We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHAHI STAY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
JKTDC Cheshmashahi Huts
Ranked #173 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Guys i went to cheshmashahi huts for 3 nights 4 days and stayed in a 3 BHK.. What an experience it was!! Truly amazing. The view was superb from the balcony. Being a VIP area the cleanliness was up to the mark. However the place is 2 kms away from local srinagar city and Dal lake so we had to come to our huts after having completing our Dnr as there was no local shop/restaurant around that area.

The staff was friendly and courteous, The kitchen was big enough to cook anything however you need to advise the staff beforehand for any cylinder connection.
The heaters and electric blanket are good enough to keep the room warm.

It was a big and spacious hut. The snow in the backyard made our trip a memorable one. Make sure you keep eatables handy with you as its difficult for hotel staff to arrange any eatables because of the VIP area. Everything was upto the mark. A very good place to stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANKIT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

i have to say that i lived in the 1 bhk hut in chesmishahi for 4 nights and what an experince and i love every bit of the place and the ppl ...highly highly recommended...hospitality,ambiance,serivce for me they were the best...

Room Tip: one bhk huts highly recomded...best place to make a fire camp..and grill chicken..the care takers ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunaina212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at one of the JKTDC huts at Chasmashahi, Srinagar for a night in May 2013. Very disappointing experience. One has to go down quite a no. of steps to reach the hut. It had a large sitting area and a dining area which were just about ok. It also had a Dal Lake facing balcony which was serving as a godown for scrap items! One bedroom was Lake facing with a TV but no attached toilet. The second bedroom was small and extremely basic with just a bed as the sole usable furniture. The bed was old with no polish with a shabby bedcover. No cupboards, chairs, tables nothing. Just a broken side table apart from the bed! The whole room had a very worn out and cramped look. The sink in the toilet was not functioning but thankfully the geyser was! One encountered insects both in the bed as well as the toilet since the place is not at all maintained properly. Of course it had a lawn but how many tourists actually spend time in the lawn while visiting new places. JKTDC should take note and renovate the place thoroughly. The hut was not at all worth the tariff that we paid. Wouldn't advise travellers to spend so much money and stay in a place like this. The hotels on the boulevard road in Srinagar offer value for money. In fact Hotel Heemal of JKTDC is a much better option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debarati_SenGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We are stayed here 1bhk hut from 15/04/2013 to 19/04/2013, in a 1BHK hut, having rate @Rs.3500/- per day booked in advance through online booking JKTDC portal.
The room facility have very good, well equiped with room heater, bead heater, but service level of caretaker is little bit poor.
Tourist will be require arrenge their own travelling arrangement, no travelling arrangement provided by JKTDC - as the place situated from approx.10km. from TRC, no formal conveyance available.
Every tourist require to shift to hut by 7:30night, other wise security personnel ask permission. As in between Hut and down point after Tulip Garden Corner Point there have BSF check post, every tourist require to check their luggage and others by BSF in every time when ever you like to up and down that places.

Room Tip: If travellers having their own vehicle - then it is very good place to stay. Otherwise better for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arindam0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The view from the Cottage is Magnificent. We have stayed in Deluxe Cottage # 27, the cottage has 2 bedrooms, one sitting room and a kitchen with all basic required crockery. The cottage offered magnificent view of the Dal Lake, tulip garden, Pari Mahal and the valley. It’s almost 7 KMS from TRC (main Market) of Srinagar. If you travelling with family with no kids then this place is recommended, else stay somewhere near to the Boulevard Road. If you are traveling with a maid who can cook your food then this place is idle. The kitchen has a Gas stove and cylinder is provided at a cost of Rs. 150/- per day.
The place is very remote. They only have one Restaurant (ZYKA- managed by JKTDC) that also is quite a distant from the individual cottages. The Restaurant offer some basic food option and closes down at 8 PM and again reopens at 9AM. You cannot rely on the restaurant.
Maintenance of the Cottages is also very pathetic, (like all government properties). The cottages have two rooms and surprisingly they are not interconnected (God knows how they have designed) and more surprisingly TV is there only in one bedroom and no TV have been provide in the sitting room and 2nd bedroom.
We had a booking for 5 nights from 09.04.2012 to 14.04.2012, but has changed the booking and moved to another JKTDC property in Boulevard Road (Hotel Heemal). We have to make a payment of 25% of the booking amount to make the change of the booking. Still consider lucky that I don’t have to stay in the cottages. I will never recommend the cottages to anybody travelling with small children.

Room Tip: Take a cottage in the left side of the Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sougata12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were in Srinagar in Feb 2012.Weather was pleasant throughout the period.We stayed at Chesmeshahi huts of JKTDC.These huts are next to Cheshmashahi Mughal garden.These huts are of deluxe and super deluxe type.The huts are 2BHK type and very be suitable for a 2 family group.The bed rooms are cozy, warm and insulated with wood.Location of these huts is magnificent and panoramic view of Dal lake and surrounding hills and mounts is just enchanting.Only drawback is restaurant which is open from 10:00 AM to 7:30 PM.For those who want to enjoy tour like a picnic and not averse to cooking,there is facility of kitchen inside the huts.For this purpose, LPG cylinder may be obtained at an extra cost of 150/- per day.One attendant will be at your back and call to cater to your needs.The area is surrounded by BSF,a routine interrogation may be a little irritating.Heating arrangements are very good,they provide electric blankets and room heaters.Nasir Ahamad,the manager at the place, is very cooperative and helpful.

Room Tip: Try the huts that are on the left side of the road from the entrance gate,there are deluxe huts and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshutoshMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.0 mi away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 138 in Srinagar
1,151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#15 of 138 in Srinagar
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel New Mamta
Hotel New Mamta
#41 of 138 in Srinagar
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
0.0 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JKTDC Cheshmashahi Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JKTDC Cheshmashahi Huts

Address: Near Cheshmashahi Garden, Srinagar, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Also Known As:
JKTDC Cheshmashahi Huts Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing