We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veena Palace Group of Houseboats
Ranked #29 of 574 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really great place”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Really did well choosing Veena Palace. Great value, comfortable, clean and friendly. I can't imagine finding anywhere on the lake like this for 500. Food was extra though, breakfast was 100 and dinner was 200, though when I mentioned that I thought dinner was rather expensive (and delicious) Firdous was happy to lower the price. As was I think mentioned in another review, this is verging on a home stay. Firdous is the fourth generation to run these houseboats and the rest of the family lives just next door and they all were really welcoming and helpful. You can really see what their reputation and their business means to them, they go out of their way to help you have the time that YOU want. Firdous is a wonderful host, keen to chat and hang out which was great fun, extremely knowledgeable and keen to impart his recommendations and warnings, all of which were most appreciated.
The only thing I will mention however, I was extremely frustrated when getting prices for things. I was on a very tight budget and wanted to do a trek (sadly too expensive for me, next time), see the lake, get dinner etc. They were EXTREMELY helpful in all these things, describing at length all the things I would see, the logistics, previous trips, the food, the fishing, however getting the price was literally like getting blood from a stone. Always, "don't worry about it", "it's very cheap", "it won't be a problem", "we can sort that out later" No, I need to know the price!
Despite that wee quibble, this place was great! Really quiet, lovely view, good price. Highly recommended :-)

Room Tip: I was in the cheapy boat and it was lovely, I imagine his more upmarket boats are really stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
16
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We chose Veena Palace due to the positive reviews on TA and are happy we did. Firdous was very attentive to our needs and so were his entire family. We enjoyed discussing all manner of subjects together and were in awe of their knowledge, understanding and willingness to share and teach others about lake life, Srinigar life and Kashmir life in general.
A fascinating couple of days, food was delicious and the location and view from the houseboat we were on (Bul Bul) was exactly what we had hoped and imagined.

Thank you Firdous, see you soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katapilla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otwock, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We found Veena Palace thanks to a recommendation on a traveller's forum. And it was the best place we could possibly find in Srinagar! Firdous and his family are extremely helpful, he can arrange all the trips you may want to take in Kashmir but if you want to find your own paths he will not push you. He will also give you the best advice on what is worth seeing, taking into consideration your conditions, budget, health state etc. The boat itself has everything that is needed - private bathrooms, hot water, European toilets. It is located a bit further, which makes it calm, peaceful and quiet, just a perfect place to relax. And the food cooked by Firdous mother and sister is just the most delicious we had in India! I honestly recommend the place to everybody and will visit it myself too for sure! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ewa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

i was travelling alone in india for one month. my friend recommended me to spend last days in srinagar and he gave me address veena palace group of houseboats. the owner was waititng for me on the bus station where were "thousands" of indians people. he is very nice and polite man. he showed me round the city, explained me history of the city,etc. Prices are great, houseboats and rooms are clean, there is hot water...just everything what you need:) so i can recommened veena palace houseboat for 100 %! enjoy your stay....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank petra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srinagar, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The Veena Palace Houseboat is a category C houseboat. It is not far from Ghat 7 but not in the first row. So it's quiet and peaceful. The boat has good rooms, sit down toilets are provided, and also hot water. The owners are friendly and helpful and very open minded. There is a cosy room to sit and eat. You can get basic but good food. Only downsides are that there is not much fancy wood carvings and no sunset view from the boat. But therefor you have to go to a much more expensive place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob297623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhengzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

another 100% positive feedback. Whether you want to see the area or just sit on the boat with a book, thats the place to do it. Also one of the nicest people I have met while in India. Avoid spending/wasting time at the bus station trying to figure out who to trust, just contact Veena Palace in advance and head straight to the boat after arrival. Even if you book Veena in advance be carefull when you arrive, everybody will try to get you to their boats saying its gonna be Veena. cheers

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I was travelling alone in India for one and a half month and spent my last days in Srinagar. If you want to find a good houseboat here for an acceptable price you will definitely have a lot of trouble: houseboat owners are trying to catch you everywhere, sometimes even with wrong informations. After some bad experiences on different houseboats I wanted to leave the Dal Lake. Just as I was walking along the street I met Firdous, the owner of the Veena Palace, he was really gentle and unlike the others he was not forcing me to get on his houseboat. So I decided to give him a chance, and I can say this was definitely a very good decision: I spent a wonderful time there, I was nearly overwhelmed by the politness and the true-harted character of Firdous and his whole family. These are the type of people, that you are looking for when you go on a backpacker trip. Good price, delicious food, clean houseboats, clean water, always good advises if you need something. He also has a second little boat just for his guests so that I could paddle around on the Dal Lake all on my own whenever I wanted.
Absolute 100%!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeenaPalaceTeam, Manager at Veena Palace Group of Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. Your valuable feedback not only helps us in order to improve the quality of service, but also help the other travellers to choose the best of the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.0 mi away
New Bul Bul Group of Houseboats
0.0 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.0 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kashmir Inn
Hotel Kashmir Inn
#5 of 344 in Srinagar
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 135 in Srinagar
1,116 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veena Palace Group of Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veena Palace Group of Houseboats

Property: Veena Palace Group of Houseboats
Address: | Dal Lake, Opposite Hotel Welcome, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 574 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our group of houseboats (Veena Palace) is located on the famous Dal lake in the center of Srinagar. We offer accommodation in several houseboats with variety of rooms and prices. Apart from the accommodation we provide also food, internet, phone service, common sitting room on each houseboat, roof top sittings, and last but not least a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Veena Palace Group of Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veena Palace Group Of Houseboats Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing