We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with best location..Even better than Taj !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centaur Lake View Hotel
Ranked #78 of 139 Hotels in Srinagar
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Property with the best location in Srinagar, even better than Taj or for that matter Lalit. It is made on reclaimed land on Dal lake and is surrounded by the lake on three sides. It's sprawling property with a convention centre. There are lawns on both sides but not so well maintained. This is a huge property which can be improvised by timely repair works.the rooms were decent and appropriately warm. All bathrooms were equipped with geysers. Service is excellent and staff is very hospitable. They have an excellent chef expert in Kashmiri cuisine who offered fantastic Kashmiri vegetarian food. We just couldn't get enough of it. We simply loved all the three meals. An overall good place to stay if you are not too finicky about modern amenities. You can get a teal deal if you visit Air India office which will include a full day cab to take you around Pehelgam, Gulmarg and local site seeing along with pick n drop at the airport. This package will also include all three meals as well. Just check out.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the floor which has the restaurant and in the same wing facing the mountains beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were alloted a room facing the lake. The Hotel is in a rather shabby state
and wonder why as the Hotel plays host to several Govt sponsored seminar's
and conferences. The staff were very friendly and ever-ready to go the extra mile.
The location, the view and the friendly staff are the only saving grace but surely
the Hotel & rooms need a huge face-lift.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room facing the Dal Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chacko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We were booked for 3 nights. When we arrived the location blew our minds. It was stunning. The lawns were wonderful. Everything from that point went downhill really fast. During check-in the staff seemed depressed and were hardly bothered. We were given a room within 5 minutes but luggage took forever to arrive. The room itself was a bad dump. Cobwebs everywhere! The lighting was terrible and only one switch worked. The telephone did not work. The bathroom was straight out of a horror movie!! The taps were loose and leaking. The water was yellow and stank badly! The electricity kept going every half hour. It was a nightmare. We immediately asked for a room change and were told that the place was fully booked. The food was horrible. We slept in horror of what was to come. The next morning water was still yellow. We decided to check out. We wanted a refund. Then out of nowhere a manager ( finally ) shows up and gives a "better" room. But sadly the rooms were the same! Except a different wall color. Badly unhygienic. The staff tells us that the management wishes to sell out and hence no repairs will be done!! It's a pity because the location is too damn good. Please do not make the mistake of booking this dump. I will upload the room pictures soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RegularTravellerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Hotel is located about 20 minutes drive from the airport. Surrounded by the lake Dal. Locationwise - a fantastic one. But the upkeep of the Hotel is bad. Food selection is very limited. Food quality (taste) is also poor. For the facility the rent charged is very high. But then to enjoy Srinagar - for a two / three day trip, one can put up with such minor inconveniences.

Room Tip: take the lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Its indeed very sad when such a fine property with unmatched location is in shambles. There is virtually no maintenance which is evident is broken sofas, messy bathrooms and pathetic linen. There are stray dogs all over so one has to be very careful strolling in the gardens.
To add to your woes you can go as part of Make My Trip package where they dish out some horrible food which could comprise of watery dal, sad vegetable dishes & tasteless chicken dishes. If that's doesn't dissatisfy you the uncooked gulab jamuns sure will. The service staff is very indifferent with no uniform and offer you papads in a corrugated carton. At the end of it a giant 'tip box' is displayed if you still feel generous.
For the not so generous you can join various other protestors who are subjected to this 'one hell of a paradise'.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sajjiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I had a fantastic experience in centaur lake view hotel...location of hotel is the best in all srinagar hotels and there is no doubt in it.....gardens of hotel are also very good.....hospitality of the staff was very good..... .i requested a lake view room from the hotel and they gave it.......i never saw such a huge reception hall of any hotel......food was good but choices were limited but i had gone to visit kashmir and not to taste the hotel food.....shikara ride was from inside the hotel campus which was also very enjoyable….. my joy of kashmir trip was really multiplied due to stay in this hotel....it was not a posh hotel but really a grand one……

Room Tip: choose lake facing rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shwetagupta_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I will rate the place 3.5 out of 5. Location is outstanding, just next to Dal Lake. Services are not upto the standard. Very basic amenities are provided, yet because of excellent view, deserves one stay!!

Room Tip: always go for lake facing rooms Mar-Aug is the best season to travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2 mi away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#21 of 139 in Srinagar
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
3.2 mi away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Asian Park
Hotel Asian Park
#11 of 139 in Srinagar
177 reviews
3.8 mi away
Solar Residency
Solar Residency
#112 of 139 in Srinagar
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centaur Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centaur Lake View Hotel

Address: Near Chasmeshahi, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range: £72 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centaur Lake View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Centaur Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centaur Lake View Hotel Srinagar, Asia - Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing