We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely”
Review of Hotel Madhuban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Madhuban
Ranked #57 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Vadodara
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We really experienced the bye line of the Hotel - Home Away from Home......Great Reception followed by personalised service . The Room Service was always with a smile.Service beyond the Menu was great.Location is great. A walk lees than 50 mtrs away from Boulevard is a great plus.Children love the event of evening stroll for an ice cream on Boulevard .....A well priced,suitably located and a great personalised service sums up the high points of the Hotel...

Room Tip: If travelling with a group, ask for rooms with balcony....great place to have fun with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashok D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASIMWANI, Owner at Hotel Madhuban, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you. Wish to have your company at our Hotel in the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is very neatly and beautifully maintained . The lawn , garden and the flowers are sure to attract your attention . The rooms are nicely decorated , too . We were in a deluxe room . It was just enough big . The bathroom had continuous supply of hot water , and was quite neatly done . There is absolutely no view from the room . But , you can enjoy the garden and sit under the umbrella with a book . The Dal Lake is just 2 minutes walk with a ghat right in front for shikaras . Food was very tasty but vegetarian only . Options are available very close by . A room facing the garden on the first floor should be preferred . Wifi facility is not available for free , you have to buy a prepaid card for 100 rupees or so ... quite acceptable .
Overall , we had a pleasant stay at this hotel , and would be glad to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuparnaMBhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASIMWANI, Owner at Hotel Madhuban, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you. Wish to have your company at our Hotel in the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel Madhuban is well-located- about a five minutes' walk from Dal Lake. Since it isn't on the Boulevard Road, it doesn't have much of a view to speak of, but because it is slightly tucked away, it is a in quieter place and also well-priced. We had booked directly with the hotel after speaking to Mr Wasim, who was extremely polite and courteous at all occasions.

We were 4 ladies traveling and had booked two adjacent rooms for two nights. The staff was courteous and helpful. On our request, they unlocked the inside door connecting the two rooms, hence making our stay easier and better. On certain occasions, they even provided room service (which they don't usually do), as one among us was not feeling quite well.

We had ordered deluxe rooms, which were slightly larger than the standard rooms. There was also an adjoining balcony with each room, which was a bonus! The beds were ordinary though- don't expect any soft comforts there. The bedding and blankets were not quite clean. The bathroom was clean and offered running hot water.

All in all a good stay for the money we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piyushi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASIMWANI, Owner at Hotel Madhuban, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you. Wish to have your company at our Hotel in the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is handily near the lake. Our room was large and airy and had a nice view over the gardens at the front. Food was good. Staff were rather unsmiling, but efficient. The owner was very helpful, and let us use his phone when our pre-paid mobiles didn't work in Kashmir. Five of the lights in our room weren't working when we arrived, but when we told the owner they were speedily fixed. The main negative was the lack of cleanliness - the room had been very superficially cleaned, and the bathroom especially would have benefited from a good scrubbing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Dawdlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASIMWANI, Owner at Hotel Madhuban, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you. Wish to have your company at our Hotel in the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I loved staying at the hotel.
The staff was very hospitable and helpful. Clean rooms. Heated blankets available. And the food was wonderful. Infact food was very very good. BUT! The food gets cold as soon as it is served due to extreme cold weather. So you need to be quick to eat your meals!

Comfort from hotel staff and rooms was exactly what we were looking for. It makes or breaks a vacation. Most of the day we were traveling. Returning from a tired long day, it was really comforting to be back home. Staff treated us very well. The owner is around most of the day looking after the operations, doesn't let the staff go lazy.

Hot water was available in the mornings till 11.00am. We just wished for it to be available at nights as well to have a light bath before sleeping. But then, it wasn't such a big deal of having or not having a bath before sleeping.

Madhuban is definitely gonna be a place for me to stay again!

Room Tip: We took the ground floor room which has a garden attached. Easy to load - unload luggage. Nice garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiteshVirdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASIMWANI, Owner at Hotel Madhuban, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you. Wish to have your company at our Hotel in the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nice place. Rooms are spacious. Location is good...walking distance from dal lake. Staffs are very friendly and the food is simple, good and tasty. Room service is very good. I would definitely recommend this place to other tourists.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmaAshok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASIMWANI, Owner at Hotel Madhuban, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you. Wish to have your company at our Hotel in the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Fantastic Hotel,Fantastic Owner and most importantly he gave us a beautiful room with a balcony.Two min walk from dal lake,there are numerous eateries around ....just in case u do not like the veg food provided .HIGHLY RECOMENDED.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kun1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASIMWANI, Owner at Hotel Madhuban, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you. Wish to have your company at our Hotel in the nearest future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Hotel Kashmir
Swiss Hotel Kashmir
#12 of 135 in Srinagar
202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Welcome Residency
Welcome Residency
#38 of 135 in Srinagar
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#18 of 135 in Srinagar
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#37 of 135 in Srinagar
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
#40 of 135 in Srinagar
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blooming Dale Hotel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madhuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madhuban

Property: Hotel Madhuban
Address: Nehru Park - Gagribal | Boulevard Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madhuban 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In nature's spleandour, all the comforts of homely living. A home away from home in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Madhuban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madhuban Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing