We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel at the Top Of World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Yes it was , We were there in the hotel for one week and it was wonderful experience .The staff is very co-operative , cordial and hospitable.
Restaurant serves great food . The rooms are well kept @ -6 Degree temperature !! They give warm and cold water 24*7 .
All in All especial mention to Mr Ali !! Even payment and all were very easily managed .
No Hassle in your enjoyment .

Room Tip: Rooms with the Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrRishabhKrrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were in Leh around Christmas and went to the restaurant of this Hotel for lunch as no other restaurant was open that time in the market. I was pretty surprised that this was open in sub-zero temperature. We got our food quite quickly and was decent. Tried some Ladakhi dishes and were good. The Hotel premises were very clean and properly maintained even during off season. The area of the Hotel is quite large.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simzzish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel Restaurant.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

A really great service provided by the manager.
Very good choice of vegetarian dishes a la carte.
Excellent travel arrangements with very flexible and courteous drivers.

Well done

JetPrivilege membership: 122375735

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank AnilK921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

what a wonderful time we had.. !!
we were 6 couples from Thailand.
the hotel is best located.
very friendly staffs .
management is superb.
room is cleaned .
food is yummy.
very helpful.
good scenic.
will be back soon..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exclusive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We'd been camping in the mountains for six nights, so unwashed and exhausted we arrived at the Grand Dragon. The hotel is clean and smart, and the room we had was spacious, warm and very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice indeed, with underfloor heating and good toiletries.
The restaurant is excellent, and we enjoyed huge portions of Chinese, Indian and Continental foods. The staff are a little over-attentive, but it's meant to ensure you're getting what you want. Do try the chicken satay (enormous), the spring rolls (big enough for a main), the sesame chicken and the garlic nan breads - mmm!
The hotel is about ten minutes' uphill walk to the town centre, but it's worth the effort (remember you're at 3000m) because there's plenty to see - turn right when you get there and head for the market, which provides some great photo opportunities.
It's so comfortable that we returned to it after two nights in a village way up in the mountains - again, it proved a very welcome rest.
The only downside is the staff can be a little disorganised in their rush to be helpful, and our 5.15 wake up call didn't happen. Luckily we woke up in time to grab some toast before our flight to Delhi.

Room Tip: They're all good, but a room facing the mountains is a nice bonus. We asked (cheekily) for an up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Kindly accept our apologies for the wake up call.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was in Ladakh early this month and stayed in this hotel which I enjoyed as it was far better than other properties I've used in Leh. The staff were always helpful and the bedrooms very comfortable.
The meals I took in the hotel were all good and main courses for dinner would almost feed two people.
As I was on business I would have liked a more reliable WiFi service but this was only available in the reception/lounge area.
The location is reasonable with just a short uphill walk into town, which of course assists in the altitude acclimatisation process. The bedrooms have advice on the acclimatisation process which is useful.
i'd like to thank the staff for making my stay(s) there enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for south facing rooms for fantastic views across the Indus Valley towards Stok Kangri (6,121m).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanMichaelWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our wonderful feedback and appreciation about of staff has conveyed. Now our Wifi is fully working in all areas of the Hotel.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This review is long overdue ...A friend and I decided to go to Leh end july/early aug 2013...lots of confusion about where to stay, what to see what to do. We got the best deal and we've been recommending it to everyone ever since.

The hotel offers excellent packages - if its your first time to leh then definitely take the package 8/9 days and you get to see everything. Its perfect since everything is taken care of....your meals, your stay, sightseeing, car everything is planned.

The hotel is comfortable, clean, with good sized rooms, excellent staff, amazing food and most importantly safe. It was just us 2 girls and we felt so safe and we well taken care of. Very conveniently located as well, a 5/10 min walk to the market.

Once you take the package you get assigned a cab and driver by the hotel. We had the most amazing cab driver...RINCHEN. He was honest, sincere, so keen to show us all of Leh..would stop on the way to show us around so we did not miss anything, advised us on where to go what to eat, made great conversation and really made us feel safe. Its so awesome to meet such unique individuals and really we were so grateful we had him assigned to us throughout the trip. If you ever get to Leh you must ask for Rinchen at the Grand Dragon.

It was a surreal experience!! Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Get the rooms on the 3rd floor facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitika24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDragonLadakh, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Dragon Ladakh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at our Hotel.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience of Ladakh and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful arrangements of your special package with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Dragon Ladakh.

Warm Regards,
Team Grand Dragon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
1 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#17 of 75 in Leh
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#20 of 75 in Leh
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
2.9 mi away
Ladakh Sarai
Ladakh Sarai
#3 of 75 in Leh
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#11 of 75 in Leh
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Dragon Ladakh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Dragon Ladakh

Address: Sheynam Old Road, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leh
Price Range: £77 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Dragon Ladakh 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the lap of luxury with all kinds of comforts at 3,500m above sea level. Our hotel blends traditional architecture with luxurious accommodation to create a unique experience. We are practicing a “Green” philosophy, using 95 solar panels for hot water supply and heating system. The hotel offers 82 rooms including 3 beautifully appointed suites, each of which comes with all modern amenities like LED TV with entertainment channels, telephone, Wi-Fi Internet access, and magnificent views. Indulge in 24-hour room service, a multi cuisine coffee shop (Zasgyath), a specialty restaurant (TUSRABS) and a bakery (Solja). Avail the assistance of a well-appointed travel desk, wellness center and enjoy indoor games, cultural shows and bonfire on demand. Conference hall, board room, business centre, shopping arcade, relaxing garden, exercise lawn and jogging track are also available for guests' comfort. Book your stay at The Grand Dragon Ladakh for an experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Dragon Ladakh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Hotel Leh
Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh
The Grand Dragon Ladakh Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing