We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money buys you a hotel but you need class to run it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Namgyal Palace
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Leh
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Namgyal Palace for 16 days and these are our comments
1. Rooms are good for the rates the hotel charges, though some fixtures in the room and bathroom needs fixing
2. Reception is COLD; the owners are inhospitable and refuse to smile even when YOU wish them.
3. The hired staff is excellent, both house keeping and the restaurant.
4. The food alternates between excellent and bad; the Chinese menu is good.
5. Location is good and very close to the town.
6. Be prepared to pay 2% extra if you pay by credit card.

Room Tip: Take it or leave it... that seems to be the hotel's policy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during our trip to Leh. Good value for money. Amazing rooms and fantastic views from the hotels upper rooms. Its a comparatively new hotel, hence the service is not upto the mark.
PRO's
1)The hotel was unexpectedly good and very clean.
2) Fantastic views
3) great in-room amenities
4) Very close to the market
5) Ready to help staff
6) Cheerfully managed family business.

CON's
1) Service not upto the mark
2) Bad food (but you cannot expect good food anywhere in LEH)
3) Hot Water only at specified duration.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushik1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in this hotel. Location was very good as it was the heart of leh town. Vey neat, well maintained lawn. Food not unto the mark for the price we paid..I felt we could have tried some other accommodation also. Staff very friendly though!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UsHarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

we booked hotel namgyal palce 1 month before our arrival at leh. but my experience for leh holiday was that GOOD PLACE WITH BAD HOTEL SERVICE.
as per the itenary given by hotel they will pick us from airport, 5 day sight seeing and drop at airport. but when i arrived on 18/05/11 no one came to pick us and after arrival when i called them then only thay send the taxi to pick us that takes almost 2 hours. we have to wait at airport for 2 hours.
during our stay we realise that thay dont have any idea about the itineary they sent us.
when we called on room services for tea the answer we get were "ABHI LUNCH TIME HAI." "ABHI DINNER TIME HAI".
once we called them for 1 empty glass so that i give medicines to my child answer was "DINNER IS GOING ON WE CANT GIVE U GLASS".
so much of these types of non senses answers we get when ever me or my wife called for room services.
as per our itinary our visit for nubra valley date were 22/5 and 23/5. when we go for nubra valley and at the check post the officer did not give us permeit to go for nubra because the permit required for visit nubra valley mentioning last date 22/05. thanks to that oficer who give us chance to talk with their S.P at leh in their hot line, as there were no mobile network of our phones at that place, and after our humble request the S.p. gives permission to go ahead.
there is no resturent in the hotel, they have fixed menu for the breakfast, lunch and dinner, and we did not like it at all.

so much of these types of experience we had in hotel namgyal palce thats why we fill that our holiday at leh was spoiled because of our wrong choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vikashssf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Nice Property, suits the pocket when you are at this wonderful place - Leh. One should ideally check into their suite room, costs about Rs. 4000/- during off seasons. Best time to go to Leh is June & July. Lot of places to see. Best part about the Hotel is food. Very good food as other places in Leh - food is something one might struggle with. I think people there use some different kind of oil so one takes time to adjust. Also the altitude creates some problems. Food at this hotel is delightful. Homely food and service is very apt. One should definitely check into this hotel when you are in Leh. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pranaygandhi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our's was a package tour and our staying arrangment was made in this hotel and we stayed there for 8 days. By seeing the architecture only, we feel that we have landed in a very good place. First imprssion is long lasting. The hotel is well maintained, neat and clean and looks beautiful. Staff members attend you with smiling faces and are alway ready to help. Centralised heating system is not available but they try to compensate it with hot water bags. Mostly we had Indian food there and it was more than ok. However, the packaged food provided by them for long journey needs improvement. Personally I feel, instead of providing packaged food, as it becomes cold and hard due to climatic condition, they should tie up with some hotels on the way so one can have hot food.
Location of the hotel is very good and we get panaromoc view of the mountains. We cetainly have good memories with this hotel, so big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajesh_kamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We 4 friends planned a vacation in Leh.After reaching Leh after a tiring journey from Srinagar we started looking for decent accommodation in Leh City. We saw hotels like City Palace,Fakira but somehow could not get what we were looking for. Finally we reached Hotel Namgyal Palace and it looked beautiful from outside.Reception at hotel was also nice.After some negotiations we could got a good deal and we selected this hotel for our 6 nights stay.
We were bit surprised and embarrassed when 4 girls arrived to pickup our luggage as we are not used to see girls in such job however hotel manager told us that this is the way in Ladakh region and we need feel bad about it.
Rooms were nicely done and comfortable to stay however trouble started next day when we got up little late and found that water in bathrooms was chilled.When we inquired with reception we were told that hot water is available between 6 AM to 8 AM as there is only one boiler in hotel and water in same gets over by 8 AM and it takes another 2 hrs to water to boil again.However on our request they provided us bucket of hot water.
In evening we visited hotel's restaurant and again we were bit surprised to know that they provide only buffet option and do not have menu to choose and again we need to negotiate with them to provide us some dishes as we did not wanted whole buffet.
We stayed for 6 nights in this hotel and felt even though the services were not excellent but hotel management was very accommodating our requests.I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who look for hotel accommodation with decent budget option.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naveengoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leh hotels
0.2 mi away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#17 of 77 in Leh
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Reenam Hotel
Reenam Hotel
#19 of 77 in Leh
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gomang Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
OYO 5052 The Auspicious Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Namgyal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Namgyal Palace

Address: Fort Road, Leh 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Leh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Leh
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Namgyal Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Namgyal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namgyal Palace Hotel
Hotel Namgyal Palace Leh, Ladakh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing