We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but quaint”
Review of Nigeen Lake

Nigeen Lake
Ranked #4 of 71 things to do in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small but quaint”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Seemed more polluted than Dal Lake but may have been the area we were looking at it from. Lot of seaweed. More homely than Dal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiranm450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    306
    98
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An excellent place for Romance”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

An excellent place for romance and crystal clear water with scenic beauty, small shikaras and cool air, but careful about getting cheated while hiring shikara.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dranirbandasgupta665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Only for the peace lovers!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Who wants peace, when I Srinagar!!!

When I go to a destination, I want to see the real place. Srinagar is all about dal lake, houseboats, shikara(a type of boat), the people, food, the mountains, the weather & everything kashmiri!

It was my first time in Kashmir & I wanted to make the most of it. I wanted to be in action, where all the drama was & not in some quite place where I couldn't feel the essence of Kashmir!

No doubt Nagin lake is beautiful & all of that. But in my opinion people stay here only when they are out of choice on dal lake. Even in dal lake, there are houseboats where one can find their peace, away from the roars of the tourists. You just need to do a lot of research & choose the right place! And the best thing to do is come on tripadvisor & choose wisely!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very serene and less crowded”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While its about 8 km from the central city and much smaller than the Dal lake, Nagin is much less crowded and offers a lovely view of rolling hills and also the Hari Parbat fort. much lesser houseboats and shikaras here. there are lovey parks adjoining the lake which are good for morning walks, if you stay in the houseboats.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank unni_menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My new family in srinagar”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Lily of Nageen on 23rd March to 25th March. Initially we had booked for only one night but we loved the place so much we extended our stay. Ajaz arranged the travel for us as per our requirements. The meals cooked by the Karnai family were sumptuous not to forget the kahwa made by Simi. Uncle Aunty kids become our family in the two days.
Coming to the house boat we had it to ourselves. It is spacious with a living room, dining room, two bedrooms which are huge. The bedrooms have separate bed for the kids hence a family of four can easily stay in one room. The food is cooked to your requirements and requests according to individual preferences. No comprises are made to the quality and quantity. The sit out on the outside of the house boat is very tempting to sit with a good book in hand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skylight873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nigeen Lake also viewed

Srinagar, Srinagar District
Srinagar, Srinagar District
 
Srinagar, Srinagar District
Srinagar, Srinagar District
 

Been to Nigeen Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing