We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Nested Property”
Review of Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful Nested Property”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Well let me start the review with my 2 cents
“If you are a traveler who likes to be around the happening places & have all the shopping/attractions around you, well then you are at a wrong place.
This so called property is nested right at the banks of "Nigeen Lake" which is quite scenic & placed like a jewel.

Will try to share the details as much possible
Hotel: It is family owned legacy property, which few years back was converted into a hotel; Owner's father still lives there. This property has approx. 14 rooms, most of them being same, barding some which are classified as suites. One would love to sit and have Tea & coffee in the lawns (facing the lake) and the first floor common area (as it gives the fabulous view of houseboats & Mountains)
Room: Well almost everything which we could see was of wood, so no complains there, being a boutique hotel I would say that rooms were worth being compared to 5star rooms (Only miss being no bath tub) else it had everything one can ask for. Hence the pricing of the room is neither cheap nor too expensive. We found it worthy enough. Only 2-3 rooms have partial view of Lake. Also the rooms have mini fridge but they don’t have a mini bar or any snacks (better buy them on your way to hotel)
Food: Well that’s one of the USP, they have buffet all across all meals & believe me it’s the most killing part, we ate 4 meals out of 6 in our 2 day stay, and compared to food we ate outside the hotel buffet was on the better side.
Misc. : Well we got the airport pick & drop arranged from the hotel guys, we found it cheap for a AC invona they charged INR700(each side). We took the shikaar from hotel itself (banks of nigeen lake) which took us from there to Dal lake (via golden & silver lake) it was the best part of stay, as one usually only stops at Dal lake & takes a shikaar ride for a hour, but our was a 4hr ride from Hotel to Dal Lake (vis a vis), if you have the time then don’t miss this, these 4 hrs. one will cherish for his/her lifetime. Charges for Shikaar are fixed at INR 400 (per hour).

Improvement area: Although i have no complains, but as an improvement, we didn't find property having much of recreational activities, forget about having any TT table or billiards, when asked for some board games all they had was a very old chess board (that too only in common area) & very shabby condition Monopoly. Hence if you have kids better bring-in your own stuff.

Summary: I did lot of research while booking this hotel. hence have no regrets because a good hotel or houseboat in Srinagar will easily cost INR 5000 a night, hence paying 2k extra (approx.) per night is worthy enough to stay at this beautiful property.

Room Tip: Well there are only 2 -3 lake view room (that too partial) we stayed in one of them, room No 10 Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puneet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    96
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
184
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

excellent property - which is managed very well . we were four couples and went to srinagar in august 2013 for three days out of which we stayed in Dar es Salam hotel for one night . The stay was very pleasant . the best part of the stay was the food which was the best we had in srinagar . we also stayed in Taj Srinagar after our stay here but the pleasant experience and care of this hotel even left the above average service of Taj behind

Room Tip: pl request for a room with lake or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajguruira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel in Jul 2013 for 3 nights. We were on family holiday with parents and little kids.
Its a beautiful boutique hotel and can be described as a home away from home.
The owner Mr. Khurram was very polite and welcoming. The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful.
Its a beautiful property , very elegant at an excellent location.It has beautifully maintained laws and the food was the best part of the hotel .
Overall a memorable stay and I definitely recommned the hotel to my fellow travellors for the value for money that it brings with it.
I will definitely go back to the hotel given a choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docritika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A place to stay is an understatement for this Quaint and Heavenly place situated on the banks of Nagin lake in Srinagar. You dont get to experience such place often. We stayed here for 3 days during our visit to the valley from 6th August 2013. The ancestral house of the Hussian family has been converted into a Botique Hotel and the best part about it is that the Original character of the place has been kept intact. The Interiors of the place are something which will sweep you off your feet. Every nook and corner of the entire place will make you stop and look. The staff of this place will go out of their way to make you feel at home and take care of your smallest need. The Garden will make you not leave the place at all. It is like having a private lake for the property. We would love to go back and highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Kashmir. I would like to rate this property at 5 stars but for the F & B service. The food is great undoubtedly but the absense of an Ala Carte menu and choice in bevarages is somehting the Management needs to take a serious look at.

Room Tip: If you get a choice, take the room number 6 on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wow it is a property you will fall in love with. Not a typical hotel but a home away from home. Great hospitality, great attitude and fantastic location where the garden extends to the edge of the Nagin Lake.It is the ancestral house of the owners which has been converted into a Boutique property which has an Aura that makes you at home.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good but the ones overlooking the front garden are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddharth1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed at Dar es Salam for 3 days (End of Jaly -13),
Not only is the hotel situated on the bank of Nagin Lake, it's well kept garden is right besides Lotus farms.
The staff is extremely cordial & Helpful
The food deserves a special mention here ,
In our 10-12 Days of Stay in Kashmir we didn't come across any place with food nearly as good
I would highly recommend a stay if you are visiting Srinagar
If you wish to enjoy the Garden 7 the lake in the evening , make sure you are loaded with a mosquito repellent

Room Tip: Lake Facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erode, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the property from 16th to 18th July, 2013. It was a blissful experience. Food & service were excellent. But cleanliness was beyond par - rooms and toilets were spic and span. Well maintained property. Would highly recommend Hotel Dar-Es-Salam to anyone who wants to experience pristine Kashmir.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umayavalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.7 mi away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#9 of 135 in Srinagar
357 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
0.7 mi away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#30 of 135 in Srinagar
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
0.6 mi away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar-Es-Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar-Es-Salam

Property: Hotel Dar-Es-Salam
Address: Nagin lake, Srinagar 190003, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar-Es-Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Dar-Es-Salam Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing