We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Fun time in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gawaling International
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were 4 couples who found ourselves at Leh during Aug2011. We were promptly picked up from the airport & taken to the hotel. We were welcomed by the staff with traditional flags put around our neck. It took some time for them to provide 4 rooms; since some of us had to use the bathroom after a long journey from Bangalore - they provided 1 room immediately.
During our stay, since some of them had problems climbing to 2nd floor ; they shifted our entire group of 10 people to rooms that were available in the ground floor. We just wanted to be together & enjoy as a group which the staff understood & catered to.
With regard to food, agree it is very repetitive, but the staff always asked us how we would prefer & tried to prepare according to our taste. Plus point is that they use vegetables from their backyard - fresh & organic. During our trip to Pangong, they even packed aloo paranthas for us which was very tasty.

Room is very spacious & bright. They do clean it everyday. Hot water is only available for couple of hours in the morning & evening. On the day of our return, we had to leave 5AM but wanted to fresh up before. So we requested the staff to provide hot water by 4AM. They went out of the way & provided hot water for us. This was very much helpful.

My bit shout to "Ramesh" who really cared for our group, taking care of food, engaging with us, providing hot water (he had to get up at 3AM to get hot water so early). You made our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhumathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

Visited Leh in the month of May. Its the start of tourist season. The hotel is well maintained. This review is for the the Delux room of the hotel. Cant say how the other rooms are.

The room was in a very good condition and well maintained.
It was a traditional type of room with modern ameneties. Room is equipped with a LCD television and one can get all major entertainment and news channels.
The hotel has a generator facility as there are frequent power cuts.

Hot water is supplied only for 2 to 2.5 hours inthe morning and evenings which i believe is with most other hotels in the city. Cold water is available 24 hours.

Bathroom was very clean with expensive fittings. Normal toiletries are supplied.

Food of this hotel is good and limited room service is available.

Staff is very courteous.
Internet is available but service is not very reliable.

Overall the stay was very comfortable. A person who is used to stay at luxurious hotels can opt for the higher end room of this hotel and wont be disappointed.
Considering that Leh is a small place, one cannot expect 5 star hotel facilities in the area.

One advice to all the people who are reading this review.. Only postpaid mobile connections of Aircel, Airtel, Vodafone, and BSNL work here. But i would suggest that one should go in for BSNL as the signal is available even in remote places. Other networks work only in LEH city.

Room Tip: Take the top floor room which are higher category room. BUt elderly people should opt for lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller_diary_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

OK, first the positives: Rooms were reasonably clean. The ones on the first and second floors were spacious and had a nice view. However, we also spent one night in a ground floor room which was not as spacious and lacked privacy (the window looked onto the main hotel entrance, as a result of which we had to always keep the curtains closed).

But the negatives far outweigh the positives. The service was lousy and the food was terrible. To give you a few examples of just how bad it was:
1. On our day of arrival, we were both down with altitude sickness and our room was in the top floor (no lift). We called up the restaurant and requested them to send us a simple meal to our room. Despite mentioning the fact that both of us were sick, they refused to provide us with room service and made us walk all the way down to the restaurant.
2. For breakfast on one of the days, we asked for bread toast. We were shocked to find mould (fungus) on the bread that was served. We returned this immediately and asked for a replacement and even more shockingly, we were once again served with the same old stale, spoilt bread. Keeping in mind how cold the weather is in Leh, the bread must have been extremely old stock.

We found the food in general to be very bad: too very oily and not at all tasty. During the time that we were there, all the staff in the hotel were migrant workers from West Bengal. Bengali cuisine was the only type of food available and that too of poor quality. The staff did not make any effort whatsoever to provide some local Ladakhi food. It seemed as though we were in rural West Bengal, which spoilt the Ladakhi experience.

I would NOT recommend staying in this hotel at all. We subsequently stayed in much smaller hotels in Nubra Valley and Mulbekh, which offered far better service and food despite their remote location.

By the way, on the topic of local food, we found a really good cafeteria in the square close to the Gompa (right next to the Leh market) run by a Ladakhi family. They served really tasty, simple Ladakhi fare. Do try their Chu-Tagi, Skyu and Butter tea.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coromandeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had stayed during August 2012, and it was a very good experience for both of us.
One thing I would like to mention - Food Food and Food - it was just outstanding. I mean whatever you request them to cook, they'll cook and it's delicious. We felt like eating homely food even if we were so far from home.

The staff had put personal efforts for making our stay comfortable. Rooms were clean. Basic room amenities were available. Telephone connection on the room could have been better.

Overall it was a pleasant experience and I will recommend this hotel and fortunately if I get a chance to visit Ladakh in future.. it'll be again my preferred place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are gr8..especially rooms, which have 2 balconies.. and you can have breath t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank hellosmruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This hotel is the worst offer in leh. Room are not dirty bu we had to ask for a change of pillow covers evidently used already by others. What is worst is the rest and expecially the food. We had as lunch and dinner only leftover of previous days in some cases the food was acid. The restaurant is very dirty. We strongly suggest kel 12 and other travel agencies to move to different hotels cleaner an more professional that are availble in leh.

Room Tip: Avoid it. That is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

good & comfortable environment inside the hotel..delicious food..quick & caring services..hot water availability is a bit troublesome..well maintained room..affectionate behaviour of the staffs..nice place to be in ..home away from home may be....

Room Tip: try to be in the lower floors..since breaking stairs take lots of energy..but to have agreat scenic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasenjit012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I visited the Hotel in last May. The staff is very cooperative and a nice place to live. The views from hotel are very wonderful. I would always be ready to go back in Hotel for holidays. Every thing was wonderful. The food was very delicious. Good call services. In all every thing was perfectly ok.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RinkuAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.6 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#20 of 75 in Leh
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Silk Route Ladakh
0.0 mi away
The Mogol Hotel
The Mogol Hotel
#30 of 75 in Leh
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karakoram Hotel
Karakoram Hotel
#26 of 75 in Leh
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.2 mi away
Hotel Omasila
Hotel Omasila
#16 of 75 in Leh
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gawaling International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gawaling International

Address: Upper Tukcha Road | Lower Changspa, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Leh
Price Range: £61 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gawaling International 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gawaling International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gawaling International Hotel
Hotel Gawaling International Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing