We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Knocking on heavens door”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Srinagar, Srinagar District, Kashmir, Jammu and Kashmir

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
JoelS3632
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Knocking on heavens door”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

I spent 30 Days in Lalarukh Group of Houseboats. Right there on the calm and relaxing Dal Lake i've met a lovely family, a wonderful place and amazing new friends. During a normal day we've just enjoyed the peace in one of the groups houseboat, took a refreshing swim in the Dal Lake, ate Ice Cream at a Shop on the lake which we reached with the famous Shikara, or just having a good time with the family and friends.
We did a 10 day trekking from Gangbal to Sonamarg which i recommend everyone who want to explore a magical experience out in the wild nature.
Beside the trekking experience i've got in touch with the nature, landscapes and sights in Kashmir with small trips to beautiful natural spots, peaceful temples and colorful gardens.
My room in one of the Houseboats was very clean, comfortable and had an own bathroom with shower toilet and warm water. You will find a kingsize bed whit fluffy blankets :) .
Another thing special were all the tasty kashmiri meals we ate all day cooked by the family.

It was an all in one special adventure to stay there in srinagar on this stunning lake. THANK YOU.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveOnARa...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing houseboat, nice crew, peaceful atmosphere, beautiful nature”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I spent 3 weeks in Kashmir and felt like in heaven. The houseboats are amazing and have their own kind of peaceful atmosphere. The people here took good care of me and the local food is amazing! Whoever comes here should think about joining a trekking tour to the mountains. Met some nice people here and had some unforgetable moments and experiences. Thank you Kashmir and Lalarukh houseboat crew for this amazing holiday!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jürgen W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

great experience, very nice and helpful family, awesome atmosphere in the the Himalayas, bike rental was completely uncomplicated, powerful bikes, accommodation nice, always with ac, luxury hotel in the end for relaxing, good end of the whole trip, service very good, wishes get fulfilled, family is definitely flexible, driver was fun and kind, reliable (everyone). to sum it up, the family, its friends and employees are very helpful, reliable and flexible concerning the wishes of their costumers. i can definitely recommend them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithium_S...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect first stay in Kashmir”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first stay in India, and I couldn't have picked a better place. The family there practically adopted me, they are so warm and friendly. They knew I didn't have a clue what to do or where to visit. They provide all meals, you can eat with the family or on your own boat no worries. They picked me up from Srinagar airport, took me out during the day to the old town, local shops, fixed me up with a 3G sim card, took me to Mosques, and they organise trekking trips. They took care of everything, the jeep to pick us up, the ponies, the food, the tents, the guide, even warm clothes and boots if you need them. The boats are designed in a lovely wooden style, comfortable double bed, en suite bathroom, wifi in the rooms, and of course situated in the beautiful peaceful Dahl Lake! Even after I had left them we stayed in touch, and they continued to be very helpful. They helped me buy a motorbike and unfortunately I had an accident. I phoned them and they took care of me, taking me to the hospital, and looking after me. Would certainly recommend to all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKN20
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enthralling Experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was a great stay here ...
Reason 1)) Delivered what they promised
Reason 2)) Hospitality as expected
Reason 3)) All 3 gentlemen who take care of this houseboat Mr.Ahmed & Family, including our cab driver "Farooq", and the facility incharge "The Great Mr.Abdullah" ... make your stay feel comfortable and gives you every reason to revisit ...
Thanks to all

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indepthin...
McLeod Ganj, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well looked after!”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I arrived with the intention of staying for 10 days and left after 20! I was treated wonderfully, so well looked after, which was a great relief as a solo female traveler. The food was delicious and they were happy to cater to me being vegetarian. Nothing was too much trouble. They arranged sightseeing day trips (both local and a little further afield) and a weekend getaway to beautiful Pahalgam and Aru. I also joined their trekking trip for 3 nights > 4 days and received the same high level of care and attention as a solo traveler in this environment. I will most definitely return. Highly recommended for both short and long stays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashiB79
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

It's was a really calm and soothing place! Thank you Mr. Suhail Ahmed and another Mr. Ahmed to take care of our needs. It was a wonderful experience indeed more than I expected. Thank you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing