We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil reception with no frills but the location makes up for it”
Review of Hotel Heemal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Heemal
Ranked #77 of 139 Hotels in Srinagar
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

 
Stayed one night, benefited from a walkup discount rate despite high season, paid rs3000 for lake view room only. A government runned hotel so staff dispenses with niceties and can answer questions straight to the point. Very open and spacious reception and dining hall with ugly bulky furniture and cracks around wall and floor tiles. They have a sink for washing hands in the open and toilets for guests downstairs but it needs a good clean. Booked room 304 for view of the hari parabat hill and dal lake. Fantastic bathroom with geyser, sunken shower area, good size mirror and well laid out with necessities. Towels and soap bar provided. Friendly porter but he failed to pick up the phone when we wanted to order breakfast so no tipping for him. Note that tea was pricey and they discourage eating in the room anyway. Bed was queen size and ample walk around space. Outdated tv and furniture but the most important things are there. Location is perfect with the regulated wine shops downstairs and all rickshaw drivers know the hotel. It is also set back from the main road unlike the other hotels so there is less road noise.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Dont stay in this hotel. The hotel management is not sincere i booked 03 rooms on heemal from himachul tourist office,kolkata but when i arrived at srinagar from delhi by flight. They promised me that a cab will be sent from hotel but i was amazed after check out from airport i seed that there were no cabs in outside the airport after calling driver several times he told me that from hotel they didnt informed me about to pick u up at that time he was travelling to pahalgam. We was surprised by hearing this but there were no option for us we have taken a taxi from airport proceed towards hotel but the driver told me that it will cost 1200/- as he will take the up down cost. Atlast after reaching to the hotel another surprise was waiting for us. At the time of check in at the hotel the staff was wanting the booking slip from us i showed him the booking slip. He said me that this is not a valid booking and ur booking has not made and we travelled at april that time kashmir was full packed. I was again amazed at the hotel premises as i was travelling with my wife and one 5yr old my child. I didnt argued with them straight away i gon out from that hotel and i drained 5000 rs. And i choosed a better hotel. I request everbody of this reader dont come to this hotel they are fraud. Choose a better hotel. If u dont have money dont travel then sit at home. My experience was so bad.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amit_mukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is a hotel run by the JKTC ( JK Tourism Corporation ) so its a Govt Hotel , so don't expect much . If you like to be pampered while travelling this is not your place.They provide all the basic thing you would need in Srinagar ( Hot water, very thick blanket and a bed ) .
The rooms are very old with a hard bed but they give very thick blanket to keep you alive in the winter night.
The hotel is very well located along the banks of Dal Lake, So location wise you are set perfectly.
The street in the front of the hotel are alive in the evening till 10 pm with hawkers selling stuff .
Overall if you plan to be out all day and just want to come back to a Hot shower , you can take this palce

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Brian_Bim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Its worth the value of money. if you want heater then tip the room boy 50 rs and get a heater for yourself. break fast is included in room rent but only parata and omlete is available. it is quite clean but do see the room before checking in. In entire kashmir, all want money only from tourist.. so they ask for tip and take but don cheat u normally.. TV didnt work in our room. bed is hard to sleep. but this hotel was better than centre point.

Room Tip: see the room before paying advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balaji_k_bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at this JKTDC property at Srinagar for one night, which was the last day of our Kashmir trip. The so called Super Dlx room which according to the manager was recently renovated was given to me. The room was very basic with old furniture. The toilet was in a bad shape with leaking fittings. Bed felt very hard, the towels very dirty (did not use them) The surprising part was 'no heating' arrangement. The room felt really cold. When we requested for a heater, the manager simply refused by saying that they provide heaters only till March 15th. The only advantage is the location on Dal Road. The restaurant was also badly maintained with poor hygiene standards. The b/f was ordinary with no variety and very oily. On top of all this when you check out you will be irritiated with waiters demanding tips (for what) This is a pathetic hotel with no sense of hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomrang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Avoid any JKTDC Hotel in Srinagar, best possible. The staff are lethergic, and eat your brains for money all the time. Though the rooms are spaciuos, hotel right on Dal lake, with a good view, Toilets are decent and clean, its the service of the attendants..who keep irritating you begging for money/ tips all the time!
It is amazing that even the JKTDC main office at Srinagar, officials, are not responsive in giving right information to tourists! We enquired abt Wular lake, and Manasbal Lake..and they cudnt even give rite directions.....at the end both the places, were 50 kms away frm Srinagar, and not worth visiting also.

Room Tip: Always select Hotel in Srinagar which is opposite to Dal lake, and ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piyali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We travelled to Kashmir on March 22 2013. Given the security concerns in the region we thought it safe to stay in JKTDC accommodation.

That a state largely dependent on tourism can take its genuine and eager tourists so much for granted is to be seen to be believed at the JKTDC properties. Our first stop was the Jammu Residency in Jammu: unhygienic, dirty rooms, broken ACs, cracked toilet seats and washbasins, leaking taps and poor lighting and all this in a so-called "luxury" room. The staff were incompetent and non-cooperative, apart from being disinterested and greedy.

Our next stop was Hotel Heemal in Srinagar. We were supposedly booked in a "super-deluxe", room and thank god for that! The other rooms are unliveable! Even in the so-called newly renovated "super-deluxe rooms" cleanliness was an issue. The lackadaisical staff was another issue. It was as though the whole hotel was being serviced by just a couple of staff members. Thank God we were carrying our own room heater or else it would have been an uncomfortable night for our three-year-old son. There was no sign of the electric blanket which comes with these rooms. We were told: "The weather was warm, so the blankets had been removed!"

The restaurant - apparently outsourced - was best for a cup of tea, that too if one was able to catch the eye and sympathy of the staff there. You were lucky if you could lay your hands on the buffet breakfast coupons. And God Forbid if your child asked for a plate of chicken sandwich. The staff behaved as though they would have to fetch fresh chicken from the market!

The only bright spot of our stay at the hotel was our interaction with the Himalayan Glacier Tour and Travels company which has an office in the premises. Their punch line: "We sell experience". They sure did by providing us a spanking new Innova and a courteous, knowledgeable driver who navigated us through the rest of the tour with his sound knowledge of roads and local laws and conditions.

The drive up from Pahalgam to Gulmarg was on a day that Srinagar was on strike. What could have been a tension-filled ride turned out to be one of our most memorable, thanks to the Himalayan Glacier Tour and Travels company.

Room Tip: Choose ONLY super-deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGR7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#32 of 139 in Srinagar
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#30 of 139 in Srinagar
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel New Mamta
Hotel New Mamta
#42 of 139 in Srinagar
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 139 in Srinagar
1,157 reviews
2.5 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#15 of 139 in Srinagar
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heemal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heemal

Address: Dal Gate, Srinagar, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 139 Hotels in Srinagar
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Hotel Heemal Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing