We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bloomingdale - one of the best i”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bloomingdale - one of the best i”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

After much surfing I found out about bloomingdale, with majority of the positive reviews , my husband & I decided to stay in this place. The way everything was handled, we didnt feel any stress during our vacation.Picked us up from the airport, took us all around as per itenary , right from the start everything was well organized. Mr.firdous the owner is a well learned and travelled gentleman. He gave us many insights about Kashmir and also on where to go, where to shop etc. The two chefs in the house was amazing, the food was so yummy, everything was accomodated according to our needs. Thanks to the amazing hospitality and we look forward to return to Bloomingdale again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neeraj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    78
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
159
66
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Although it was one of the pricier places we have stayed, I think Kashmir is generally a bit more expensive and therefore Bloomingdale was well worth it. The food was great and well priced, the rooms were comfortable and clean but the best thing was our host. He was incredibly hospitable, showing us around his beloved town free of charge and introducing us to local tea shops and bakeries etc that we otherwise may never have found. He was full of information and generally very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seira h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Booking:-
My wife and I needed a place to stay in Srinagar for one night (Jan 2014) and we decided to stay at Blooming Dale based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. The booking process was easy - all we had to do was to call the reservation number and send an email. I received the confirmation mail within 15 minutes.

Location:-
Like many reviewers said, this hotel is just a stone's throw from Dal Lake. We had absolutely no problem locating the hotel.

The Best Part:-
Upon our arrival, we were welcomed by Mr. Firdous Ahmad and his wonderful staff with delicious Kashmiri Kahwah and cookies. As we started talking, both my wife and I were surprised by Mr. Firdous' extremely friendly and amicable nature. Realizing that we had only one day in Srinagar, Mr. Firdous graciously offered to show us around the city for a couple of hours. As we drove up the hill to the Shankaracharya Temple, we were tremendously impressed by Mr. Firdous' knowledge, kindness, passion and exuberance. Mr. Firdous led us on lovely treks on the mountain, taking us through beautiful and less-frequented paths and showing us breath-taking views of the city. After this lovely experience, Mr. Firdous took us on a foot trip on the Jhelum banks and drove us to two beautiful and serene mosques in Srinagar. Eventually, we ended up spending the entire day with Mr. Firdous. There are few people in your life who impress you so much by their openness and broad-mindedness - Mr. Firdous is one such character. We were completely bowled over by his friendship, warmth, hospitality and kindness. His vast array of stories, tells you a lot about life in the Kashmir valley. I would very highly recommend Hotel Blooming Dale. I have traveled to many cities in India and abroad, and have never enjoyed my stay at a hotel so much.

Other Pros:
- The two resident cooks are very good and can prepare delicious food to order
- The hotel is very cost-effective
- The rooms are equipped with electric heaters and electric blanket that keep you warm and cozy during winters
- The hotel has an excellent cable TV subscription

All in all, we had an unbelievably amazing stay in the hotel. Many thanks to Mr Firdous and his team. I am hoping to return to Srinagar soon, and cannot think of a better place to stay than this gem of a place!

Room Tip: If travelling in winter, the rooms on the ground floor are warmer and cosier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sgunjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had traveled in December 2013, during cold winter days, But still our stay was very comfortable and nice,
People
Mr. Firdous and people working in the Hotel are excellent and are very hospitable, They make u feel at home. Mr. Firdous himself took us on a couple of days to tour Srinagar and we were able to see places a normal tourist would have missed to notice. His team is also very polite and courteous.

Location
Hotel is located in a by-lane on Boulevard Road, hence it is 2 mins walking to main area on the road and Dal lake, There are lots of restaurants and shops 2 mins from the hotel.

Hotel and room
Hotel is not five star but has all amenities that u need to spend a good time. Hot water, Clean rooms, Electric blankets and heater (very imp since we visited in winter).

Food (Mostly we had non veg)
We had breakfast everyday at the hotel and food quality is very good, my wife still marvels at the methi parathas she had there. We had lunch and dinner a few time and food was very good and at par to the well knows restaurants in Srinagar.

Overall
In Conclusion if u are looking at hotels in Srinagar, This should be your first choice. The differentiation is not the hotel but people who run it. we would never think about staying anywhere else but here when we visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sujan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Blooming Dale was recommended to us by a family friend in Kerala. We, a family of 5 people, stayed there for 4 nights. Mr. Firdaus and his team at the Hotel won our hearts over by their amicable nature and extreme efforts to make our Kashmir visit unforgettable.

When we did not like one of the rooms initially offered to us, we were immediately shown other rooms and given the freedom to choose the one we liked the best. During our stay, we did not have to worry about anything, right from food to taxi, sight seeing, shopping and booking cable car tickets. Another advantage of staying at Blooming Dale is that Dal lake is just a few minutes walk away.

For our visit to Gulmarg, Mr. Firdaus even drew us a map of the place to ensure that we are not cheated by pony riders. The chauffeur too was extremely helpful, guiding us during each phase of our journey. It would be unfair if I do not mention how, each time we returned to the hotel, we used to eagerly look forward for a hot cup of kahwa and yummy cookies.

While our conversations with Mr. Firdaus ranged from the scenic beauty of Kashmir to skiing and literature, his son impressed us with his photography skills.

Really felt at home! I recommend this place to anyone looking for a simple, peaceful and economical stay in Srinagar :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A_J0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had booked this place on the basis of reviews of other people on Trip advisor. This review and the place is all about Mr Firdaus, his personal touch to make you feel at home, his genuine try to make your stay comfortable, his passion for Kashmir and Kind heartedness to ensure you get a glimpse of kashmir as a part of it and not as a guest makes it worthwhile to stay at Bloomingdale. We felt like we were being driven around in the city of Srinagar with an old friend not a hotel owner. He also takes care of taxi and other travel related services ast a very economical costs. We love travelling and arranging everything on our own to be economical, but we left it on Mr Firdaus for travel this time and didnt regret a bit . Thanks Mr Firdaus and team for a memorable stay and a heartwarming experience . Appreciate it.

Room Tip: rooms on the 1st floor give more privacy. This place is not for views or rooms , Its for experiencin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WanderlustJigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I choose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor ratings.

The first experience of booking the accommodation through phone was pleasant. Firdous was warm and welcoming.

The airport pickup was hassle free and the check in process was quick.

The experience I had during the 3 day and 2 night stay in the property was excellent.

Here is a quick summary of the plus and the not-so plus

Big Plus:
1. Hospitality.Warm. Friendly. Genuine.
2. Food. Simple, homely and delicious. Dont forget to savour the namkeen tea and Qawah
3. Accessibility to Dal Lake. (3 min walk to Ghat 2 in Boulevard road of Dal Lake)
4. Travel and tourism tips from Firdous. He understands the tourist needs much better.
5. Absolute Value for Money.

Not-so plus

1. The lighting can be brighter in the rooms. The cold weather and the colour combination of the upholstery in the room, makes it feel even more colder.

2. Heating insulation. The room turns cold within few minutes the heater is turned off. Since, it is my first experience in traveling to a place with near zero deg. Celsius, I can not say if it could be the same experience in other properties.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vishy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.8 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 131 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Batoo
Hotel Royal Batoo
#17 of 131 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#30 of 131 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages

Property: Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Address: Dalgate,Buchwara | Buchwara, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Family Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLOOMING DALE is located in the heart of Srinagar just 2 - 3 minutes walk from world famous Dal Lake.Our rooms are spacious and the baths neat and spotless. Food is served with great sense of hospitality and strictly as per choice of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing