We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh! the romance of standing beside the Indus”
Review of Sindhu Ghat

Ranked #33 of 76 things to do in Leh
Attraction details
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oh! the romance of standing beside the Indus”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was deeply moved by the very thought that I was standing beside that very river that was the cradle of Indus Valley Civilization, one of the 4 earliest bronze age civilizations. We sat in the wide riverbank for quite some time and I carried home a bottle of water from river Indus. Our guide-cum-driver laughed at my silliness but I was so enthralled that I could not care less.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BGhosh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    29
    24
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dibrugarh, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Annual event at Sindhu Ghat”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is the place very near to Leh and for a close look to Sindhu (Indus) river. The place has importance that annual event is held as Sindhu Darshan. But approach to the Ghat is not properly maintained. Some construction is also going on.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuragme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dip your feet in cold water <3”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The sindhu ghat is a little detour from the main road.. If one is looking for a spot where they can dip their feet in some icy cold water of the indus river then this is the place. Not technically a riverside , this is a ghat were usually local villagers come to wash their clothes or their cars.. The water isnt purely clean or suitable for drinking but yes it is completely refreshing when you soak your feet in the glacial waters.. A good place to lounge around and sit in the sun during the day or in the evening. Do give it a try :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hindu from Sindhu”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Sindhu Ghat is on the way to Karu/Thiksey/ Hemis/Shey.
A resting place . Silence of the place give u peace. A person know little history of hinduism can feel the footprints of our ancestor here.
Sindhu known as Indus in English is the lifeline of Pakistan. It originate in India and flows to Pakistan.
Hindu religion derives its name from the Great Sindhu river as people in Pharas pronounce "sh" as "h".
Every year a sindhu festival held on the bank of this great river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Parushani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just a stop over”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

There is nothing over here except people cleaning clothes, cars and the horses which are prohibited at that place!!!!
It's on the way when you are going around Leh, Can stopover just for a pic or 2, else expect nothing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sindhu Ghat also viewed

 

Been to Sindhu Ghat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing