We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb....”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is in naagin lake. Away from hustle of dal lake.
U have to take a shiksa area from one end of dal. Which is so soothing when u first reach the place.

The boat upkeep is excellent. Their are all services available such as fridge, TV etc.
The boat which we stayed in was number 5 had two rooms.one was normal and other was a suite.

The views are so calming. The Gurkha ones are considered the best in houseboats there.
The food was good and the staff was also courteous.

There in total of 6 houseboats of Gurkha with all of them having a common kitchen where the cooking happens and is brought to the boat for serving

Also they do accept credit cards for final payments. As one wonders wether they would accept in a middle of a houseBoat :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rajat131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    102
    32
    6
    2
See reviews for
215
79
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Roma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Everything is perfect: the meals, the location, the service. The view is breathtaking. We knew the director, mr. Rafiq Wangnoo, in his shop, where you can buy carpets, pashmina etc... I will come back to buy the shatush, it's a promise. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabellacapolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The houseboat is located on Lake Nagin, the quieter and more peaceful of the lakes. The facilities are idyllic and the food and service impeccable. Shikaras can be organized to visit the villages around the lakes or the fruit and vegetable market in the early morning. Maybe better still, lie out on the deck and read or watch the world glide by. We could not fault the service which was attentive but not overbearing, the food at the meals was great, local Kasmiri dishes served fresh to the table. It was serene and idyllic; we did not want to leave after three days.

Room Tip: There were three double en-suite bedrooms on the boat - we did not see the other bedrooms but ours w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Wilson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It is my 2nd stay in Gurkha Houseboat. I visited this houseboat after almost 5years & nothing has changed.. I enjoyed same as last time.. First Time, I was with my Family for 2nights & this time for 1nights with my friends (on the way to Leh).. Their food is really good.. Staff is very freindly & services are excellent.. I would specially like to say thanks to Mr. Riyaz .. If you don't want the crowded place then you should avoid DAL lake & Should stay at Nagin lake. You will really enjoy the Houseboat, view..Thanks to entire team of Gurkha & would meet again in Winter..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navinbpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Came with the extended family and booked 16 rooms. Excellent place and great fun! Good service and excellent serene location. Looking forward to maybe another visit when it's winter! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantanujain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had an amazing experience at gurkha houseboat. Mr iqbal and mr shaukat were very nice and humble. We were a group of 40 people. Each and everyone was very well served.
Thanks alot to the entire staff and management of GURKHA HOUSEBOATS

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good accommodation, very helpful staff: From Shaukat who professionally and ably supervised our trip, to our server Irfan, and our Driver Tariq, lovely people, who did a lot to make things happen for us. From the Shikara rides to the beautiful destinations within and outside Srinagar, this made a memorable family holiday. Despite the occasional security worries that prove unfounded, we had a great time. Thank you!

Room Tip: In hot months try and find a room with good ventilation. Preferable to book the whole boat to not ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaelSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.1 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
0.1 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.2 mi away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#15 of 133 in Srinagar
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
3.4 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
3.0 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 133 in Srinagar
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats

Property: WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
Address: Opp. Nagin Club, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#7 Family Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A houseboat on a placid lake ringed by flowering trees is by far one of the most attractive choices for accomodation. It sets the tone and pace for a visit to this ethereal city and WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats on the Nagin Lake is an amalgamation of all that is the last word in pampered comfort, elegant lavishness and abiding romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurkha Houseboats Hotel Srinagar
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing