We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Bangalore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tom's Hotel Bangalore
Ranked #161 of 668 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good option in Bangalore”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Location is ok, not to far away from MG road. You can also reach the botanical garden and the park with a short rikshaw ride. Room was nothing special but very spacious and has been clean.

The staff has been very helpful and friendly. We have been upgraded into an AC room at no extra cost, because all non A/C rooms were booked and the helped us a lot in booking our next guesthouse.

Restaurant and Food were good. Breakfast included, but nothing special.

They recently raised the prices, so we considered it rather expensive, but Bangalore in general is ridiculously expensive in general so it is probably in line with the price level.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    43
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
34
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The hotel is nice and cheap, don't wait for the confort but it's clean you have Internet and international television. The breakfast is Indian but good. The service is great they help you best they can.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wernili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed two nights at Toms. It was a nice change after the very basic guesthouses in Hampi! Our room was very nice; bright colors, lots of ligth, with modern furniture and it was clean. We had a non AC room for about 1800r, a bit expensive maybe but it was worth every rupiee!

As the weather was pretty bad and the room so comfortable we didnt go out much, just enjoyed the many movie channels and the free wifi (really fast) to chat with the people at home and plan the rest of our trip. Breakfast is free (and comes with a free newspaper!) - mostly south indian food but also toast and cornflakes. Most guests were Indian, on business it looked like.

We had lunch in the restaurant once but we didnt like it too much (surprisingly its mostly meat on the menu; beef, chicken and even pork and being vegetarian it was difficult to find something we liked). The service is really good though!

The location is pretty good; a 15 min walk to the MG road. Its next to a big road and a gas station and the street is pretty noicy but our room was quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

We would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back where it is more quiet and further from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had an AC room, no balcony. The room was clean, well maintained and spacious but a bit dark as the windows faced up against another building. The bathroom was good but we had a problem with the hot water. No hot water one night but the next night it was fine. Wi-fi was complimentary and it worked great. The room was a bit on the high-side for a budget room at 2200 rupee, breakfast included. The breakfast was an Indian-style buffet breakfast at the attached restaurant. The real draw at Tom's hotel was the super helpful staff. The staff went above and beyond to be welcoming, helpful and friendly. This included coming to our defense when a dishonest "metered" taxi driver tried to scam us. The staff take this hotel to the next level.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Tom's Hotel is very well located near Brigade Road. The service was good, the staff very friendly. Most of the rooms are very spacious and have attached balconies. Only the non-ac rooms are bad, since it is filled with fumes from the kitchen. The room service is very good - fast, uncomplicated, and friendly. The rooms are relatively clean. The good thing is, that one really starts feeling at home in the rooms.

Room Tip: Go for an ac room with balcony. Non-ac rooms are not good at all - it's very dark and smells of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iulja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

rooms and hotel is clean / staff friendly and helpful / good roomservice / moderate breakfast / location is just great - you can easily walk to MG road and surrounding area. for the other sights you can always get an auto/riksha just in front of Tom's (during daytime always insist on going by meter!) and there is all saints bakery just 1 block away, its a famous bakery with delicious pastries.

still I find that for solo travelers its a bit expensive, since you have to pay the whole double room, however if you wanna treat yourself its a safe choice!

one last advice: ask for a quiet room - cause the rooms in the first floor heading towards Hosur rd are just really noisy!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sobiewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strahilovo
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

It may be cheap but it is very cheerful, very clean and has some of the most helpful staff you will find anywhere. The restaurant is fine and the wifi is free. The location is great and if you need anything organised its done without hassle or trouble. We just thought the place great and whenever we go back to Bangalore this will be yhe place we will stay. It will be like going back to see old friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deukerens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
Vellara Hotel
Vellara Hotel
#69 of 668 in Bengaluru
150 reviews
Richmond Town
Stylotel by Jagadish
Stylotel by Jagadish
#112 of 668 in Bengaluru
122 reviews
Casa Cottage
#75 of 668 in Bengaluru
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#10 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,066 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#55 of 668 in Bengaluru
576 reviews
The Signature Inn
#131 of 668 in Bengaluru
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Hotel Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Hotel Bangalore

Property: Tom's Hotel Bangalore
Address: 1 / 5 Hosur Road | Next to All Saints Church, Bengaluru 560025, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 668 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tom's Hotel Bangalore 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: Hotel Toms is one of the best value hotels in Bangalore. It offers 20 rooms in its 2 storied building. The rooms are spacious and well furnished and come with 24 hours room service. They are equipped with modern amenities. An in-house restaurant serves an eclectic blend of traditional Mangalorean and Continental cuisines. Voracious readers can enjoy reading good collection of books in the reading library. There are a plethora of other guest services, some of which are laundry and dry cleaning service, luggage storage, free and ample parking space, and a front desk to assist the guests with their queries all round-the-clock. The hotel is located in the Central Business District of Bangalore and is in close proximity to the local tourist attractions and shopping hubs as well. It is strategically located close to MG Road. WHY YOU SHOULD STAY HERE: Complimentary breakfast with both Indian and continental cuisines and free Wi-Fi service within the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Tom's Hotel Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing