We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guhantara Review”
Review of Guhantara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bengaluru
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guhantara
Ranked #233 of 695 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed 5 May 2012

A Dirty place that you never like in your life, worst veg and non veg food and there is no proper service, unclean water in swimming pools and a congested reception area. Also even if you pay the entry charges for every facility inside you need to pay extra money. Please avoid this place from your trip map.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank aparnabiju1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

What makes this a sad place:
* Filthy glasses for your welcome drink
* A DJ who plays to kill your love for music. If you don't die from the music you'll at least wish you were born deaf!
* Unclean water in the tiniest swimming pool around - The pool water is kept chill on purpose to discourage more people from using it
* They even stop the artificial waterfall as soon as they see someone enter the pool
* Buffet has no variety. Only 2 dishes in the entire buffet will seem worth it.
* Boring crowd - mostly family oldies
* Even the mot sober-looking worthless room will cost a bomb
* They serve BS in the name of snacks with high tea
* Dim-lit dressing-rooms. You'd rather change outside it!

What are the pluses:
* Come here with an interesting bunch of friends who'll make you forget that the place is sad. It's your only saving grace.
* Kool rain-dance
* Spacious ground to play cricket/outdoor games
* Affordable resort around town

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tweetgul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We went for a day-outing to the resort - a couple of families with small kids. We had an enjoyable time there. We went without any high expectations and ended up having a good time. The resort was not too crowded when we went there (~200 people only) - apparently, at peak time, they usually cater to ~600 people a day [those days are best avoided, I would think].

Food was ok - was ultra-spicy, else would have called it good.

Pools (they have 3 of those) are nothing to write home about - we didn't venture close to the pools since they were dirty. Very few folks used the pools - from what I noticed during my visit.

They have a variety of outdoor stuff - most of these are chargeable (like Rs. 200 for 4 small laps on a quad bike, Rs. 50 for a Tarzan moment - sliding down a rope [ziplining], etc.). Charges are definitely on the high side, but the rides are all very good.

After lunch, there is a DJ playing music, some karaoke possible, and then they open up a dance floor (with a large shower) - they call this rain dance or so. DJ played excellent music - that most folks can shake a leg to, even the kids enjoyed dancing their heart out. Watch out for the odd drunken reveller, though.

In terms of essentials - bathrooms are clean, place is well maintained.

The "cave" is just a small walkway from the main entrance to the dining area - the kids were entertaining thoughts of real caves with bats, stalactites/stalagmites, etc. on the way to the place, and were amused when they got into facility.

Other activities available - indoor games, cricket, voleyball, cycling, etc., are also in reasonably good shape (your mileage may vary - especially for cycling and availability of TT table, carrom board, etc.)

Drive to the place was not bad, in spite of a rough last 3-4 kms

Overall, a nice time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank srinathv07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had gone there for a day-long corporate off-site and didn’t want to do a night stay. The only disadvantage, I can think of is “the distance from Bangalore “. Though most part of the drive would be pleasant, yet the last few KMs might look like a rally track. The internet pics and descriptions would create an image of a resort mostly inside a cave, which is not the case. The entrance to the resort gives you a feel of the cave, but the moment you cross it, you would see large gardens, and no trace of any caves. Don’t get disheartened as the cave network is about 200 meters away and has entrances on multiple directions.
The cave houses rooms for guests, dining area, bar, swimming pool with waterfall (the one most advertised through online pics). The resort has gents and ladies restrooms all around and they are kept really clean. They have managed to keep them clean on a day where the resort had 200+ guests. That’s simply Superb!! .
Don’t expect the swimming pools to be as big as water polo pools. So on a crowded day it might be “Kindly adjust “condition. The resort may boast of 3 swimming pools at 3 different locations of the resort.
Food requires a special mention. Not sure if they have the same menu every day, but tandoor chicken kabab was just amazing. Dining area is big, but again on a crowded day you might need to wait in the buffet queue. Waiting should not be of much concern, if it’s for the quality which exceeds that of most resorts in and around Bangalore. Guests can also enjoy rain dance post lunch.
The resort has plenty of activities like horse riding, zorb ball rolling, quard biking, volleyball, cricket ground, archery, table tennis, carom, snooker etc. You need to shell out from your pocket for few of these activities.
Resort arranges for tea with pakoda in the evening. This would make the drive back to Bangalore a more pleasant one with good memories to cherish.
I would recommend this resort to groups and couples as the resort has something for both types. Not only they have arrangements for corporate to have off-sites there, but also for couples and families to enjoy safe and tension-free weekends. Make sure before going that the resort is not crowded. The only way this can be achieved is planning for the correct day. Calling up the reception to get this information won’t be of any help and can be misleading most of the times.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Cubozoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I went early this year with my family in summer. The resort is very humid inside, no proper air ventillation, no fans.. only 1 table fan which doesn't work properly, food OK not so great... overall not at all worth paying and a waste of time to be there.
I would never like to go there again for even free of cost...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Sushmeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Its a wonderful concept resort with a day trip or a live in hotel rooms all under an artificially built cave. Food id average but the activities like pottery, oindoor games like TT and outdoor activities like archery, horse riding, Volleyball, rock climbing are interesting. The Bar is well stocked and there is a live Karaoke singer followed by rain dance morning and evening. The swimming pool too looks loke a little pond with a water fall. Great place for big groups to go out to.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suites are huge and can infact accommodate 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChandraNagarkatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

For the first time we went there for an All Day Project outing. Its situated on Kanakpura Road near to AOL in the suburbs of Bangalore. We reached there as early as 9 am. To our surprise we found the place to be extremely good and different, for it was a cave resort. The Cave Resort was an architectural marvel. The food, drinks and the services were pretty good. They arrange fun activities for the teams visiting there. Arrangements are also there various games like cricket, badminton, volleyball,archery etc and indoorgames like dart and snooker. Though we didnot like the swimming pools but the surroundings and environment was very nice. The late afternoon Rain dance and competetions were entertaining. Overall its worth of time and money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank kharavela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Holiday Village
#178 of 695 in Bengaluru
165 reviews
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#127 of 695 in Bengaluru
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wonderla Resort
#66 of 695 in Bengaluru
233 reviews
Fantasy Golf Resort
#213 of 695 in Bengaluru
150 reviews
J.P. Nagar
The Woodrose Club
The Woodrose Club
#216 of 695 in Bengaluru
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guhantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guhantara

Address: Sy. No. 177 & 177/18 Nowkalpalya, Kaggalipura, Bengaluru 560068, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 695 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range: £63 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guhantara 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing