We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in a luxury tent near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Malden, NL
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“A night in a luxury tent near the airport”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

After a long flight from Europe I arrived in the middle of the night in Bangalore. The day before I had find out that there are no hotels at the airport! As I had to spend 8 hours to my next flight I wanted to sleep somewhere close to the airport. There is nothing, except this hotel that is located 12 kms from the airport, a taxi ride of about 15 minutes (210 rupees). It was quite an experience as my taxi driver did not know the hotel and the address as I had it was not very clear. It is located in a rather remote area, where you really think ‘where am I going?’

In the meantime it was 2.30 at night when I arrived. The reception desk was extremely friendly. It turned out to be that they had send a car to the airport to pick me up, which I didn’t know because this was not mentioned to me when I made the reservation, anyway I had to pay for that (300 rupees). The hotel offers accommodation in tents. The tent was very comfortable, a good bed to sleep, although it was quite noisy till late at night. Each tent has its own bathroom. The tents are located in a garden. It is nice to sit on your own deck in the early morning with a newspaper and morning coffee. The hotel arranged the return transportation to the airport as well.

All in all I would stay here again when I have to make a stopover in Bangalore, because it is a tranquil place and it is absolutely no option to travel into Bangalore with its crazy busy traffic (about 1 ½ tot 2 hours by taxi depending on the traffic).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    100
    25
    6
    9
See reviews for
67
28
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here for about 3 nights with some very good friends and a great project. I loved the layout and the tents which are very well done. luxurious is what i;d say about the tents. great food and a lovely walk in the 30 odd acre prpoerty. the biggest advantage is that its 15 min away from the a'port.

Room Tip: chose the tents instead of the rooms if you want to see the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bhupendrasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my sister as we had a 14 hour stopover in Bangalore and the airport is very annoyingly situated around 2hours from the city. This hotel is located around 15 mins from the airport and they organised a pick up and drop off to the airport which was great. You can also rent the rooms for a few hours (as opposed to overnight) so unusual check-in times are no problem. The hotel was fantastic for transit , the rooms are incredibly comfortable, good tv and showers etc. The hotel gardens are very well kept and there is a great lounging area where we spent a lot of the day sitting around, reading. There is a big swimming pool and a badminton court where we spent around an hour with a friendly instructor. There was also a table tennis table, pool table and darts, though we didn't avail of these.
We had both lunch and dinner at the hotel to get a break from airline food and these were more than adequate.
All in all I would highly recommend anyone in transit to stay here, even disregarding it's proximity to the airport it really is a great hotel and very unlike other places i have stayed!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NiCo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We picked this place because we had 8 hours to kill after a delayed flight from France. Only 10 minutes from the airport.

You can book a tent-room for various hourly periods or daily rates. Tents are fine with bathrooms attached. We fiubd the staff very helpful. The grounds were delightful and quiet until the wedding party started to arrive, but even then not so bad.

Good sized pool, food was also good.

Nb journey time to railway took 1hr 45 minutes.

They do a lot of weddings and corporate events, so you probably need to choose your moment.

Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The only idea of staying in luxurious tents tempted us. The tents are excellent. The rates are very high and the class is missing. They have lot of day packages which are taken by companies, so the resort is buzzing with these day users, so there is no privacy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peeyush77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

we stayed in this resort for a two day training camp. The caravan type tent accomodation is a new experience. The ambience and the surrounding is very beautiful and refreshing. Has all the facilities like swimming pool, walking tracks, greenery!!, restaurant, meeting and conference halls etc and all are well maintained. The central building built in typical old Bangalore buildings style with red bricks, open yards, central open yards and old painting reflects real flavour of old bangalore. Even though the tariff is bit high, I think it is worth spending for a relaxed stay, away from a typical hotel atmosphere. The quality of food is very good and the staff is very helpful and fast. WHoever prefers a relaxed, comfort stay, should try this place. Very near to the airport and a walk in the morning in the adjoining country atmosphere is really an experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EXPERTPMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had office picnic to Olde Resort in Bangalore. Very well maintained and discrete place, in other words it’s a reminder of an old Bangalore!

Yummy food, excellent hospitality, big resort with all the facilities! It’s located near Bangalore Airport.

It’s bit expensive resort, certainly great option for corporate get-together. If one can afford it, certainly great idea for family outing as well.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with room at Olde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
1.3 mi away
Clarks Exotica Convention Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
4.3 mi away
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
#180 of 664 in Bengaluru
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#125 of 664 in Bengaluru
544 reviews
23.0 mi away
Holiday Village
Holiday Village
#162 of 664 in Bengaluru
153 reviews
7.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort

Property: Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort
Address: 206 Utopia | Tarabanahalli, Chikjala po, Near Bangalore International Airport, Bengaluru 562157, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 815 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Olde Bangalore (pronounced as "Old Bangalore") is like taking a slow and lazy trip back in time - hard to imagine something like this in the middle of a city gone wild! Waking up to bird-song and retiring to the sound of silence are luxuries now available only miles away from habitation, unless you are at Olde Bangalore. As the cool breeze of nostalgia wafts through your mind, prepare to soak yourself in the soul of a Bangalore. Come, let us pamper you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Olde Bangalore Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Bangalore Hotel And Resort
Olde Bangalore Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing