We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay just 10 mins walk to Leh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ladakh Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ladakh Residency
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay just 10 mins walk to Leh”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After spending several weeks camping in Ladakh, this hotel was a welcome change of pace. With its delicious food, spotless and comfortable rooms (some of which have beautiful balconies), snug bedding, and in-house Ayurvedic massage therapist, the Ladakh Residency was quite luxurious. Mr. Wangchuk handled the logistics for our group and even booked us in the Hotel Omsila across the road when he could not accommodate our big group for all four nights. He also can arrange for cultural performances. I much prefer quiet Changspa to the bustle of Leh. We very much enjoyed our stay in Leh thanks to his hospitality. As of summer 2013, wifi was only available in the lobby and service was spotty. Otherwise, I would heartily recommend this place, particularly for travelers willing to spend a bit more for comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cushner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    50
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
68
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We went to leh to experience the local culture and cuisine apart from the scenic geography that ladakh has to offer. The best place probably to experience this is Ladakh residency. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food is a gastronomical delight. The local owner's hospitality makes you want to stay here forever. Would recommend it to anyone going there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saurabhg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We travelled to Leh during June 2013 and stayed in this property. Its a really well maintained & nice property. The staffs were very helpful & friendly. One of the best hotels in Leh with all amenities of comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at a higher floor have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subhayanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Ladakh Residency, located at the end of a lane populated by eateries, cafes and small shops, gives you the perfect corner to relax in Leh and get a feel of the place. Minutes away from the main market, this hotel is one of the better options to stay in Leh.

The food is good and staff friendly. Unlike some other hotels in Leh, this one also has the option of non-vegetarian food.

Rooms are very comfortable, well-made and spacious with lovely balconies. After a greatly stimulating but exhausting self-drive trip to Nubra and Pangong Tso, and another long drive awaiting to Sarchu and Jispa, this was the perfect place to rest our bones.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNightjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Visit to Leh will be incomplete if you don't stay in Ladakh Residency. Personally looked after by Mr. Wangchuk and his Daughter Rinchin. Very good atmosphere to stay, being in the heart of city. Managed by very handful of smiling staff. Food is good, request for food is happily considered. Tour arrangements are well taken care of, hv tie up with good resorts at Neubra and Pangong Taso.

Room Tip: front facing on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NemJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were 2 couples visiting Ladakh in September 2013. I finalized this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor. Also, I spoke to Ms. Rinchen over the phone and she offered an off season discount of 30% which sealed the deal. The kind of rooms offered for 4200 INR per night was really a treat.
Rooms: Spacious, newly built and clean. Bathrooms were very big. This should be good enough to rate this hotel 4/5 but what raise the score a notch was the balcony. For someone like me who likes sitting outside more than inside the room it was a real delight. The balcony was approx. 7 x 9 feet and was provided with table and two chairs. Every morning one can bath in sun sitting in balcony and sipping tea/coffee. And in the evening we had drinks and dinner there. The view from the balcony was real nice too. One can see the snow clad mountains. Also another thing I like about the rooms is the wooden carvings done. It provides a rare feel of modern amenities with classical architecture element. Rooms and corridors have central heating which was not required during our stay though.
Location: It is 1.5 kms away from the main bazaar. But the street of the hotel was full of eateries and restaurants which provide international cuisines to suit your taste. The restaurants are simple and initially you will have doubts over what you gonna get. But they will surprise you with the quality and taste of the food. . The prices are dirt cheap as well, if compared against Gurgaon. A gourmet pizza for 100 odd bucks is a steal!
Hospitality: As always, no surprises here. The Ladakhi hospitality was at its best. The owner Mr. Wangchuk( hope getting the spelling right here) and his daughter Ms. Rinchen both were very helpful. On the day we landed , wife of my friend fell sick. The guidance and support to take her to hospital provide by Rinchen was invaluable. Another thing about the kind of trust and faith she and her staff put in us was when we checked out after staying there for 2 days( to travel to Nubra and Pangong), they did even ask for clearing our dues. We were told we can pay when we come back to Leh. I was overwhelmed.
Another point to note here is the owners are highly educated and have a good sense of your taste and desire. So I found it very comfortable to trust their advice and guidance in things to visit and things to do. Infact Rinchen advised us to go to a nice restaurant called Bon Appetite for the birthday dinner, which was just perfect for the occasion and our taste.
Arrangements: You get breakfast included in the hotel tariff. The breakfast was good except tht I did not have much options. We could order from cereal, paranthas, eggs , fruit salad, juice and tea/coffee. The local taxi and taxi to Nubra and pangong was arranged by hotel staff on chargeable basis. The taxi rates are fairly high in Ladakh and should not be compared against Delhi rates. The 700 KM trip to nubra and pangong cost us 17k INR and a 3 hour local taxi cost us 900 INR.
Final Verdict: If you are looking for a place to relax and away from crowded bazaar, this is your place. I definitely will say in Ladakh Residency whenever I visit there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 203/204. Or simply ask for a room with balcony and facing the mountains. They wont dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varun449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our group stayed here for two nights in July 2013 after an amazing trek to see the Kharnak Nomads organized by Yama Adventures. The rooms were very clean. We had great views from our balcony. The restaurant was excellent and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The front desk lady, Tsering, was particularly helpful. We also enjoyed a fascinating cultural program one evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlyLogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.3 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
0.7 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.7 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#14 of 74 in Leh
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladakh Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladakh Residency

Property: Ladakh Residency
Address: Changspa, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ladakh Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ladakh Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ladakh Residency Hotel Leh
Ladakh Residency Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing