We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality that make you feel like home!!!”
Review of Hotel Mandala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mandala
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Reviewed 15 September 2013

6 friends - trip to Ladakh - 10 days. All age between 20 - 35.

Reason of given above details as the way we were been treated in the place called heaven and they made us feel like another heaven. Taken care of every minute details for our entire itinerary whether it is for carrying hot bags or food or best places to hang out in between.

Specially food - from momos to pizza or say chinese, parathas etc. Every night we had some or other special thing arranged for us.

Full fun and the stay was amazing.

Whole heartedly must check in hotel to enjoy the best hospitality you can imagine. Just feel like home.

During trip do's and dont's informed earlier to be taken care at that altitude. Really helped!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pratibha_Periwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mandala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotels usually cash-in on luxury to make an impression. Sensual lighting, super-soft beds, swanky coffee shops and all that jazz. But one doesn’t often come across hotels which leave an impression based solely on their service.

I had been to Leh-Ladakh in 2012 with my family and was yearning for a trip back with friends. And I had absolutely no hesitation in deciding that we would be staying with Hotel Mandala again.

Simple reception, well-kept rooms, clean laundry, prompt response to needs and the very courteous staff are just what you expect when you arrive already breathless due to rarefied oxygen. Even if you arrive at odd hours, say well past breakfast but before lunch, the kitchen would be more than pleased to offer a sumptuous meal. And after you’ve stuffed yourself up to your throat the steward does put you in a dilemma by asking what would be your preferences in lunch. Honestly, their courtesy and eagerness made it hard for us to even politely turn down the question of lunch (lunch was included in our package, of course, but you’d need appetite to fulfill your end of the deal!).

And now enter Mr Karma Jora, the owner of this hotel. In all my travels across India and overseas i haven’t come across a person (let alone a hotel owner) who takes sheer delight in customer delight.

Mr Karma had all our Ladakh excursions planned out for us. Bookings, transport, packed lunches, permits, arrangements at our stays at Nubra, Pangong and Tso Moriri were all taken care of. No hassles. No waiting. Plain, simple seamless. On the evenings at the hotel he made it a point that we enjoyed a barbecue, bon-fire and the like rather than just crashing back to our rooms tired from long journeys. His “what new would you like to do tonight?” attitude is something we looked forward to even after witnessing Ladakh’s majestic grandeur in full.

I must mention here that Mr Karma took special care of each of us, talking to each of us in person rather than just one group coordinator. On the occasion when we requested him to extend our Nubra valley excursion till Turtuk village he expressed concern only regarding travel fatigue and offered to arrange overnight stays at Turtuk at a moment’s notice. At no point was there a worry of additional cost (only afterward, that too nominal). Mind you, it takes a big heart and a sporting spirit to carry that off. Hats off to you, Mr Karma!

Unfortunately, one of us suffered high altitude sickness. Mr Karma’s response to rush to the hospital (even tough this wasn’t an emergency) would put some of the world’s best emergency medical services to shame! Touching, that. Needless to say, our consequent excursion got adjusted “automatically”.

To sum it up, let me put it this way: it is one thing to stay at a hotel; but it is altogether different staying at a friend’s. Mr Karma and Hotel Mandala’s warmth makes you feel you have cozied up at a childhood friend’s place. I can’t help but marvel at this feeling.

Room Tip: All rooms face south. Do opt for the suite in case you are a family.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MukulChaudhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel Manadala is a good hotel for the price, good rooms and good hospitality. What makes this hotel stand out is the warmth of its owner Mr Karma ji. Karmaji not only gave us good rates for the rooms but planned out our entire travel and stay in Ladakh and he is highly recommended to anyone planning a visit to Ladakh. What topped off a fabulous trip was his packing up of food for us without even asking him to do so while bidding us adieu. His personal attention ensured that our trip was indeed memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkuBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Mr karma of Mandala hotel just blew our mind with his impeccable service. He not only gave us the good deal but went out his way to ensure all the travel and stay arrangements are spic and span. He did all the arrangements in ladak. He provided us with the SIM card since our connection was not working and also gave us complimentary dinner and breakfast.
He is the man to be trusted if you are in Ladakh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neervipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Initially when we checked in, i was not happy to see the rooms and the location but its much closer to the market, at a distance of 1 kms. They serve decent food. The should improve a little on their food quality, the hotel has apple trees in its garden and a nice sit out area outside, Dont expect too much regarding the view as it is situated in one corner and surrounded by buildings. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quiet else if you take a room on the ground floor near the reception...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very good hotel, good location. Walkable distance from Leh main market. Service staff were very courteous and polite. Food is decent, but could be better. Rooms are pretty decent. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A good hotel for stay. Nice location. Close to market place, just 10 minutes walking from market. Rooms are nice, big and warm, clean and properly maintained. Bathrooms are also clean. Do not expect much regarding view from room as it is mainly surrounded by buildings, hotels. Food is not at all up to the mark. Better to take meals in the close by restaurants... Do not expect anything more than tea if you are in the hotel around 6 in the evening, as cooks get busy to prepare for dinner, and even an order for Pakoda is being rejected....Hotel staffs are good and always ready to help you. The rooms are not equipped with the running hot water, hot water is available two times a day, morning and evening, but, if required, you can ask any staff for it. Over all a good property to stay at Leh within your budget.

Room Tip: Take a room in the ground floor and avoid taking stairs as it causes breathing issue.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NileshBurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.9 mi away
The Silk Route Ladakh
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nalanda Ladakh
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lingzi
Hotel Lingzi
#14 of 75 in Leh
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Kaal
The Kaal
#12 of 75 in Leh
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Auspicious Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Mogol Hotel
The Mogol Hotel
#30 of 75 in Leh
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandala

Address: Fort Road, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range: £35 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mandala 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mandala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mandala Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing