We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laika Boutique Stay
Ranked #1 of 556 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

At the end of our 3 weeks in India we stayed for 3 nights at Laika hotel. it was great. our first few inquiry emails were always answered promptly - a very good sign. when we arrived you could sense the informal and generous welcome. Ajith and Laika were very good hosts. The service we had , is about the best I have ever had from a boutique hotel or B&B. they were always on hand to make sure everything was ok. They made sure we had a good plan for seeing Bangalore , suggested great places to go to , places to eat . And the suggestions were geared to our tastes and interests. The rooms and bathrooms ( we had two) were impeccably clean,large and modern. there were homely touches and the personal decorations throughout. Breakfast was a feast in its own right. Personally i would recommend anyone to stay there. it will make your stay in Bangalore a very welcome and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly_a_lot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    33
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
92
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

It's an amazingly relaxed, stylish and welcoming place. Laika and her husband are gonnna make you feel at home immediately, can give you great tips to explore Bangalore. They're really in this with their heart and soul.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herrndorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This was one of the best B&Bs that I've ever stayed! If someone was to ask me what is the most memorable about Laika, I would say, first, amazing hospitality by the owners, and, second, absolutely delicious fruits which I was offered every morning ;) The Indian breakfast - dosas with sambar and other exciting side dishes - was truly a great experience! I enjoyed everything about it! Laika also offers free wireless internet (while many of my colleagues, who stayed in a larger and a more expensive hotel, had to pay for the internet additionally). I would definitely recommend everyone travelling to Bangalore to stay in Laika! Especially if it is your first time in Bangalore (or even in India).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiudmilaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Nearly a year after my trip I cannot stop thinking about the quiet comfort of this serene oasis. Everything from the gorgeous and ultra clean room to the extremely caring and comforting owners made this trip exceptional. Each morning a delicious breakfast is prepared by your choosing and the kitchen remains open all night for fresh fruit, treats, and delicious tea. I have never felt more at home in a hotel or interacted with more compassionate and caring owners. The room was exceptionally clean and tranquil It was simply the perfect spot. Each room is furnished with stunning furniture and is unique. I heard about this magical spot from a friend and please pass the word for anyone going to Bangalore this is the place to stay. I would travel all the way from New York City to Bangalore just to stay at Laika again. If you ever have the opportunity this is not to be missed!

Room Tip: Email ahead of time to discuss your dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spring1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Going beyond the adjectives (great, fantastic, etc.) this is to provide some factual information about what makes this place so good:
1. The rooms are furnished with great taste (exactly what you see in the pictures), are immaculate, are very large, and the bathroom has a window that makes you feel you are partly outside but still with your privacy. There is complimentary bottle of water every day. Of course it includes free wireless internet. It is not an exaggeration that such a room in a hotel in an exotic place would cost in excess of $800 per night.
2. The location is perfect. Very quiet and detached - you feel like you are out of the city -, but less than five minutes walk from MG Road and around ten mins walk from Brigade Road (the equivalent of Oxford Street for India). The hotel is also very easy for taxi drivers to find (or for guests to find their way to it when they are out).
3. The service is warm and impeccable. The owner(s) are just great people. For example, they were awake at 6.30 to prepare breakfast (which is also very good, with many fruit plates and anything else a reasonable person may wish) for us because we had to leave at 7.30 for our meetings. Or the owner drove some other guests to their destination because they were late! More than happy to help with everything. The owners are also very interesting people to talk to and to learn about India.

There is more to write but the above should suffice. Bangalore is a city that will surprise those who go to India for the first time. It simply shows the emerging economic strength of the country.

A couple of tips for those who travel for the first time to Bangalore.
Airport. As you arrive in the new state of the art airport, go directly out of the entrance. There are metered taxis waiting - like in all advanced cities in the world - (the price to be paid to go to the city should be around 600 to 750 rupies the maximum). DO NOT follow the representatives of in-airport taxi companies who wait at the arrivals exit to solicit you, they charge near double (1100 rupies they charged me) for exactly the same service.
Bangalore city. They drive a bit better than in Delhi. There are works everywhere as they are developing the city infrastructure. Be careful as you walk, there are open holes in the pavements or in the street without any signs or protective structures. India is a very safe place. There may be some touts, but no violent crime - which shows their superior culture to that of us westerners.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian10021974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed here in June 2011 and can honestly say, its was absolutely fantastic. Laika BS manages to combine the warmness and coziness of a homestay yet with all the convenience of a large hotel. Everyone here from the owner Ajit to the staff in the kitchen and housekeeping were delightful. Travelling alone as a single lady, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel for solo female travellers amongst others.

The location of the hotel is very convenient and shoping areas are within walking distance or at most about Rs.20-Rs.50 using auto rickshaws. The hotel itself is a lovely green haven and a calming oasis away from the constant hooting and noise of the city centre. It was a pleasure to come back to the hotel after a long day of sighseeing and shopping.

I cannot fault anything at this hotel and I've stayed at some very nice hotels around the world. By the time I left, I felt I was leaving people I'd known for a long time- a testimony to the wonderful hosting skills of the owners. This will be my home away from home when I'm in Bangalore.

In short, Indian hospitality at its very best!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Ajith and Laika run a clean bed and breakfast, with tasty food, reliable WiFi and aircon, and on a quiet back street, close to good shopping places. It is reasonably central in Bangalore. Ajith and Laika stopped at nothing to make my stay comfortable and useful. They fixed me up with a really friendly and reliable driver for 2 days, they introduced me to friends of theirs who could help me with my research, took me to their local club, and they were good company. They also organised takeaways on the nights I wanted to stay in and work. The B&B only has up to around 8 guests staying at any one time, so there is a friendly feel to the place. I really loved staying here. I thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 658 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#7 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#19 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Trinity Suites
#8 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#10 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laika Boutique Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laika Boutique Stay

Property: Laika Boutique Stay
Address: 51/24 Rathna Avenue | Near Trinity Circle, Bengaluru 560025, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laika Boutique Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Mahatma Gandhi Road, Laika is a unique destination offering splendid seclusion in the heart of Bangalore city. You can relax with a wide range of food and beverage options or shop till you drop at Bangalore's most popular malls which are just a stone's throw. This homestay offers the perfect combination of uncompromising hospitality and amenities that a business traveller or tourist would require. Laika is an interesting pot-pourii of different places and time, the pieces present in the building are specifically chosen from old houses and monuments recognized for their heritage value. The interior is designed in the simple luxurious elegance of a bygone era. The beds narrate the history of ancient homes of Kerala, the tables bespeak the Portuguese contribution to Goan homes and the window louvers stand proud in their testament to Bangalore's historical mansions. The timbers on the gates bear the mark of thousands of trains, for they were a part of Indian Railways.S. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Laika Boutique Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laika Boutique Stay Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing