We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best start we ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laika Boutique Stay
Ranked #1 of 568 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ijmuiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best start we ever had”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

With Laika and Ajith we found in Bangalore the best guesthouse we ever had for starting our cycling
trip in Kerala. Ajith arranged the transfer for our bikes from the airport and the boxes could stay in the garage
We loved the daily breakfast with continental food and every day also another local dish.The room was very clean and although the location was near the busy centre it was very quiet and in the morning you could hear the birds
They were very helpful and gave us a lot of tips.By mail I got already from Ajith a website about cycling in India.
And he gave us also the name and phone nr from Stephen, an englishman who organizes cycle-tours in and around Mysore
And we also got the offer to stay on their farm, 90 km cycling from Bangalore and in the direction of Mysore
It looks like paradise for us staying there in a beautiful nature and a lovely lady living nearby took care of us and was cooking the most delicious indian meals.
And several times Laika showed us nice sights s the flower marked and Nandi Hills
My wife even was invited for a indian wedding while she was rather back in Bangalore
Both Ajith and Laika had so many good ideas which made our first trip to India of great value

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willem s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    34
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
48
92
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The consistent excellent reviews are not misleading, this is a wonderful choice in the centre of Bangalore. The character of the property belies its very central position, tropical birds were in evidence and we loved our pots of tea in the sitting room. Our room was well equipped and comfortable, and breakfast was superb. However, the undoubted highlight of our stay was the delightful company of Ajith and Laika. They are magnificent hosts, we had a genuinely warm welcome after a tiring journey and during our short stay we felt as if we were staying with friends - interesting and interested, extremely helpful and keen to ensure we enjoyed our time there. They clearly love the opportunities they have to meet different people, they skilfully create social gatherings if that is what visitors want without any pressure, and we loved the ambience in their house. A fantastic start to our latest tour of this beautiful country.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Laika's is cosy, comfortable and relaxed. It is spotless, and very tastefully done. The rooms are spacious and you feel settled in from the moment you arrive. It is a home away from home.
Laika Boutique Stay is truly a haven in the heart of a bustling city. It is also surrounded by greenery, and is very quiet for such a busy area. I will stay there on every visit of mine !

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madulica13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Laika and Ajith are the most welcoming and thoughtful of hosts at this wonderful Bangalore guesthouse. Our few days in Bangalore at Laika's Boutique Homestay became not just a stopover, but a highlight of our Western India tour. Laika and her expansive husband Ajith are such bright and vivid personalities that we felt so privileged being part of their community of friends. We were kindred spirits enjoying the wins and losses during an afternoon at Bangalore's horseraces followed next day by an unexpected pleasure in visiting a thoroughbred and equestrian establishment....thank you Laika for your time and generosity. So many lasting memories and stories to tell our Australian racing friends. Not only is Laika's Homestay immacutely clean and comfortable due to good management and the efforts by the staff, especially by the sweet young married couple who maintain housekeeping, but Mr Sridar in his capacity as the Homestay's usual driver is comforting with his steady driving under India's trying road conditions. Breakfast is another added special event with laughter and story-swapping, enhanced by the best sweet jams in all of India, created by Martha in the kitchen. We commend this Homestay as offering a traveller, indeed, a home with a welcoming family.

Room Tip: Top floor corner room is sunny and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hend0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Laika, Ajith and their have built a wonderful atmosphere around their places and have created a space which immediately makes you feel welcome and at home. The rooms are spacious, clean, and decorated with much love. The bathrooms are great and the shower hot and with great pressure. A strong Internet signal and great living room areas as well as a balcony to sit on. My boyfriend and I stayed for four nights and had an amazing time. The breakfast is simply the greatest I've ever tasted and Laika and Ajith are such gracious hosts, offering help with organizing transfers, helping us plan the day, giving us advice on what to visit and where to eat, took us on walks and were just like parents to us. Their son took us to their second home in Mahseer valley which was also wonderfully located and we immensely enjoyed the trip. This place is well worth the money. I wish I could have stayed longer. Hope to be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baralette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After a back breaking, nerve stretching,long car journey from Hampi to walk into this calm, quiet oasis was lovely. It was the cleanest of all the homestays I stayed at in December and early January.Comfy bed, lovely well appointed bathroom and well situated just off M.G.Road Bangalore's major road within walking distance of a restaurant and a couple of tourist shops. Laika took me shopping which was fun especially as I am a none shopper. I would recommend this to anyone especially if like me you are travelling alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorelie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in Laika for three nights in the first week of January. Laika is centrally located, very close to Trinity Circle. As most taxi drivers are unsure of common landmarks, it is advisable to call Laika and let them guide the taxis.

The rooms are very spacious with nice beds. There is also plenty of living space outside the rooms.

Laika and Ajith gave us free access to the refrigerator to store our food items, mostly for my daughter who is a very picky eater. They also gave valuable advice on transportation, shopping etc. (e.g. Mother Earth for ethnic clothes at the Mantri Mall). We will definitely stay here next time we visit Bangalore.

Additional tips: Adiga's at the Trinity Metro stop is a cheap and reliable South Indian restaurant. There is also a small kiosk just outside Laika that can provide you with bread, milk, soft drinks etc.

For transportation, it is advisable to use call Taxis such as Meru Cabs instead of relying on auto rickshaws. It is a nightmare bargaining down their stratospheric prices. When they agree to use the meter, the meters run so fast that a taxi would have been cheaper.

Room Tip: The rooms have different alignments and configurations, as Laika was originally conceived as an apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicandarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,928 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 664 in Bengaluru
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elanza Hotel
#59 of 664 in Bengaluru
572 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#17 of 664 in Bengaluru
672 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#8 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laika Boutique Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laika Boutique Stay

Property: Laika Boutique Stay
Address: 51/24 Rathna Avenue | Near Trinity Circle, Bengaluru 560025, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laika Boutique Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Mahatma Gandhi Road, Laika is a unique destination offering splendid seclusion in the heart of Bangalore city. You can relax with a wide range of food and beverage options or shop till you drop at Bangalore's most popular malls which are just a stone's throw. This homestay offers the perfect combination of uncompromising hospitality and amenities that a business traveller or tourist would require. Laika is an interesting pot-pourii of different places and time, the pieces present in the building are specifically chosen from old houses and monuments recognized for their heritage value. The interior is designed in the simple luxurious elegance of a bygone era. The beds narrate the history of ancient homes of Kerala, the tables bespeak the Portuguese contribution to Goan homes and the window louvers stand proud in their testament to Bangalore's historical mansions. The timbers on the gates bear the mark of thousands of trains, for they were a part of Indian Railways.S. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Laika Boutique Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laika Boutique Stay Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing