We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karavalli is the best”
Review of Karavalli

Karavalli
Ranked #8 of 10,934 Restaurants in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Richmond Town
Nashik, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Karavalli is the best”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Recently i was in bangaluru, and was all confused were to go for food. The hotel were i was staying was not quit good with the food.

Then some one in the hotel asked me to visit "Karavalli". It was worth visiting.
The food was great. I recommend every one to visit it once. You will love it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKhan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at Karavalli, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Mr. Khan,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for considering the Karavalli Restaurant for dining. It is very thoughtful of you to review us on Trip Advisor and to post a short and sweet feedback on Karavalli.

I am glad to hear that you had an excellent dining experience at our iconic coastal cuisine restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’, wherein you found that our food was great. Thank you so much for your compliments.

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that Karavalli Restaurant has won the awards again this year - Glam Media worldwide announces that Karavalli has been selected as one of the World Top 100 restaurants in their present edition of the Foodie Top 100 Restaurants Worldwide Guide Book and voted as one of the 50 Best Restaurants in Asia by Acqua Panna S. PelleGrino. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level.

Once again we thank you for such a high recommendation of our Karavalli restaurant to the TripAdvisor community and hope to remain your favourite restaurant in Bangalore for the years to come.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    201
    43
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Sensational seafood”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I don't much like eating in hotel restaurants at home but in India they can be superb in terms of both food quality, service and ambiance. This was one of those ! Almost on a par with Delhi's best 5 star hotel restaurants.

The excuse for coming here was to celebrate my first night in India for four years and I was not disappointed. While it ended up being by some way the most expensive meal on my India trip the quality of the crab starter and the fish curry were superb as were the various extras. Service attentive without being excessive, nice choice of indoor or outdoor seating on a hot May evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at Karavalli, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for considering the Karavalli Restaurant for dining and for posting a superb review of our Restaurant on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to hear that you had a great dining experience at our iconic coastal cuisine restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’, wherein you found that our quality of seafood, service and ambience was superb. Thank you so much for your compliments.

Your appreciation has been shared with the entire team at the Karavalli Restaurant. It is marvelous appreciation such as yours which indeed are very inspiring and the entire team at the restaurant is delighted to see such encouragement, as this is the true reward for all the efforts that go in, to ensure that our guests have a memorable dining experience.

Once again we thank you for such a high recommendation of our Karavalli restaurant to the TripAdvisor community and hope to remain your favourite restaurant in Bangalore for the years to come.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Kerala fare”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Superb sea food kerala style.. The best Ive ever had. The best appams neer dosas with fish and chicken curry and the chicken ghee roast are just awesome

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnoopT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at Karavalli, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Anoop,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for considering the Karavalli Restaurant for dining and for posting a marvelous review of our Restaurant on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to hear that you had an amazing dining experience at our iconic coastal cuisine restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’, wherein you found our food was great. Delighted to see that you enjoyed the sea food of Kerala style, the best you have ever had and loved the best appams neer dosas with fish and chicken curry. Thank you so much for your compliments.

Your compliments have been conveyed to all our Chefs as well to the entire Food & Beverage Team at the Karavalli Restaurant. It is marvelous appreciation such as yours which indeed are very inspiring and the entire team at the restaurant is delighted to see such encouragement, as this is the true reward for all the efforts that go in, to ensure that our guests have a memorable dining experience.

Once again we thank you for such a high recommendation of our Karavalli restaurant to the TripAdvisor community and hope to remain your favourite restaurant in Bangalore for the years to come.


Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email: albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Karavalli is an excellent restaurant with fantastic food and service. It is not your typical Indian fare, but a more southern Indian flavour. The servers are very knowledgable and the chef is there to answer any questions and help suggest a change or addition to your request. The desserts are to die for, do not miss them. The atmosphere of the restaurant is not pushy and you are made to feel like family. This is not the last time we eat there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at Karavalli, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Lee Ann B,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

At the outset, I would wish to thank you for staying at the Gateway hotel during your visit to Bangalore and considering the Karavalli Restaurant for Dining.

I am glad to hear that you had an excellent dining experience at our iconic coastal cuisine restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’ and I am thankful to see that you were delighted about the excellent food, service and ambience. Thank you so much for your feedback.

We immensely value your patronage and we are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thanking you,

Warm regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email:albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasant garden ambience. Great service. Nice flavors”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I always put off going to this place and finally did go there recently. The place was full so i suggest making a reservation there before going.

The outdoor ambiance takes you away from the hustle and bustle of the roads nearby - excellent. The staff is well-trained - not obsequious and very accommodating. But the attention/service levels fell down once the place got full.

The food was quite good to a large extent. The pepper rasam was to my liking but got mixed reviews in the group. The black chicken starter was just so perfect. Flavored but subtle, this was exactly the food that we came here for. The pomphret in banana leaves was the disappointment. The flavor was low, the fish was a little rubbery (i dont think we got the pomphret either!!). The chicken stew and appams were more than excellent and matched our expectations while the mutton curry again was to my liking but ended up with mixed reviews.

Would i visit this place again? Definitely

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ixigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at Karavalli, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for considering the Karavalli Restaurant for dining and for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you found our food, service and ambience was great except your feedback on the quality of seafood. I have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef and team and would like to assure you that your comment will be certainly addressed. Our apologies, as we fell short of your expectations on this visit. Please rest assured that you will find a marked difference during your future visits.

Please let me know of your next visit to Karavalli and we will ensure that you would have a true Karavalli experience.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager
Email:albert.rebello@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karavalli also viewed

Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 

Been to Karavalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing