We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groovy hotel in residential neighborhood with wild pigs and dogs outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangalore
Ranked #65 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Groovy hotel in residential neighborhood with wild pigs and dogs outside”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a reasonably clean and servicable hotel in a neighborhood area of Bangalore. It is about 45 mins from the city center.

The hotel decor is kind of groovy (late 80s, early 90s Euro style). The breakfast dosas in the Cafe is good, dinner is so-so. I did not try the main restaurant there.

There are packs of wild dogs and pigs wandering around just outside the hotel which is kind of interesting to see.

If you have a day free, hire a good driver to take you to Mysore and the Maharajah's palace there, it is awesome.

Room Tip: Get a high-up room with a view of Bangalore city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildRoverFromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Hi there WildRover.

Thank you for your review & comments. Very much appreciated.
Hope to see you back soon.

Cheers,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    168
    39
    14
    14
See reviews for
78
36
30
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The locality was very good compared. However the toilet(room 522) gets wet whenever a shower is taken as the bathtub level is higher than the fitted apron and water get trapped all around the tub and spills over to the ground flooding the floor.
TV is sophisticated and complicated that even with assistance can never workout.Channels never connect to normal TV and satellite. Just a plain TV would have been much better.All the equipment are very costly but do not do a simple job.
Lighting is too dim(we like it BUT no lite to read. At least must have one bright lite to read something)
Very far from town and can not get a taxi unless ordered and it takes a long time to arrive. To order a hotel taxi is very expensive.
Charges very high for internet services.
Staff are very very friendly,helpful and excellent. Food at the Hotel is very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Traveller from Colombo.

Thank your for honest feedback. It's a valuable learning & opportunity to improve our service.

I have duly noted your comments on the shower, TV remote & lighting challenges. I have already set things in motion to have them rectified soonest.

With respect to internet charges, in all honesty; we are one of the lowest in Bangalore for a product of our caliber.

I thank you once again for your time & do hope that you be back so that we may try and meet your expectations.

Cheers,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coimbatore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the service at this hotel. Very nice location, quiet. Food was good and very helpful staff

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chetanbg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Hi chetanbg1.

Thanks for your review, it's very much appreciated.

I am very happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised .. to say that your experience was a memorable one.

We do hope to see you back soon.

Cheers,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our stay at Grand Mercure Bangalore was a good experience. The staff were excellent, the room very modern and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also one of the best I have seen very easy to move around and again the staff were excellent. The chef made a special farewell sweet with the names on it for my 2 grand-children they loved it. The drivers contracted to the hotel were good but needed just a little more English to answer some simple questions otherwise they drove well under erxtreme traffic conditions which is just India.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Hi there traveller from Singapore.

Thank you very much for your support and taking the time to write your review for your stay.

I am delighted that the Grand Mercure Bangalore Team was ale to meet your expectations and your stay was a memorable one.

It is great to know that enjoyed the food and especially were impressed with the helpfulness of the staff. We are also glad that the team also made an impression on your grandchildren too.

On behalf of the GMB Team, I wish your family and you well. We shall look forward to be of service to you sometime in the near future.

Thank you once again for your time & recommending us to family and friends.

Cheers,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Nice and friendly hotel, well located in a quite residential area. Rooms are spacious and modern. Well stocked mini bar/kitchinette.
Located in a peacefull garden.
2 excellent restaurants!
Only downside is the distance from the airport, when their is traffic it is quite far from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 710suzyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Hi there traveller from Landen.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to give your feedback & review.

You have absolutely made my day. I am delighted the Grand Mercure Bangalore Team made your stay a memorable one and lived up to your expectations.

I am delighted that you especially loved the room & the restaurants. Your compliment is very much appreciated.

The Team & I do hope to be of service to you in the near future. Our best wishes o you.

Cheers,
Hament Rai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Too Expensive for what you would normally expect. Not much of life too. Looks a bit lonely. The pool side restaurant is good place.
Overall - not a good value for what you pay. You can get much better choice in Bangalore

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjayd0shi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Traveller from Mumbai.

Thank your for your honest feedback.

I truly am sorry that the price did not meet your expectations. The property is stategically located for a serene & peaceful ambience.

I am glad that you liked the poolside and thank you for the compliment.

With best wishes,
Hament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The service: Excellent
The room: Awesome. View from the room was amazing
Location: Not (bit interior of Koramnagla) great but a very silent location.
Amenities: Fantastic
Liked best: Rooms neatness and cleanliness
Liked Least: The guy and girl could not tell us the way to the hotel for 30 minutes. We had called them more than 20 times. Cannot except this from Accor group
Food Quality: Top Notch

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DharmajitPattnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMB-Team, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangalore, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Hi Dhamajit.

Thank you very much for your time & review.

I am very delighted that Grand Mercure Bangalore was up to your expectations & that you had a memorable stay. Wonderful to know that you loved the amenities & the cleanliness of the room.

It is great knowing that you enjoyed the food too.

Thank you once again for your support. The Team & I shall look forward to having you back soon.

Cheers,
Hament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Koramangala
Casa de Bengaluru
Casa de Bengaluru
#163 of 662 in Bengaluru
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BluPetal - A Business Hotel
#173 of 662 in Bengaluru
117 reviews
Domlur
The Paul Bangalore
The Paul Bangalore
#21 of 662 in Bengaluru
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangalore

Property: Grand Mercure Bangalore
Address: 12th Main | Koramangala, Bengaluru 560034, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Koramangala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Bangalore is located in the upmarket Koramangala area and only 5km from multinational companies and IT parks at the business district. Besides being located close to the city center, the hotel is only 45km from the airport. Highlights of this all-suite hotel are built-in kitchenettes and private balconies. First class facilities ranging from Princess Floor, 24 hr in-room dining, WiFi, fitness centre, boutique, swimming pool, spa, travel desk, web corner, restaurants and bar make the hotel ideal for business, leisure as well as extended stays. Several software companies are located in Koramangala and also it is home to many educational & medical institutions. The hotel is ideally located and easily accessible from business locations, notably Embassy Golf Links Domlur, Hosur Road, Electronics City, Sarjapur Outer Ring Road, Bannerghatta, Old Airport Road and MG Road at the center of Bangalore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing