We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super property but deplorable front office, service and food options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Jodhpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super property but deplorable front office, service and food options”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was at the Lalit in May last week for a 3 day trip. The hotel is superbly located over looking the Dal lake , immaculate gardens and heritage looks. My feedback 1. Food options are boring and bland and do not give you a 5 star feel, the Darbar hall is small , crowded and poorly done up. 2. Food is below ordinary, one has to wait for bread for ages to arrive, waiters are fat, poorly dressed up. 2. I would like to mention an ill mannered receptionist who created quite a scene on my checking out, my tour manager was shocked at the hotels shabby behavior, I wanted to speak to the GM , but the staff told that he doesn't meet guests. The executives name was Nalin if i am not wrong. I had filled up a feedback form also but no one till date had the courtesy o call and apologies.

Room Tip: As you face the hotel, left hand side and ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddharth1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Siddharth,

Namaskar!

Thank you for taking time and posting a review.

It was a privilege to have you stay with us at The Lalit Grand Palace, Srinagar.

We are glad to learn that you liked our hotel, location and lawns.

We have taken up your feedback seriously with the concerned teams for a review of our operating procedures, behavior and immediate corrective action thereof. Much as we strive to serve our valued customers with highest and consistent standards of service, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time.

We would certainly make the necessary amendments in this respective area so as to let our valued customers have a pleasant experience always and maintain confidence in the services of our hotel.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

With renewed apologies,

Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    252
    65
    33
    30
See reviews for
512
218
31
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I came to the lalit grand palace in april. The place was huge...with excellent garden... we stayed there for four nights...during which my daughter fell ill..but with the help of the excellent staff of the hotel there was nothing to worry about it at all...special thanks to mr. prince who went out of the way taking real care of us. Even at 12 at night he got medicines for my daughter... the garden breakfast was excellent and spreadout... the food was great too. Would recommend all to visit this property for an excellent time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank varunagarwal6798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Agarwal,

Namaskar !

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to know you we were able to deliver to you the service standards we at the Lalit pride ourselves on. Thank you for your kind words about assistance offered by my team during your daughters illness.Your special mention for Mr. Prince Ray has been shared with them with applaud, he surely is one of our star performers.

It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with limitless hospitality and feedback such as yours motivate us to further enhance the same.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for around 4 days on a holiday. The hotel was basically a palace which got converted into a hotel. The hotel is clean, although he lobby is kind of dull. The rooms are big and clean, and have all the basic amenities you require. But i was kind of let down by the lighting as the combination of lighting inside rooms along with the floor texture, rendered a very dull and dusty kind of look, although the rooms were very clean. Bathroom is ok size compared to the room size, but comes with a bathtub.
Coming to the food, well i didn't order a-la carte, so cant talk about it , but the dinner was toal waste. They charge you 1800₹ per person but the food is not even worth 100₹. Avoid it ! Instead go to krishna dhaba, its much better . For the breakfast, well its completely opposite of dinner, and i mean it, you dont want to avoid it at all .
Staff is very courteous and you will feel like a "raja" . A very beautiful garden with dal lake in the backdrop can be enjoyed during the summers.
Overall i would rate my experience there as good, but i have heard from many people including my father that the Vivanta by Taj is better.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with windows overlooking the Dal lake, it definitely adds to the aethetics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mr. Prakash,

Namaskar !

Thank you for taking time and posting a review post your stay with us at The Lalit Grand Palace, Srinagar.

We are glad to learn that you liked the location and overall feel of the property. And we have have taken up your feedback regarding the food options with the team for possible corrective action. Much as we strive to serve our valued customers with highest and consistent standards of service, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations for dinner, however we are glad that you relished the breakfast spread.

Your appreciation for the courteousness of our team members is appreciated.

I am sure that you will offer us an opportunity to serve you accordingly soon.

With Regards,

Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is a majestic property which is very well maintained. The palace of the erstwhile Maharaja has been converted into a hotel without destroying the royal character of the property. The rooms are nice, cosy, comfortable, clean and well maintained. The lawn & the garden is far larger and more well maintained than the famous Mughal Gardens of Srinagar. The lush green garden & lawns offers a majestic view of the Dal lake and mountains.The service is prompt and courteous. The range of the buffet in Breakfast and Dinner is sumptuous. Chef Mr. Subhadeep Bhattacharya was always there at the buffet to take feedback and each one of the item placed in the buffet was fantastic. Buffets had good mix of Indian and continental food. Ground floor rooms in annexe building offers easy access to the lawns. Its heavenly place to stay at the heaven on earth. I'll surely like to go back there again.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms in the annexe building has easy access to the Lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeelXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr. Neel,

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for choosing The LaLiT Grand Palace Srinagar, on your trip to the valley.

Your word of compliments are unsurpassed. Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to show case our hospitality and we are pleased to hear you have had a memorable stay. We all as a team feel proud to be the part of such a outstanding property.

We look forward to welcoming you back in not the distance future.

Best regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'll start by saying I'm a big fan of gulmarg and Srinagar. The kashmiri culture is one of the most welcoming and charming of the world. Their sense of welcome and hospitality cannot be matched. The beauty of the people is matched only by the beauty of their state.

This said, after many years, I've seen many properties in the india. There are literally hundreds if not a thousand different choices and we've stayed from the highest to the lowest.

On this years trip, ( we are creatures of habit and tend to revisit properties we like ) we decided to experience one old haunt and two new ones. We selected lalit and heevan

From the minute you arrive, the reception by the staff is always a precursor to the final experience and I knew right away we were in for a treat. The place is too good... you can get sucked into the property itself, the rooms are really cool and lots to keep you inside, but venture out and you will find one pool. Great food and views... the grounds are excellently kept.....


To the staff of the lalit grand palace ..... KUDOS... you guys know how to run an truly 5 Star experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yadavsatish895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mr. Yadav,

Namaskar !

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your valuable feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The choice of the words of appreciation for the valley, people, the hotel and the staff is a treat to read. The location, staff, indoor temperature controlled pool and food as rightly pointed by you, do indeed set the mood for a truly wonderful stay. I am glad to learn that the team at The LaLiT Grand Palace Srinagar excelled in enhancing your stay experience. They have been applauded for the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to The LaLiT Grand Palace Srinagar.

Warm Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jammu City, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Have been staying at the Lalit over the years, but must say that my two stays this year have been qualitatively better then all my earlier stays. There is a visible improvement in the house keeping; much quicker and better. Food quality and service is a lot lot better too. Service is quicker and for the first time in years there is adequate staff.
Having said that the pillows still continue to be ultra soft and one has to ask for firmer pillows every time !
Will be there again next week and will update in my next review.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vikuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Namaskar !

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripasvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have seen marked improvement in all aspects of service from your previous stays. I have applauded my team for this wonderful feedback of yours.

Regarding your feedback about the pillows, I am happy to share that we are installing Pillow Protectors in all our rooms that enhance the shape and feel of the pillows, I am certain that you will find a marked improvement in the same on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to The LaLiT Grand Palace Srinagar.

Warm Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to drink when in sri nagar Value for money the best and safest place to relax
Beautifull gardens the walk from the main gate to the reception will only make you feel tht ur in
heaven. Visit once and i assure u would go again and again when in srinagar

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLGP, General Manager at The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mr. Priyank,

Namaskar !

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is the constant endeavor of our well trained and guest focused team to anticipate your needs and deliver exceptional service.

I am happy that the feeling of being safe and getting the value for money will tempt you to return soon to The LaLiT Grand Palace Srinagar.

Thanks & Regards
Jagdeep Nambiar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
3.8 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 135 in Srinagar
357 reviews
3.5 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
3.5 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#30 of 135 in Srinagar
461 reviews
3.4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
3.1 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar

Property: The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Address: Gupkar Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLit Grand Palace was originally built in 1901 for the royal family. It now provides luxurious rooms with views of Dal Lake and the beautiful gardens. An indoor pool, tennis courts and pampering spa treatments are also available.The tastefully designed rooms are modern with a touch of traditional charm. All have a satellite TV, minibar and free tea/coffee making facilities. It is 18 km from Srinagar Airport and 4 km from Lal Chowk city centre. Jammu Railway Station is 300 km away. Guests can enjoy a relaxing massage at Rejuve Spa Health Club, practice yoga, or play golf. The hotel also has a gym and 24-hour business center. The Chinar Garden serves North Indian cuisine, while international buffet spreads are available at The Chinar – The All Day Coffee Shop. Other dining options include Dal Bar and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing