake (behind the Dal in one of the by-lanes). The rooms though small are neat and clean and well maintained. Clean sheets and towels, clean bathrooms and 24 hours hot water facility is available.Families with young kids can opt for the deluxe room which has an additional cot / bed apart from the standard double bed. Bookings can be made by calling Mr. Sarwar (09622424355) directly.

Food : There is dining hall at the ground floor and food is served there for the guests. You need to tell your preference / order before hand as everything is cooked based on the prior order. The food is tasty , hygienic and cooked well. For people who want to eat outside, there are enough and more hotels / restaurants nearby (2-3 minutes walk from the cottage max)

The best part : The best part of this entire place / cottage is none other than Mr. Sarwar himself who is a benchmark host. Difficult to summarize his service orientation through words and one needs to experience it to understand it. He was always present and available for any help that we needed. His personal attention to every small thing is something, which speaks about the quality of service one experiences there.

We had some problems with our driver (which we had arranged separately) regarding airport pick up, and hence we had approached Mr. Sarwar at the last minute for help. To our joy everything was done and arranged at a speed faster than lightening. The 3-4 days we stayed there, we never heard Mr. Sarwar saying no for anything.

Thank you very much Mr. Sarwar for the great hospitality and service and looking forward to staying at your place in our next trip too.

Room Tip: All rooms are good , however if you are a small family you can opt for the outhouse which gives more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutta30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from 29th March to 1st April. The place is very well made and inspite of being slightly on the interior side is still easily accessible. The rooms are compact but not congested. There is ample space to move around and the bathroom is very clean with a huge geyser so you can get sufficient hot water. The rooms have electric blankets as well as heaters in the room so you are always warm. No comfort of the guests has been compromised. So guests just simply have to go back happy . Mr. Sarwar arranged our travel to Manasbal , Kherbhavani. On the last day of our stay he stayed up late as we were going to be back very late. Once we were back we received a call to enquire about our safe travel which really made us feel special. The food was very good and Uncle and Mr. Sarwar were always around to see to your comfort and needs. They also guided us for our local sightseeing. We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. I recommend thisplace to all.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skylight873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarwarjavidbazaz, Owner at Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage), responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings from Hotel jh bazaz!!!!!!

Thanks for choosing your stay in Kashmir with us at hotel JH Bazaz and giving us a chance to serve you.
It is a pleasure to read your high recommendation following your stay with us. We do present best possible packages to choose from and appreciate your kind understanding. We really appreciate such comments which give us satisfaction in what we do. I have noted your observation & fully understand your comment and will certainly take this into consideration. I also thank you for your comment on transportation.
We try to give a friendly and warm stay to our guests so that they can feel the home away from home feeling. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
On behalf of our entire staff here at “JH Bazaz” we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again..

With Kindest Regards

Sarwar Hussain

Hotel JH Bazaz Kashmir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The name 'Happy cottage' has been aptly kept by the foreigners who used to stay in this hotel. My son said they should write 'home away from home' below it, when we were leaving the hotel after 5 nights, on 22nd May 2014. It says it all! The hotel & the rooms are small but cozy & well maintained with a beautiful garden. The vehicles they supply are good with expert drivers. Food is good & safe but less varieties, so one may try elsewhere too. The dining room is cozy too & gives a homely feeling. We had selected this hotel by going thr. the reviews & experienced the truth!!, so do you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neenabambekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at JH Bazaz for 3 nights during first week of May 14. The rooms though small, are neat and clean. very basic rooms with out any frills. There is scope for improving the maintenance of bathrooms. Location is advantageous as it is very close to Dal lake. Best part is the warmth and hospitality of the owner - Mr. Sarwar Hussain and his staff. They go all the way out to make your stay comfortable and to meet your requirements.
It is mostly like staying in a home stay !
Mr. Sarwar Hussain arranges everything for his guests. The Cab charges are slightly on the higher side.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel and appreciate Mr. Sarwar & his team for the hospitality and service. Will we stay in the same hotel next time ? The answer is BIG YES !

Room Tip: Look for rooms in the main building. Two Rooms in the corner Anne, though provide privacy, are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shashi_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.8 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#33 of 135 in Srinagar
142 reviews
2.7 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
1.9 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)

Property: Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
Address: 1st Lane Boulevard, | Buchwara Dalgate, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Best Value Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More of a "HOME STAY" with amidst a lush green garden, cozy rooms with posh baths. Exotic food served with great hospitality.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage) Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing