We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 of better prices for internet access, but management gets you what you pay for (less)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel T.A.P. Gold Crest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel T.A.P. Gold Crest
Ranked #515 of 648 Hotels in Bengaluru
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“1 of better prices for internet access, but management gets you what you pay for (less)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

They invested a lot into beautiful design and a superior facility, day-to-day operations execution was subpar, though.
Moved from another hotel to this one during my 2-week stay, to get internet access. On the phone, receptionist said they would match Expedia rate; but when I arrived to check in, at first they dragged their feet on honoring that price – only agreed to give it to me when I started to walk out.
The building is new, architectural design and finish were clearly impressive when it was built. Very, very nice view from the terrace, especially at dusk/night.
Pity they don't appear to invest anywhere near to that to keep it up - some rooms were dark from burnt-out lights. When that happened in the room I picked, they could not replace the fancy overhead rotating colors main light; I had to change rooms instead (apparently it takes the electrician to do that, and they were not sure when he would be there to replace the LED light source). Likewise, they seem to have problems replacing bathroom plumbing fixtures when they break.
All rooms have a little refrigerator and a hot water pot to prepare extra tea/coffee.
Housekeeping does a good job making up the beds (sheets, blankets folded beautifully); sad to say bathroom cleaning was sometimes hit or miss.
Agree with other posters about the hotel's restaurant: free breakfast that comes with the room is OK, but you need to allow a lot of time for the kitchen to get it to you. About no visible cheese in the cheese sandwich, though - apparently that's true in Bangalore, a different sandwich shop likewise served me a sandwich where the cheese was baked into the bread itself.
Auto rickshaw driver got lost, and demanded even more money when I got there the first time; seems the M.T.B. Road is not well known. Hotel is only 12 meters from Minerva Circle, once I learned to ask for Minerva Circle, had no problem. Wish management would slip that into the web site, would help customers find the place.
As one moves further into M.T.B. Road from Minerva Circle, the neighborhood quickly shows as industrial (lots of auto repair shops) and unkempt (due to dumping of extra fruits/vegetables from the nearby vegetable market on the street curb). Nearby temples compete to have loudest public loudspeaker system for their call to prayer, easily penetrated my tightly-shut windows at 2, then 3 AM etc. (wish the different temples would agree at least to synchronize their middle-of-the-night call to prayer time, instead of staggering them 1/2 hour to an hour apart - just when I got re-settled down from the last one…)
Unlike the previous hotel where I stayed, hot water remained available even in the middle of the night. However, they do shut down the wireless internet around midnight or so.
What I liked: impressive design, refrigerator in the room, usable work desk for my laptop, great view from the terrace, free breakfast, the doorman in gorgeous period uniform, airport transportation arranged smoothly, overall courteous and nice staff; really, really reasonable prices.
What I disliked: low priority to maintenance (replacing broken plumbing fixtures, light fixtures), somewhat slow kitchen, internet turned off at night, location difficult for drivers to find.
As long as you accept that you get what you pay for, and that this place is, indeed, run on a tight budget; this is a good deal if you don't have a generous expense budget for lodging.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnnamMyx_Ki_Roule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    48
    51
    23
    60
See reviews for
68
31
27
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

Location: It’s near to bus stand but the approach road is very narrow. Construction: The building is newly built and nice to look at. Breakfast: The South Indian breakfast was good but the north Indian breakfast which only comprised of Puri and sabzi was not good. As the potato in sabzi was not well prepared. Accommodation: The rooms were neat and tidy but size of the room was not sufficient to accommodate 3 beds. Service: The hotel staff was polite and courteous. Transportation: Transportation to airport (one side) is provided only in non-peak season which is not good. Overall it was a nice stay but space crunch was something that was annoying.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pavan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

centrally located in Minerva area.ask for Minerva circle and try locating it in a road parallel to J C Road.
There are some other restaurants near by for food.
Overall, a good hotel, barring minor glitches.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank RAJ53Hyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

I happened to visit this hotel on an official trip with one of my colleague. I chose this hotel based on the reviews from the net.

Highlights:
1. The hotel is in the heart of the city and well connected, easy to locate and more known to any taxi drivers which eased out the finding time of this hotel.
2. The cleanliness is one of the other highlight of this hotel which welcomes with a bright & beautiful reception. You will have a pleasant welcome when you enter this hotel.

Lowlights:
1. The rooms was not upto the expectations, especially the bathroom where the tap was leaking. Ventilation is minimal.
2. The service also was not as expected. there is still scope for improvement w.r.t. response time. Though the servicemen are polite, the waiting time is more between and order & service.
3. For the value they charge, the room can still be better in terms of facilities and service.

Overall, I can rate this hotel as average and people visiting with more expectations can either reduce their expectations or look for better hotels.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I along with my husband and child stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days. We reached the hotel early morning and the manager was attentive and made us comfortable.
The rooms are bit small but neatly kept and clean. All toiletries are provided every day. Room service is quick.
But, one thing ,while at the time of booking room they offered us complimentry breakfast for 3 person daily, but after the first day's breakfast they said that it was only for 2 person as we were staying in double bed room.
Food at the restaurant was very bad. We ordered south indian breakfast , dosa was of stale batter, vada was refried and sabhar was insufficient. For tea or coffee it will take extra 10 min. Cheese sandwich had no cheese and when we complained the manager said that the cheese has got inside the bread so it was not visible.
lunch and dinner were also worst.
Staying at hotel is nice as it is close to minerva circle which is a famous landmark in bangalore and is easily accessed by all types of transport.
Hotel is calm and cool and away from the noisy traffic sounds.

  • Liked — Pin drop silence after being all the rooms occupied
  • Disliked — restaurant is pathetic. Either close it or change the staff and cook.
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travellover905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

I called and booked this hotel. when I arrived in the hotel it was almost night . my wife was already sick and both of us were tired. The receptionist in the hotel couldn't pull my reservation. he started asking my Id and my wife's Id. I gave my Id and my wife was searching for hers. Initially I was polite thinking that this was the new process in Blore. later the receptionist started asking if we have marriage proof and was eye balling at me. I was totally frustrated and humiliated by the hotel staffs and left the hotel with a quite a bit of irritation. This country must have a Non descrimination policy as we are out of state and from a different religion, The hotel guy took us for granted and we haplessly left the hotel ...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooljavaperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
0.1 mi away
Minerva Residency Hotel
Minerva Residency Hotel
#273 of 648 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Signature Inn
The Signature Inn
#154 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.3 mi away
UG Regal
UG Regal
#388 of 648 in Bengaluru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
UG Grand
UG Grand
#562 of 648 in Bengaluru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chinna's Residency
Chinna's Residency
#236 of 648 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Enzo International
Hotel Enzo International
#367 of 648 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel T.A.P. Gold Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel T.A.P. Gold Crest

Property: Hotel T.A.P. Gold Crest
Address: No. 37, M.T. B. Road. Near Minerva Circle | Opposite road to Nandhini restaurant, Parallel to J.C. Road, Bengaluru 560002, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #515 of 648 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel T.A.P. Gold Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel T.A.P. Gold Crest is our 3rd Hotel under T.A.P. Hotels Pvt Ltd with 74 beautifully crafted rooms offering comfort, convenience, peace and privacy, excellent location, luxurious amenities and value for money. It is a Luxury Business class three star hotel strategically located in Minerva Circle, Bangalore – which is about a walk able distance from the beautiful Lalbagh Botanical garden. In a world where the rush hour is 24/7, we offer an exclusive new environment where business and leisure complement each other perfectly. In short, helping you ‘find your centre’. Hotel T.A.P. Goldcrest is a true blend of royal charm and modern style with an epitome of understated elegance and impeccable hospitality. The hotel is the perfect place to rejuvenate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel T.A.P. Gold Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing