We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Afghan at The Windsor

The Royal Afghan at The Windsor
Ranked #10 of 10,805 Restaurants in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Vasanth Nagar
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Royal afghan is a great place for occasional splurge. The ambience is just out of the world.. Situated by the poolside...in a place like Bangalore, where the weather is so pleasant. Food was awesome.. Especially dal bukhara,kebab, paneer tikka, sikandari raan.... The service was impeccable. The restaurant mnger Mr. Harsh and one more staff Mukund really took care of us well. All in all a great place!! Shall visit again :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjlakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCWINDSOR, General Manager at The Royal Afghan at The Windsor, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your very nice comments on Royal Afghan.

Your appreciation has been shared with the team at Royal Afghan and all of us are indeed glad that you enjoyed dining here. The Royal Afghan is indeed one of our most prized restaurant and also the most popular restaurant for North West Frontier Cuisine.

At Royal Afghan the culinary fare is authentic to its core, so is the style of serving.

Your recognition of our services and cuisine is highly appreciated. We have shared your appreciative sentiments with our colleagues Harsh and Mukund. May take this opportunity to thank you for the same. We are happy that you enjoyed the ambiance as well.

Look forward to welcoming you back again at the Royal Afghan again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    85
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
341 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“The Mughal Royal...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Windsor is royal hotel and if you choose to have royal indulgence go no where...head to royal afghan ....the best, the rich Mughal royal food in the world ...pricey but worth it...especially Chef JP Singh's Bhukara Daal

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KSPILLAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCWINDSOR, General Manager at The Royal Afghan at The Windsor, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your very delightful comments on Royal Afghan.

Your appreciation has been shared with the team at Royal Afghan and all of us are indeed glad that you enjoyed dining here. The Royal Afghan is indeed one of our most prized restaurant and also the most popular restaurant for North West Frontier Cuisine.

At Royal Afghan the culinary fare is authentic to its core, so is the style of serving.

The Dal Bukhara is indeed a favourite and a must have if you are at the Royal Afghan!

Look forward to welcoming you back again at the Royal Afghan again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Indianised fusion of north western food and called Afghani food ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a very up market restaurant , the only thing originally Afghani is there is no cutlery on the table as the Afghan people like to eat with their hands . The Afghans treat their guest with great respect which you can find here . The food is like regular north Indian food served by staff in Afghani dresses , the Afghani food has an influence of India in the use of spices like saffron, coriander, cardamom and black pepper.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oyster_king007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCWINDSOR, General Manager at The Royal Afghan at The Windsor, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback on Royal Afghan.

Your appreciation has been shared with the team at Royal Afghan and all of us are indeed glad that you enjoyed dining here.

The Royal Afghan is indeed one of our most prized restaurant and also the most popular restaurant for North West Frontier Cuisine.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at the Royal Afghan again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Kebabs and Dal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The ambience is fantastic, esply for a citylike bangalore a sit out restaurant besides the pool side has its advantages
its a cosy area, not too noisy, romantic place afor a couple to spend have a peaceful dinner
Excellent service,
The fish tikka, is mouth watering, never had such good tikkas
The dal is the best you can get in town
Overall a place worth visiting again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anilk1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCWINDSOR, General Manager at The Royal Afghan at The Windsor, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your very nice comments on Royal Afghan.

Truly Royal Afghan has inspired awe for many a year from our guests.

Your appreciation has been shared with the team at Royal Afghan and all of us are indeed glad that you enjoyed dining here. The Royal Afghan is indeed one of our most prized restaurant and also the most popular restaurant for North West Frontier Cuisine.

Your recognition of our services and cuisine is highly appreciated. May I take this opportunity to thank you for the same. We are happy that you enjoyed the ambiance as well.

Thank you once again for your comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at the Royal Afghan again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding North West Frontier Food..........!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

For the food aficionado of persian/afghan/NW food this is the best. Apart from the sumptuous, mouth watering platters try out the bread varieties............the tandoori phool for the veggies and burrah for the non-vegetarians!! Absolutely a must visit. The ambience with the pool and the lawn on a cool Bangalore night is just outstanding. The tree in the corner of the lawn has probably the densest population of parrots anywhere in Bangalore .......... sleeping peacefully in the extraordinary "fragrance" of the kebabs!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MayDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCWINDSOR, General Manager at The Royal Afghan at The Windsor, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your very nice comments on Royal Afghan.

Truly Royal Afghan has inspired awe for many a year from our guests.

Your appreciation has been shared with the team at Royal Afghan and all of us are indeed glad that you enjoyed dining here. The Royal Afghan is indeed one of our most prized restaurant and also the most popular restaurant for North West Frontier Cuisine.

Your recognition of our services and cuisine is highly appreciated. May I take this opportunity to thank you for the same. We are happy that you enjoyed the ambiance as well.

Thank you once again for your comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again at the Royal Afghan again soon.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Afghan at The Windsor also viewed

Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 

Been to The Royal Afghan at The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing