We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Land”
Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purple Lotus
Ranked #35 of 588 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We arrived in the wee hours of the morning, after all day flying from the US. I had selected this hotel so that we could recuperate before going on our journey within India. And I was not disappointed. The room was spacious and quiet. While the food was limited, it was very well prepared and tasty. And the yoga studio adjacent to the main dining area was perfect for early morning practice. The staff was very helpful in directing us to places we needed to go.
The roof top terrace is a bonus and gives one a good view of the housing surrounding the hotel.
And it is close to the cricket stadium!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAryJoyogateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you selected the Purple Lotus for your stay all the way from Colorado! I hope the rest of your journey through India was enjoyable. As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Purple Lotus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights bed and breakfast in a superior room. Room was very large as was the bathroom. Nice clean hotel, just off main road but an easy walk to shops and large park. No lounge or bar but mini bar in fridge in room. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

In March 2013 we spent our first 4 nights at Purple Lotus and what a lovely introduction to India . We arranged a driver from Purple Lotus to meet us at Bangalore airport and he was one of the best drivers we experienced during our travels of south India. Purple Lotus is in a very quiet location yet central to shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with ample variety in a lovely relaxed setting near a pond and water feature. Nothing was ever a problem and the service was always excellent from all staff. The accommodation and facilities are very clean and well equipped. We had a room with kitchenette. Anything we did require was promptly delivered to our room. We returned to Purple Lotus for our last 2 days in India and didn't want to leave. The send off by the staff was very genuine and special. Had the same driver take us to the airport that picked us up. Thank you to Melville and all the staff at Purple Lotus for making our stay so special and pleasant. Hope to see you again in the future. We highly recommend a stay at Purple Lotus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pilgrimage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from Australia! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Purple Lotus is a sweet little oasis located in the heart of the city. It is a small boutique hotel impeccably designed to have plenty of indoor/outdoor green spaces, clean and functional but the real treat is dealing with the lovely staff all of whom were gracious and kind throughout our stay.

Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from New York! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We just spent 11 nights at this little boutique hotel tucked away into a posh neighborhood of Bangalore. Amazingly you can't hear one peep from all the noise from the busy Bangalore traffic outside. The 11 nights we spent there was like being a guest in an exquisite mansion. The staff there goes out of its way to treat you like a very special member of the family. The rooms were quite functional and spacious with an excellent air conditioning and heating system and 32 in" flatscreen TV with over 50 channels. We were there to conduct business interviews during the late morning to early evening all of which were conducted in the downstairs lucious dining room which afforded much privacy or the upstairs roof garden which affords spectacular views of the city. We have stayed at some of the more well known hotel chains around the world for triple the rate we paid here but they could not hold a candle to the ambiance we experienced here. Would like to give special mention to some of the staff who made our stay the most productive possible: Front desk: Melvill, Roselind and Mr.Arumugam and Mr. Sukuman who was there to serve our every need.

Room Tip: Some rooms have enclosed patios which are very neat.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Josh,

On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from San Diego! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the Purple Lotus for two nights in January, our first stop on a journey round south India. This is a fabulous hotel in a quiet location, but central, close to restaurants, shopping etc. It has a beautiful restaurant by the lotus pond with a huge waterfall, the breakfast was good and the dinner we had downstairs (upstairs wasn't in operation) was great! We had a huge, quiet bedroom, bedside tables with lamps on both sides (why don't all hotels have this?). Windows that open, a clothes line in the shower, and all very clean and modern. There is a yoga room for use if you want it too. And it has wifi in the rooms and very helpful staff. Was a great introduction to India, not all were like this!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. We are glad you visited us all the way from Perth! As a small boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Purple Lotus Bangalore, is so neatly tucked away in a small lane off Lavelle Street that it's easy to miss! It's real value-for-money during off-season when the location and ambience feels so special at that price. The rooms are large, the decor beautifully minimalistic & contemporary and the hotel ambience serene & calming. During peak-season, it is quite expensive & not so unusual in that price category. The breakfast is quite basic and could have been better. It also has a rooftop restaurant that was unfortunately closed (perhaps because it was off-season). A definite yes, for its value during off-season.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshimeera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krupashivarthy, Owner at Purple Lotus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Joshimeera,

I would like to thank you for the kind words and for taking time to submit you review. As a small family owned boutique hotel, we rely solely on word of mouth and reviews so it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Krupa
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
HM Suites & Studios
#144 of 668 in Bengaluru
88 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#9 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,089 reviews
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#135 of 668 in Bengaluru
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
Komfort Terraces Business Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Address: #46 6th Cross, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 588 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range: £52 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing