We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Grand Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grand Mahal
Ranked #27 of 353 Srinagar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Its been pleasant to stay there, nice accommodation, very comfortable. Food is also very good. Service provided by the hotel is very nice. I will stay again here if any time i will visit srinagar.

Apurv

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apurv_Saurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

It is very good to stay at night after whole day traveling and sight-seeing. The rooms fitted with stylish bath luxury are very nice.The dinner is very good but the break-fast menu is little bit short. Hospitality offered by all the members of the hotel is very warm.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tripathip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in Hotel Grand Mahal for 2 days, and it was a fantastic experience. We spent the whole day traveling and sight-seeing, and it was an absolute relief to come back to hot running water, and very soft, comfortable beds. The food was very good, and the staff made us feel very welcome. Apart from all of this, the decor was absolutely to die for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavitra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Awesome Rooms and Comfortable Stay..A little Cleaniliness will be appreciated..Overall good food and experience...A good Place to stay for Family and Couples...The Games for Children and good..a Swimming pool is missing which would add great value to the Hotel..All in all its a little far from the Dal Lake and Mail City Centre but its Peaceful and Safe and a fun place..

Room Tip: Take the SUite Room...Its Amazing....the Food is Awesome...Goood Place to Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinesh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Experinced Warm Hospitality.Found Worth to Stay whenever visiting Srinagar. Very cooperative staff. Ambience of Hotel is amazing and warm. Worth Staying in these Hotel.Very Good Hotel.Every Small reasons are taken care.

Room Tip: Always Ask For Mr. Abid.....Worthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nayan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

What impressed me is all the staff were fluent in English. A definite plus point. Service by staff at reception, porter was very good. Rooms were quite decent. We got upgraded to super deluxe since the deluxe rooms weren't available. However the room we got was facing the road. There is no A/C in the room. This was disappointing because suddenly at night it would become very hot which meant we had to open the window. Bathroom was
Spacious and clean.

The restaurant at the hotel was pretty much empty. What disappointed me was during the week the menu was a-la-carte considering the hotel had full occupancy. From ordering to food arrival took 20 mins. The restaurant was not temperature controlled and as a result we were feeling quite cold. They had no portable heaters as well. Food was pretty decent. They had only 3 staff. We pre-ordered our breakfast order after dinner so that we wouldn't have to wait around the next day for the food to arrive. It was a shame the restaurant had no music to keep the guests entertained. The deco all around the hotel was beautiful. Friday evening the restaurant had a buffet but the selections wasn't great. FYI - the hotel didn't have menus at the restaurant neither did they have the menus in the room for room
Service. You could order all your meals in the room though at no charge. I prefer seating at a table. The fact the restaurant had 3 staff meant they were not good at handling more guests in the restaurant. There was an International couple at another table who were waiting for 10 mins for water to arrive at their table considering it was only them and us in the restaurant. A tip- if you have toast and tea together at breakfast than tell them to bring it together. They tend to bring the toast first which gets cold by the time they are preparing the tea. Best also to ask for buttered toast.

I recommend the hotel. However if you are looking for an up-class hotel than I suggest Taj which is located on a hilltop and you can get an awesome view of the Dal lake. However the rooms will cost you twice as much excluding food.

Overall good hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masterp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

this is a nice hotel..with excellent service.it is centrally-located and the food is delicious.rooms are neat and tidy...overall experience was good.you dont have to go far from this hotel for local sight seing to dal lake,shalimar bagh or nishat bagh.
but the location is not very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99,100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hillscape Inn
Hillscape Inn
#35 of 136 in Srinagar
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Brown Palace
Hotel Brown Palace
#42 of 136 in Srinagar
114 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#53 of 136 in Srinagar
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#16 of 136 in Srinagar
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
6.3 mi away
Hotel Spring Hills
Hotel Spring Hills
#31 of 136 in Srinagar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Mahal

Address: Shalimar Road, Srinagar 191121, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Srinagar
Price Range: £23 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Mahal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Mahal Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing