We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, excellent holiday package..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Caravan Centre
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

In September, 2103 I had a memorable holiday with my wife in Ladakh. We were planning this trip since a couple of years but could take it only this year. While researching for information about the trip , friends referred us this hotel and so we checked its website, checked its credentials, read the reviews and then decided to approach them for our trip.

We found that September is a very good period to visit Ladakh because of the pleasant climate. Thanks to the travel arrangements made by the Caravan Hotel, we had a wonderful holiday with interesting road trip from Kashmir to Ladakh. We had our entire holiday organized through the Caravan Centre travel desk. They arranged our pickup from Srinagar and travel by road to Leh through Kargil where our overnight stay was booked at the hotel Zojila, a comfortable hotel for the overnight stay.

At Leh we stayed at Hotel Caravan Centre for 4 nights and for 1 night they had booked us at the Organic Retreat camp, a scenic resort in Nubra valley. At Caravan Centre we took a deluxe room overlooking the garden and the mountains in the far horizon. The room was quite cozy, clean and equipped with amenities like comfortable beds, daily cleaning & good housekeeping, clean bathroom with running hot water every time we opened the taps. Rooms have steam radiator for heating, TV with multichannel cable, telephone & the reception has Oxygen for emergencies like altitude sickness etc. Hotel’s power backup is adequate and prompt, only going off for a couple of hours in the night. The reception desk was always manned by staff, quite helpful and ever smiling. They controlled the tour arrangements and ensured that we had the best vehicle, a well equipped Maindra Xylo taxi with an efficient and amiable driver.

Hotel has a nice location in quiet surrounding, away from the overbuilt and crowded town centre, yet at walking distance from some local markets. The main market of Leh is about 2 kms. away and requires a taxi ride for visiting. The hotel offered free transport to drop in the market once during the stay. Otherwise we had the occasion to visit the market on two more occasions during the tour as part of the itinerary. Hence it’s not an issue to worry about.

The hotel is a beautiful building in the local architecture with lots of work carving decoration, quite pleasing to look at. A nice garden lush with greenery, patches of flowers and the surrounding tree line provides welcome relief from the stark landscape of Ladakh. Food is mainly in buffet with a mix of different verities, which were regularly changed. Food was sumptuous and wholesome and the buffet was plentiful. The servers are nice, efficient & pleasant to interact during meals.

All in all we had a satisfying trip and we are very happy for what we got in the price that we paid. This hotel is a very good holiday option for anyone looking for a value for money trip with no hassles or hidden costs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlander99in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Caravan over a number of occasions this August. It's a peaceful place with comfortable rooms, pleasant staff and very good food. The gardens are lovely and we shall certainly stay here on subsequent visits to Leh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracingtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your experience at the hotel.
We appreciate your positive thoughts and the excellent grade given to the hotel. Your appreciation of the staff and food has been shared with the team and they are thrilled to hear about your comments.

We eagerly await your return trip to the Caravan in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Its important to align your expectations if you have read the TA reviews for this hotel and are expecting a Top 5 property in Leh.

Lets get real here, Leh is a difficult terrain and the economics for running a hotel for 6 months in a year can be tough. Life overall in the region is challenging - cold, high altitude, no power, terrible roads etc. So dont expect a lap of luxury. Once the expectations are set right you will have a better experience. Be prepared for some adventure and Leh will not disappoint.

Coming to Caravan Centre, its an average hotel. We booked our 6 night package directly with the hotel and IMO this is the best way. Suresh (Res Mgr) is very good and will organise and respond to your emails/calls promptly.

We opted for their top tier Deluxe Suite. Honestly its a large room but very basic. Cleanliness is average, nothing to complian.

Staff attitude is good, food is average quality but the staff attitude helps. They have a small garden which gives you a feeling that it can be maintained in a much better way. The adjacent kitchen garden growing veggies is good.

Service is overall good and frontoffice staff has a helping attitude. Avoid the management. If you see the tone and langugage used in the responses that the mgmt has given to certain reviews here you will get the drift of what i am saying.

Hotel organised our tour to Nubra Valley, Pangong lake and other attractions and the car/driver booked was very good.

The hotel is a 5-10min drive from the main market. If you prefer to be closer to the market then avoid. Although in my view, that's not necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shashankjoshi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravanCentre, Owner at Hotel Caravan Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for the feedback about the hotel. We are happy to learn that you had a good sightseeing experience with the arrangements made by us.

We have taken note of your dissatisfaction about the cleanliness level of the hotel and maintenance of the garden and apologize for any inconvenience faced on this account. We will address these problems systematically so that future guests do not have occasion to complain.

We would, however, like to touch on some issues that you have raised in the post which require addressing / explaining for the benefit of the readers:

First about the deluxe suite that you had booked at the hotel ! This is not just a large room which is basic as you have described in your post. It is actually a suite of 02 rooms (a bedroom & equal sized sitting room), all well appointed and furnished with comfortable beds, working desk, LCD TV, Mini fridge, tea-coffee maker, central heating, sofas & coaches, decorative floor & coach carpets etc. A sit-out balcony at the entrance of the suite offers panoramic views of the mountains & the valley. It’s really surprising that you have chosen to ignore all these components and inputs of the suite during your 5- night stay !

The second issue is about your suggestion to avoid the hotel management. There is an apparent contradiction in this suggestion because at another place in the post you have praised Mr. Suresh, our Resident Manager as ‘very good’ and organized your tour and responded to your emails / calls promptly.

If your advice /suggestion is directed against the hotel owner, then you are way off the mark because we never had any occasion to meet or interact during your stay at the hotel whereby you could make an opinion about us to suggest to avoid meeting us.

Also, you have cited the tone and language of our responses to some reviews as proof of the management being avoidable. Surely you would have read those responses before proceeding on the trip and yet you chose this hotel for your stay! Looks like you quoted this as an afterthought to buttress your observation against the hotel management, even while you are all praise for the hotel manager in the same post.

Yet another issue worth mention is your attempt to damage the reputation of Ladakh as a tourist destination by projecting some of its features in negative colour. Although offended of your insensitive description of Ladakh, we will let that pass to be judged by the thousands of tourists who flock to the region, enthralled by the rugged natural beauty, dramatic landscape and rich living culture of Ladakh.

Lastly, it’s worth mentioning that while you have titled the hotel as ‘Decent Hotel’ yet you have ranked it as ‘Poor’. Thus you seem to contradict yourself yet again in your post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our booking in Hotel Caravan Center was a part of 7 nights package booked with MakeMyTrip. We stayed in the hotel from 11 Aug till 18 Aug. As a part of package, breakfast and dinner for all days in the hotel were included.

Food: Good quality food, but lacked variety in breakfast. However, when we complained this to MakeMy Trip, we were served a different breakfast on last day. Overall, the quality of food was good. On most of the days, instead of buffet breakfast / dinner, the food was served on table. This is because of less no. of guests in the hotel on those days.

Room: We stayed in standard deluxe room overlooking the garden. The room was cleaned and linen was changed everyday. Room service was also good.

Location: Far away (3-4 kms) from Leh market. It is a major issue as the hotel does not provide free shuttle service. The hotel can arrange a taxi which will charge Rs. 150-200 one way. If I had a choice of hotel, I would not have stayed so far from the market. Because of location, we could not stroll in the market after 7-8 pm.

The hotel also provides free wi-fi at the lobby. It wasn't working on most of the days during our stay because of government restriction in entire J&K.

The hotel has power back-up which is a good thing considering there are frequent power cuts in that region. The power back up is 100% during nights but intermittent during the day.

We had a major issue with Hotel staff on the day we returned from Pangong lake. We were very tired and when we reached hotel, we found that the hotel has given its garden to some film making unit who was playing very loud music to shoot some kind of commercial / film. When we complained, the hotel manager flatly refused to stop this nonsense and said it would stop only around 9-9:30 pm. We had come from Mumbai to Leh for peace and we were asked to bear the torture of loud Kannada music. My wife was not feeling well and the loud music made it worse. Finally, after a lot of argument with hotel and MakeMyTrip representative, the music stopped at 9 pm. It would have been better if the hotel manager was sensitive enough not to rent its garden for such things knowing that it would be inconvenient for the guests.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The room service and restaurant staff are very courteous. I suggest the hotel to make some free shuttle arrangements for guests as some of the hotels in Leh have started doing that.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms facing garden are good. We stayed in room 203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anupam_Rungta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Good Hotel to Stay, Excellent service, Great view from Hotel, Food was good. It is a total value for money, overall good place for stay in Leh. will suggest for Hotel Caravan Center for anyone visiting Leh.
The only problem in hotel that wi-fi never work during our 3 day stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I had a 6 days and 5 night trip to leh with my wife. First of all I should say that I am very pleased with the hotel. Below points will definitely encourage anyone who wants a trip to leh.
1. The hotel is very near to the airport.
2. Rooms are very clean and mostly you will get a good view from the window.
3. Bathrooms are clean and good.
4. There is a very nice garden sort of thing inside the hotel premises where you can sit and enjoy the weather
5. Food quality is quite good and they try their best to add as much variety as they can
6. The tour program of the hotel is very good and they provide good cars for your travels.
7. Finally there would be so many things you may ask them which is not listed in the program and they are always ready to help you.
If I ever go to leh again I will definitely opt for Caravan Center once more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalyan_tintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

great hotel to stay with excellent services in reasonable prices thats how i would define my experience here. The staff is extremely polite and mr.kakpori is really humble. Our whole tour was was designed by him and was good fun. Definitely an affordable place for your friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yadusharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
1.4 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#22 of 75 in Leh
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lingzi
Hotel Lingzi
#16 of 75 in Leh
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#12 of 75 in Leh
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravan Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravan Centre

Address: Skara Road, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range: £71 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravan Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aesthetically built in the traditional architectural style of Ladakh, Hotel Caravan Centre is set amidst serene ambiance of Skara, an exclusive part of Leh, capital of Ladakh. It is conveniently located midway between Leh Airport (3 kms) and the City Centre (2 kms). Caravan Centre is a centrally heated "Deluxe-A" class Mid-Range Hotel, offering well-appointed guest rooms and suites, all with en-suite facilities, duly supported with professional management and personalized service, and enjoying the ambiance of a resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravan Centre Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing