We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but on the bad track”
Review of Purple Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purple Lotus
Ranked #32 of 568 Bengaluru B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good hotel but on the bad track”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is my third stay in Purple Lotus Hotel and I feel that this hotel is not the right track: room should need to be refreshed (as for instance temperature of shower which is instable), many little things starting to fall apart...
Anyway, this is still a very good choice for a stay if you like a very central location, and a modern style in a large room.
Good value for the price

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertBranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    72
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
59
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Arrived at Bangalore late at night and took a cab straight to the purple lotus. The location is in great condition and the staff was very helpful. In my next stay I hope to enjoy for a longer stay! I would recommend to a friend coming to Bangalore.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dep181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It was a mixed experience with this boutique suits in Bangalore. It was my first stay in bangalore and kind of overrated. Here i mentioned the list of Pro's and Con's.

Pro's:

> Located in Extremely posh and quite area in middle of city.
> Crafted with White color interiors and exteriors for pleasant look.
> Water fountain restaurant with ample lighting was just awesome.
> Organic Foods
> Rooftop Restaurant(highly scenic spot)
> Responsible staffs.

Con's:

> Horrible Breakfast(Just Idly and Sambar).
> In house catering was just average.
> No Bars.
> Overpriced.
> Hard to get into public Transport.
> Poor interior designs.
> Beds and linens were not up to the standard.
> Bathroom is not clean at all, it smells horrible. (Even-though i complaint the management they didn't clean it properly).
> Poor Hot water supply.
> Poor Wifi.

For the price they charged, you can get some extremely good hotels in Bangalore, From my experience its just an average hotel with to much price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Praveen_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for a night. Nothing special about this hotel. Just a decent one thats it. Everything else is plain average. The breakfast was horrible. There is no spread at all. There are better hotels which offer for the same price with a better service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raghul27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Don't get me wrong. It's a good hotel but is seriously over-priced for what it offers.
I had never been to a hotel in India wherein I have to shell out approx. 4500 (Incl. of taxes) per night and I end of getting served only one COOKED dish (Idli and Sambhar) as breakfast.

No water bottle, No bathroom sleepers, no printed eat-in receipts, hardly any customer service - for everything they have just one standard answer. "We are a boutique hotel, sir".

I checked-in to the hotel only after reading reviews here and I completely understand why the positive reviews. It's biggest USP is it's location. Located right in the heart of Bangalore but in a quiet neighborhood, it's a great place to unwind and be at peace. And that is where the positives end.

For business travellers, the hotel has nothing on offer. I stayed for 4 nights; had the privilege of getting a newspaper only on Day 1. No one bothered to change my linen. They said I didn't put up the signage and hence they didn't change. I understand that but no one bothered to ask me when I was back. I called up; they said they would change the bathroom towels but no one turned up. I had to make multiple calls to have the water jug filled in.

Overall. STAY AWAY. MG Road has significantly better options.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilu_Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I grew up in Bangalore and have no family connections there any more. But I love this little hotel - a really modern hotel that is on par with some of the best boutique hotels I've stayed at - I would stay here at 3x the price. For my money
- the location is fantastic - walking distance to the center of town, lots of good places to eat and shop, and an easy central place to meet friends from various parts of Bangalore
- clean rooms - the modern decor and clean concrete floors means that the rooms don't smell musty like many fancier places
- small staff that you get to know pretty quickly
I personally don't like large resort-type hotels - I find them to be luxurious in an over-the-top and ostentatious way that I don't like. If you are like me you will really enjoy this place. If not, YMMV

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for two weeks and had mixed experience. Rooms are spacious, neat and clean. Location of the stay makes it a special place. A very good locality And just 5 mins walk distance from brigade road. Staff is also very nice. Had issue with mattresses, they were pretty old and you can feel the springs too while sitting over it. In the last a small advice, have some changes in buffet though small. Same menu all days is boring. :D. Anyways a good experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RahulGupta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
HM Suites & Studios
#140 of 664 in Bengaluru
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#144 of 664 in Bengaluru
179 reviews
Richmond Town
The Chancery
The Chancery
#173 of 664 in Bengaluru
297 reviews
Richmond Town
Treebo Mayflower Hayz Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Lotus

Property: Purple Lotus
Address: #46 6th Cross, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purple Lotus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Lotus is a family owned and run boutique hotel in the heart of Bangalore. We offer luxury at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Purple Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Lotus Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing