We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”
Review of Hotel Vikram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vikram
Ranked #72 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple of days in vikram hotel which is situated center of city. Stay was very nice since manager and staff was very down to earth persons. There is no fear of being in srinagar as it is guarded by crpf staff.hotel is well furnished and garden is awesome to enjoy the natural beauty.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Shaik U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had read reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor & booked this hotel from their website. It is a economic hotel & was in my budget. We were 4 adults & 2 kids & I booked 2 rooms. The Location is very inside in narrow lanes. When we reached there the Main Gate of the Hotel was Closed & CRPF Constables were on the Gate. We were a little bit scared why there was so much security. When we asked them to Open the gate, Then one waiter from inside the hotel come & took us inside. Later I came to know that 1st & 2nd Floor of the hotel was permanently rented to CRPF. They were doing some "Bhajan" & lot of noise was there.
Mr. Vikram informed us on our arrival that there is no electricity so Giesers are not working but you will get hot water in buckets. We got the hot water from him as promised.
Phone inside the Room was not working so everytime I wanted something I had to go to reception & ask for it.
We were asked what will we have in Dinner at morning 9:00 itself.
All in all was not so good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I traveled to Srinagar in june 2013 for sightseeing and arrived at Hotel Vikram located at Mandir Bagh ,Gaw Kadal, in the very heart of the city. It is a short walking distance of about half km from a big market destination of Lal Chowk and just 2 km from the famous scenic Dal Lake. It has been a very pleasant experience because the ambience is that of having arrived at another home away from your home. Once inside, you are warmly welcomed by energetic, courteous, prompt and efficient staff at the hotel. Having no frills or fuss, it gives you a simple, neat and clean atmosphere which is a true value for money. The rooms are well kept, tidy, simple and lively and have a tariff of INR 1500 per day. The rooms have attached bath and Geysers, Television, telephone etc. Wifi internet connection is available at the hotel. The view from the room into the garden is grand and gives a bird's eye view glimpse of the rose garden having lovely variety of beautiful roses. The lawn is well manicured and lush green with a fair population of chirping birds and house sparrows. A very giant old majestic Chinar tree in the campus is the abode of these numerous birds which happily chirp in chorus every morning and evening as a flock. The dining hall and lounge are large and spacious with a comfortable seating arrangement. The food which is both vegetarian/non vegetarian is freshly prepared as per order and again hygienic, homely and delicious. The premises are well secured by the presence of many vigilant CRPF guards and safety is further strengthened by the security system installed in the premises. There is a big parking space which can accommodate several vehicles of all sizes. Arrangements for local sightseeing or airport pickup/drop by taxi is arranged by the hotel.Trips to destinations outside the city are also organized by the hotel. Just across the road is the former home of renowned actor Sanjay Suri. The Hotel is managed by Mr. Vikram Madan whose family are descendents of Dewan Kedar Nath Madan and his brother Raja Dina Nath Madan of Maharaja Ranjit Singh’s court. Mr. Vikram interacts with the visitors personally and his pleasant rapport transcends all age groups. Everyone leaves the hotel happy and contented with the stay, food, services, rooms, tariff, location and proximity to a big market in the heart of the city.
Bookings are instantly done directly through internet at the site www.hotelvikram.in and confirmation done at telephone numbers 0194-2474050/ 2480700, or mobile number 09419000666. Hotel check in timings is noon. The hotel has received very good rankings in internet sites
FOOTNOTE-HOTEL IS WALKING DISTANCE FROM LAL CHOWK IN THE HEART OF THE CITY

Dr.Navin Atal, Delhi
9810115132

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drnavin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel Vikram provides basic facilities at competitive rates, and hence is good for budget travel. We stayed there for two nights, and had a good experience. The hotel has a nice garden, where you can enjoy tea and snacks sitting on the lawns. The room was basic and the bathroom was clean. The food served was very tasty and homely. The hotel owner and staff were courteous and helpful. The owner has rented a couple of floors to security personnel, and hence you'll be find them roaming around in the hotel premises.

It is located slightly away from the main tourist areas, but if you have a cab hired, it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asha_Poorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashik
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

this is a economical place to stay, not very well known, run by a nice family but the food services need to improve. esp no tea/coffee/ bfast available till 8 am. that's a hindrance to starting ur day early.nice garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babuchNashik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had been to Srinagar in April and had stayed here for a couple of days. The owner, Mr Vikram arranged for pick up and thus we had no difficulty to find the place. If you are going to this hotel for the first time, prefer a pick. The hotel owner and staff were friendly and helpful. The food was homely and good. The place is peaceful away from the hustle bustle of the busy streets. We stayed for 2 days, had our breakfast and dinner in the hotel and our total bill was within 3500 INR. As it was a budget trip for us and we had planned to spend more time outside the hotel, it just suit our need. If you prefer being outside the hotel for most of the time to visit the nearby places, view at the hotel does not matter much to you ( as you can not view the mountains or lakes from here, this is inside the city), you have a low budget trip and you would like to have home cooked food once a day, then this is the place you can choose.

Room Tip: Rooms are available in the ground floor only. You will have a view of a green lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCkanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel Vikarm is 2 kilometers away from the city. Auto- car is must to reach there. So, we need a car with us . Rooms are old and the roads are very narrow. Hotel staff is very co-operative, Food prices are also affordable. (You will get 2-3 items only) second floor of the hotel occupied by the BSF persons. They will check your identity. Sometimes it will irritate you. The hotel charging rs. 100/- WiFi felicity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Venu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.2 mi away
Welcome Residency
Welcome Residency
#38 of 135 in Srinagar
53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#36 of 135 in Srinagar
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel New Mamta
Hotel New Mamta
#39 of 135 in Srinagar
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel GRG Residency, Srinagar
1.0 mi away
The Kaisar
The Kaisar
#48 of 135 in Srinagar
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vikram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vikram

Property: Hotel Vikram
Address: Mandir Bagh | Gaw Kadal, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 135 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vikram 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of city, and about 1km from Lal Chowk the city centre. The famous Dal Lake is just about 2.5kms from Hotel Vikram. Our hotel has about 40 double bedrooms and can accommodate the groups if you plan to visit Kashmir this year. Ours is a medium class hotel and thus we entertain medium / budget class tourist only. All rooms have attached bath, color TV and internal telephone with STD facility. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Vikram Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing