We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veena Palace Group of Houseboats
Ranked #30 of 570 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The Veena Palace Houseboat is a category C houseboat. It is not far from Ghat 7 but not in the first row. So it's quiet and peaceful. The boat has good rooms, sit down toilets are provided, and also hot water. The owners are friendly and helpful and very open minded. There is a cosy room to sit and eat. You can get basic but good food. Only downsides are that there is not much fancy wood carvings and no sunset view from the boat. But therefor you have to go to a much more expensive place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob297623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
16
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zhengzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

another 100% positive feedback. Whether you want to see the area or just sit on the boat with a book, thats the place to do it. Also one of the nicest people I have met while in India. Avoid spending/wasting time at the bus station trying to figure out who to trust, just contact Veena Palace in advance and head straight to the boat after arrival. Even if you book Veena in advance be carefull when you arrive, everybody will try to get you to their boats saying its gonna be Veena. cheers

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I was travelling alone in India for one and a half month and spent my last days in Srinagar. If you want to find a good houseboat here for an acceptable price you will definitely have a lot of trouble: houseboat owners are trying to catch you everywhere, sometimes even with wrong informations. After some bad experiences on different houseboats I wanted to leave the Dal Lake. Just as I was walking along the street I met Firdous, the owner of the Veena Palace, he was really gentle and unlike the others he was not forcing me to get on his houseboat. So I decided to give him a chance, and I can say this was definitely a very good decision: I spent a wonderful time there, I was nearly overwhelmed by the politness and the true-harted character of Firdous and his whole family. These are the type of people, that you are looking for when you go on a backpacker trip. Good price, delicious food, clean houseboats, clean water, always good advises if you need something. He also has a second little boat just for his guests so that I could paddle around on the Dal Lake all on my own whenever I wanted.
Absolute 100%!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Me and a few of my friends arrived to Srinagar in September 2011. We met Firdous (the houseboat owner) just by chance on a bus station in Srinagar where he was offering his accomodation as well as many other Indians. However unlike the others he was not shouting at us, he was quite and polite. After we had a look on the houseboat we decided to stay since it seemed to be pretty cosy and comfortable accomodation for a good price, not mentioning the people of Firdous's family seemed to be very friendly. At thats exactly how it was later. One big advantage was that nobody was disturbing us with any scarfs/jewellery/etcetc offerings as we have heard from many other tourists who stayed in different places. Besides that there was everything we needed: warm water, large bed, comfy small living room, food included in the rent and also free internet (which is really not common). Firdous and his friend Fayas (shikara driver) took us to several trips on the lake (dont forget to take moon ride:)...its amazing... In case you would have any other questions, feel free to contact me at madam dot madam at gmail dot com.

Room Tip: room at the end of the corridor is better (nobody passing behind your door).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam_Shanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We arrived late at night in Srinagar and on finding all the hotels on land were very expensive, we found these houseboats in the Rough Guide to India, and called them up. Firdous came to pick us up within half an hour and took us to his beautiful houseboat, handily located on the lake, ie far enough from the noise of the Boulevard and yet only 5 minutes by Shikara (small boat). The boats are simply but beautifully furnished and the rooms have private attached bathrooms. They are wonderful for relaxing on, Firdous' family are very sweet and welcoming and whenever we wanted to go to town he would arrange a lift for us either for free or for 10 rupees, so we never felt trapped. He runs tours but never pushed us on them, and generally had a very relaxed attitude which makes staying there an absolute pleasure. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceris3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinigar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stumbled upon this beautiful boat on the internet whilst in Dehli hoping to escape the busy atmosphere. The moment we arrived we were at peace. Firdous our guide, caterer, family member and friend met us at the gate and ever since he has made us feel at home.

For anyone who wants a break in Kashmir the Veena Palace group are warm and welcoming. They can help explain the area and organise treks but are not pushy about them. This is the simple, rustic and amazingly different experience we hoped for when we imagined time in india.

Daniel and Pippa

Room Tip: Try the Veena palace back room! They are very simple - basically wood and rugs and the boat is creak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.0 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
0.0 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.0 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#15 of 133 in Srinagar
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kashmir Inn
Hotel Kashmir Inn
#6 of 342 in Srinagar
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Bul Bul Group of Houseboats
0.0 mi away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 133 in Srinagar
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veena Palace Group of Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veena Palace Group of Houseboats

Property: Veena Palace Group of Houseboats
Address: | Dal Lake, Opposite Hotel Welcome, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 570 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our group of houseboats (Veena Palace) is located on the famous Dal lake in the center of Srinagar. We offer accommodation in several houseboats with variety of rooms and prices. Apart from the accommodation we provide also food, internet, phone service, common sitting room on each houseboat, roof top sittings, and last but not least a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Veena Palace Group of Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veena Palace Group Of Houseboats Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing