We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with a Personal touch”
Review of Ladakh Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ladakh Residency
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in the last week of April 2014, just about the time the season starts. While many reviewers have complained about the food during this period, nobody in Ladakh was able to provide good food since the supplies from Srinagar had not yet started in and the choices were limited to whatever they could manage from canned, stored supplies etc. Travellers need to bear in mind the massive odds the locals have to fight to run this region. So I will keep the food aspect out of this review.
We booked our complete itinerary through the hotel for a stay of 8 days. Rinchen (who owns and runs the hotel from the front desk) is the soul of the property and took care of it all. She is an excellent,practical and very hands on resource and great to generally chat up.
We dont have a single complaint from the complete itinerary starting from the well planned schedule, the clean hotel, the very polite driver, the hotel stays in Alchi, Hundar et all. We stayed in the pretty large suite (family of four). The hotel has 24 hrs running water and central heating, is very walkable from the main market, the staff friendly and responsive.
Our best memory was the packed breakfast they handed to us for our early morning drive to the Pangong lake. While we had asked for Paranthas to be packed, the lovely touch of adding a bottle of juice, and a chocolate in each pack was touching and to have that sitting on rocks next to a stream of ice cold water is the most picture perfect moment of the trip.
All in all, we will carry great memories of the holiday and a large part of this is due to the hotel, their staff and Rinchen!

Room Tip: The suites are large but dont have a balcony. Not sure you will have the opportunity to sit in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 28th April to 2nd fo May this year. Hotel is good and well maintained and clean. Owners are quiet friendly and you feel like living as a personal guest than a tourist in the property. Hotel needs to improve upon food which seems to be a issue with all the hotels in that area as during my travel the highway between Srinaga and Leh was yet to open, which is resposble of all the supplies. Overall good experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdsk114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A very clean and neat property. Rooms open and airy, with clean and we'll appointed bathrooms. Friendly and participative ownership and hands on management. Food I imaginative and tasteless. Surprisingly spartan lounge and dining hall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishmukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed in The hotel from 2nd may to 7th may and after a lot of research chose to stay with them, But the quality, quantity and variety of food they provided in their restaurant was dismal. Hotels of this category have a lot of food variety to eat. Everytime you cannot complain for the food served as you will find that normal food items are not prepared well.if you love good food then you must
check sonu restaurant at leh main market, you will love it. Nobody in our group of 10 people liked the food they supplied and Would suggest to think twice before checking this hotel. In all other parameters they score well. Rinchen made our trip memorable, on every aspect we seek her advice and surely she helps you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anupkugupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hi Readers,

I visited Leh in Sept 2013... did not have a hotel booking and drove from Kashmir to Leh. We landed up searching for hotels and with all booked took to Ladakh residency. Initially felt it was expensive , but thereafter realized the quality of rooms, food & service deserved it.

The team served decent breakfast and would also pack incase your travelling early that day. Lunch or Dinner was part of the package and had good variety from veg to non veg..

The rooms are well supplied with all toiletries, high quality bathroom fittings , clean linen and quick room service. The staff was very courteous specially one in the café. The hotel provides facilities none less than 4-5 star hotels. It was very difficult for us to believe that a place as remotest as Leh could have such a high quality hotel.

Would like to make a special mention of the hotel owners (name forgotten). The lady being from a teaching prof. immediately clicked with my mother , who also does the same and guided us very well. She told us to start diomox before we took on any excursion. Her husband who ran the hotel was an excellent host and I could see him personally attending to each guest. They even provided medicines and oxygen cylinders to carry along ( those were life saving).

My recommendation is that if you are planning to visit leh , get in touch with them . take proper guidance , coz leh is not a vacation place,.. its adventure and you can have breathing and High BP problems. book your excursion through them... it is not that expensive.. we booked externally and quality of jeeps was bad... and equally expensive.. take good time off to acclimatize... and stay here for a enriching experience.

If any one of the hotel staff is reading this.. would like to thank you for taking such good care of us.. I will recommend you to my family and friends.

Room Tip: All are good .. they have central heating systems as well. incase you planning in a early winter tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahnaaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

traveled in april 2014. so amazing with the hotel, food & wifi that out of we are thought before.
with some photographer the hotel roof very excelent to take photos of shanti stupa & tsemo for sunrise and startrail.
excelent driver ( say hi to luxon ) that brought us for 6 days to amazing places.
will be back to this hotel again if we go to leh someday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Traveled in April 2014. It's a nice hotel to stay in Leh. Enjoyed a lot though it was off season time.
All amenities provided by Rinchen - hotel owner.
Dining hall in traditional style is just awesome. Quality food.
Rooms are well managed with heaters for winter season. Helpful staff.
Maintained washrooms.
A must if travelling to Leh!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SahilTaneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.3 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Singge Palace
3.5 mi away
Ladakh Sarai
Ladakh Sarai
#3 of 75 in Leh
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#15 of 75 in Leh
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ladakh Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladakh Residency

Address: Changspa, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Leh
Price Range: £83 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ladakh Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Ladakh Residency Hotel Leh
Ladakh Residency Leh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing