We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in central Bangalore”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purple Lotus
Ranked #36 of 553 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in central Bangalore”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the Purple Lotus for two nights in January, our first stop on a journey round south India. This is a fabulous hotel in a quiet location, but central, close to restaurants, shopping etc. It has a beautiful restaurant by the lotus pond with a huge waterfall, the breakfast was good and the dinner we had downstairs (upstairs wasn't in operation) was great! We had a huge, quiet bedroom, bedside tables with lamps on both sides (why don't all hotels have this?). Windows that open, a clothes line in the shower, and all very clean and modern. There is a yoga room for use if you want it too. And it has wifi in the rooms and very helpful staff. Was a great introduction to India, not all were like this!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from Perth! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    71
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
58
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Purple Lotus Bangalore, is so neatly tucked away in a small lane off Lavelle Street that it's easy to miss! It's real value-for-money during off-season when the location and ambience feels so special at that price. The rooms are large, the decor beautifully minimalistic & contemporary and the hotel ambience serene & calming. During peak-season, it is quite expensive & not so unusual in that price category. The breakfast is quite basic and could have been better. It also has a rooftop restaurant that was unfortunately closed (perhaps because it was off-season). A definite yes, for its value during off-season.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshimeera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Joshimeera,

I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful hotel, we were treated with the utmost consideration and courtesy. The staff at Purple Lotus was incredibly kind and attentive to our needs. They really went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable; it was just what we needed after my husband fell ill on the way to Bangalore - he was able to rest and recuperate at the Purple Lotus, and we were able to enjoy the rest of our trip! The room service was exceptional as was the breakfast downstairs. Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Purple Lotus and we would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkumar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review and for visiting us all the way from California! As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We absolutely loved staying at this hotel. IT is in a very central position in Bangalore with malls and shops just minutes away. It is exceptionally clean and modern. You turn down a quiet cul de sac and it is like entering another world - the whole property is serene, calm and quiet and it is exceptional value for money. All the staff were very helpful and we had no issues at all here. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Nikki,

I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review and for visiting us all the way from New Zealand! As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Modern and large rooms in this small hotel that is well-located in the action of Bangalore. We found the kitchenette to be a huge asset when travelling with a youngster. Buffet-style breakfasts with eggs IF you ask for them. Shower had hot water at all times of day and night. The beds were nice and soft.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kaiya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Kaiya,

I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review and for visiting us all the way from South Dakota, USA! As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We found the small boutique hotel Purple Lotus by accident; its a very nice place in the centre of the town but far away from any traffic and the only thing you here during the night are the frogs in the lotus pond.
Purple Lotus offers a very friendly atmosphere combined with a charming modern architecture and very helpful staff. We stayed there twice and would certainly come again.
Gisela and Stephan (Vienna)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Gisela & Stephan,

I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review and for visiting us all the way from Vienna! As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel is beautifully designed, has discreet and very helpful staff, and offers its guests a relaxing environment in a great location in Bangalore. We will definitely stay there again when we come back to Bangalore.

Room Tip: The kitchennette is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Alice,

I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review and for visiting from Agra! As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#144 of 652 in Bengaluru
177 reviews
Ulsoor
juSTa Off MG Road, Bangalore
juSTa Off MG Road, Bangalore
#49 of 652 in Bengaluru
325 reviews
Koramangala
Grand Mercure Bangalore
Grand Mercure Bangalore
#62 of 652 in Bengaluru
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Cottage
#65 of 652 in Bengaluru
444 reviews
The Paul Bangalore
#22 of 652 in Bengaluru
641 reviews
Richmond Town
juSTa MG Road, Bangalore
juSTa MG Road, Bangalore
#56 of 652 in Bengaluru
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Property: Purple Lotus
Address: #46, 6th Cross, Lavelle Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing