We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and outstanding value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Spa Bangalore
Ranked #26 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stylish and outstanding value”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

As a special treat to ourselves my wife and I stayed for three nights between Xmas and New Year at the Moevenpick hotel in Bangalore. The hotel is conveniently located between the airport and the city, so it is quicker to reach there than most other hotels in Bangalore. Being the newest 5-star hotel in the city the Moevenpick offers highly competitive rates and hotel facilities that are in tip top condition. Architecturally the building is impressive, the standard 'superior' rooms are spacious and very well equipped, and the newly recruited staff are all extremely well trained and eager to please. The 'My Place' restaurant is particularly impressive. Since the Moevenpick is the only European-owned hotel in Bangalore (and one of the few in India) the food on offer has a uniquely and completely authentically European flavour. Of course there are all the usual Indian dishes available as well, but where else could you find Bircher Muesli for breakfast? The buffet meals are notably good value (starting at just Rs 750 for the buffet lunch) and every buffet meal includes a good few European treats - ranging from Saltimbocca to fresh pasta and exotic European cheeses and desserts. Finally, the rooftop gym has the very latest equipment - which we made good use of. My only cavil is that it would have been nice if the restaurant offered more affordable Indian wines by the glass, as the wines from European that are available will cost as much as your meal for just 180 ml. As usual the hotel also charges a stiff price for mineral water. This is a common but distasteful practice in India, where bottled water is a necessity not a luxury, but can cost as much as $3 per litre. At meal times we really think it should be given away free or at at least a cheaper brand should be made available.
We also found the otherwise beautiful hotel Spa to be over-priced: their fees for a massage were similar if not more than you would pay in Europe (once all the taxes are added). For 1.5 hours in the spa you can find yourself paying almost as much as the cost of your room.However the staff have only experience and no formal training in different massage techniques (a common enough problem in India). For this reason they should not be charging premium rates.

Room Tip: There is little difference between the 'superior' and 'deluxe' rooms, apart from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrisEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    368
    70
    25
    18
See reviews for
178
131
75
992
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We decided to visit this new hotel in Bangalore on the 24Dec for the Christmas eve and eleven of us were there.although the interiors are great but the service and the restaurant is average and need improvement both in service and quality.
In fact the value for money factor is missing...
being a new property I am sure the management is working on improving these small niggling issues.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GopalChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The Indian food at this hotel is fabulous. Other offerings also very good though I would suggest more Asian fare in line with the type of guests who frequent the city.
Rooms are very elegantly furnished and comfortable. Could not fault the quality of the decor and quality of materials used.
Some niggling problems trying to access the internet on my android phone though.
Service quality varies from front desk to concierge depending on the staff manning the post. Could be more friendly and approachable.
Overall one of the best hotels Bangalore has to offer!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The beginnings are good. very friendly staff. The rooms are very good. Excellent Italian restaurant inside . The Gym on the top floor is again excellent. The common restaurant at the basement is average though, and the buffet menu is too repetitive. The classic Movenpick icecream is really good.
Overall the experiences are satisfying for business as well as family stays. The staff is responsive to specific complaints and requests too.

Room Tip: higher floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amoorthy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meulan, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Nothing is more appreciated than a quite place to stay for the evening and the night. Service is wonderful (I've even been welcomed by a french speaking guy at the front desk. Actually a french swiss speaking indian guy who spend some years in Switzerland for his studies!!). Food at the restaurant is less spicy than is local restaurant, especially made for our european taste.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I really dint feel that I have come to a 5 star hotel. When I say this I did not mean the way how the hotel was looking. The hotel is fantastic looking one and have got a very good atmoshphere. Ofcourse yes the grandure is My previous statement was regarding the restaurant My Place. I happned to dine with my husband there and I must say I really did not feel like a 5 star hotel. I just felt this place as my home and the staffs working there are closely related to me. I mean that was how they treated us. This was pretty new to me. I have been dining at many restaurants and some times in a star catergorised hotels as well. I have never felt this closeness to any place or to any people. May be the staffs here are empowered to do things there own or they are just a happy bunch of people who want to see others going happy. I wish this new hotel all the success and I wil be back and also will get my friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seema T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel gets it all just about right! The service is excellent. The room was very good (although, like others, I had a shower that leaked over the whole bathroom floor). The breakast buffet was outstanding and the one evening meal I had was very good. I didn't use other facilities and cannot comment. But the friendliness and efficiency of the staff is what made the greatest impression. I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#31 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,083 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#18 of 662 in Bengaluru
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,878 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Le Meridien Bangalore
Le Meridien Bangalore
#30 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Spa Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Spa Bangalore

Property: Movenpick Hotel & Spa Bangalore
Address: 115, Gokula Extension, HMT Road (near BEL Circle), Bengaluru 560054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel & Spa Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently accessible in just 30 minutes from the airport,15 mins drive from Peenya Industrial area,30 mins drive from CBD & 10 mins drive from Embassy Manyata Tech Park where major MNC-Target,Cerner,IBM,Philips,TP Vision,ANZ,Cognizant,NXP,Redknee,AXA,Autoliv-the Movenpick Hotel & Spa Bangalore embodies Indian hospitality delivered with Swiss passion.This brand new 182 rooms five star luxury hotel of Bangalore city also offers a variety of dining experiences to choose from. The 7 meeting rooms along with an outdoor venue can host meetings and events for up to 1000 people. The gym and swimming pool along with the Spa offers that ideal relaxation after a long day at work.The award winning SOHUM SPA boast some the finest treatments inspired by traditional Indian, Oriental and European healing techniques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Spa Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing