We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views!”
Review of Hotel Shambhala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Shambhala
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

A plush hotel serenely located in the heart of the calm city of Leh with breathtaking view of the Himalayan ranges! We stayed in the pent house and would recommend it for anybody travelling to leh in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakshmi_Harikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
22
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We were 20 of us friends and family who traveled to Leh from 1st may 2010 to 7th may 2010. The Hotel rooms are clean. The garden outside is lovely and has the best scenic view. The hotel is away from the hustle bustle and yet close to the market. The hotel gives free transfer to market by its own private car. The food (buffet) is very good. Value for money. Shall stay back in this hotel whenever will visit leh again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vkk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We had an extremely relaxing holiday in Leh. The hotel is far away from the hustle and bustle of the city and is located in a beautiful , picturusque surrounding with lot of greenery and pastures.The owner Pinto Narboo and the manager Wangchuk run the place superbly with alot of personal care and attention. They were always available for great advice ,directions and all kinds of arrangements. The breakfast was excellent though overall the place can do better with improvement in food quality.The service was fantastic as good as anything we ever experienced.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pomsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Quality of food was terrible. Whether it be north indian or any other cuisine, it was really bad. Not sure what oil they used. The rooms were cold. The gas based heater in the room was not very effective always. Overall experience was poor for a welcom heritage hotel. Cant believe this one has a tie up with ITC???

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

It's a nice, above average hotel. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. Tehy arranged all the permits, taxi and also a camp stay for us. The food was not that great, just fine. You can tell the chef if you are looking for something specific. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotal has front lawns with hammock and garden chairs, you can spend good relaxing time there. It was a good value for money deal. I would recommend the hotel for people who are not looking for something lavish but comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Monics1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

When we booked, this was among the most expensive properties in Leh. We naturally assumed a minimal level of "luxury" in keeping with the price.

This hotel has doubtless seen much better days. But now, it qualifies not as a hotel. This is a guest house. You don't pay 5000 rupees a night to find that hot water is only available for limited hours in the morning and evening, never mind that you are acclimatising and need to be in your room all day.

The staff is warm and nice. Usually efficient. The manager - Mr. Wangchook, was the nicest part of our stay. His natural concern and helpfulness, his ability to understand and address the needs of all guests, is the one thing that keeps us from lambasting the hotel full on.

The rooms are basic - a little less than basic. They are clean. But not airy. The hotel is small and enjoys no view at all. The garden is also rather small.
Unless you order 3 hours in advance, you will not get your meals because the kitchen only makes what is ordered.
If you go to the restaurant after the scheduled hours for that meal, they might get you something to eat, but it is not likely to be done without complaint. Ironically, during dinner, we always saw them run out of food, so we had to scramble to be there within the first half hour.

The hot water was a big issue. We also saw some power outages, but not too much. The real pain was the internet. One reason we booked this hotel was that it advertised wireless in the rooms. Forget about the rooms.. the internet (was only turned on when we asked for it) did not even work in the lobby.

The TV in our room did not work for all the 5 days that we were there. Everyday, we were promised that it will be repaired.

Other than Mr. Wangchook, who personally came with us to the hospital when one of us took ill, and arranged a really nice taxi to take us around, and gave us a gas heater for the night even though the hotel rules prohibit any heating in the rooms(never mind the cold), the only other redeeming feature of the hotel is its location. the village Skara, though a little far from the leh market, enjoys great, clean air and no noise pollution at all.

The hotel has a complimentary drop to the Leh market, and that is a really good feature, because each trip to the city from here costs about 100 rupees.

In short, the hotel would be worth the money at about half the price that they are going right now. This is at best a good guest house. Even if you want clean air and no noise pollution, i will recommend the nearby Cho Palace Hotel and not this one.

  • Liked — Mr. Wangchook, the manager and the clean air, no pollution around the hotel.
  • Disliked — Everything else, but most of all, its hugely overpriced.
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lonetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

A friend recommended this hotel to us and we were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, the food was wholesome. They even packed picnic baskets for us on the days we were out sightseeing. We were a group of 4 girlfriends and they gave us two connected rooms which was perfect. The location was a little remote and we needed a car to get to / from the main market. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Homely atmosphere
  • Disliked — Located away from the main market
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally_pgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
1.1 mi away
The Mogol Hotel
The Mogol Hotel
#30 of 75 in Leh
34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#17 of 75 in Leh
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dragon Ladakh
Hotel Dragon Ladakh
#21 of 75 in Leh
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.4 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.0 mi away
Hotel Glacier View
Hotel Glacier View
#10 of 75 in Leh
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shambhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shambhala

Property: Hotel Shambhala
Address: Skara near zorawar fort | near zorawar fort, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shambhala 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shambhala provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days and enjoy your holiday in Ladakh. The city center is merely 1.5 km away and the airport can be reached within 10 minutes. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total just minutes away from the city's numerous attractions.At The Shambhala, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides all the modern amenities like satellite/cable TV, ironing facilities, television, internet access – wireless (complimentary),business centre,STD/ISD,Intercom service,etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shambhala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcomheritage Shambha La Leh
Hotel Shambhala Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing