We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$28
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wangnoo Houseboats(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
US$49
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Hotel New Mamta(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$26
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
New Golden Flower Heritage Houseboat(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hillscape Inn(Srinagar)
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$47
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zamrud(Srinagar)
US$68
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Kaisar(Srinagar)
US$33
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
757
261
68
34
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
261
68
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinar treesnew winggarden restaurantsprawling gardensbeautiful propertythe ground floor roomsheated poolthe cottagesroyal experienceduty managerbuffet breakfastheaven on earthamazing locationf bspecial thanksfront officecourteous staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Lalit Grand Palace, Srinagar is one of the best palaces I have stayed in recent times. The regal ambience with a grand expanse of garden of apple orchard, chinar trees amongst a wonderful lawn. We stayed in the new block for two nights. It is a wonderful experience. The executive chef, Mr. Pranab Barua took personal care of us at the Chinar restaurant. Mr. Biju and Rajiv at the spa took special care of us to rejuvenate us as we had come to lalit after amarnath yatra. The palace is interwined with history as the tree under which Mahatma Gandhi met Maharaja Hari Singh and the Maharani along with the then Prince Karan Singh is preserved well. The services were outstanding. I want to visit once again to experience winter.

Room Tip: Choose in the ground floor of the new wing. You can walk into the garden from there.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BandepalliRamkrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The name says it all… It truly is a grand hotel. Beautiful, peaceful grounds overlooking Dal Lake. I was in the older section of the hotel in a suite which was quite large and well equipped. All the services at this hotel are great and the food is absolutely fantastic. Would stay here again and again. I miss Kashmir and The Lalit already…

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar. The name evokes a regal ambience. The grounds justify it - lots of perfectly manicured lawns, chinar trees, apple orchards, lovely . The rooms justify it, if you are in old wing (Deluxe Suite), spacious and well equipped. We were in the new wing. The tour of the palace (ask for it) with all the intrigue of an underground tunnel (now blocked for security reasons) all the way to the Dal lake is fun, the evening buffet is reasonably lavish, the Spa is underwhelming as it is just a massage room (no more). The swimming pool is a decent indoor pool. Why then is this review titled "The Dark Side". Because under all the razzmatazz lies a little deception. The service charge (on virtually everything you may sign for) is pocketed by the Hotel and not distributed to the staff. Petty, shabby and small minded. If the Lalit chain aspires to be up there as a great chain it needs better HR practices. It is not enough to get great properties if you have a staff which resents the management and rats you out, not once but several times during my stay. I got this confirmed, reconfirmed and again. The staff tries hard but is clearly under trained and under staffed and raw. Certainly bitter. On the plus side of course are the glorious grounds and its location, a short walk from the Boulevard along side the Dal Lake. The response from the Hotel management on this issue was silence. Hence this review.

Room Tip: If you are in the new wing take the ground floor rooms. You can step out into its gorgeous lawns from your room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nelumbokamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was the nicest place where i stayed t was luxury with culture. staff was too polite and more than happy to help . Services were just great. The property is beautifully maintained with trees and garden. I can actually spend all my vacation not moving out of the property and still enjoy the nature at its best.

Room Tip: Try to get into the newer building
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gannitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

It was good stay, out there in your place. I was mesmerized by the arrangement and the services provided there. Cost effectiveness was also observed. I will remember the stay there. I wish to be here again.Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Komal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews